No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Albert Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
George Albert Hotel, Wardon Hill Evershot, Dorchester, DT2 9PW

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Located on the A37 amidst the rolling Dorset countryside between Yeovil and Dorchester, including complimentary internet and widely recognised restaurant. This private family owned hotel offers all the modern facilities you would expect from a new hotel, whilst still retaining a distinctive friendly atmosphere. To compliment the hotel there is a world class shooting
ground which is the countries largest with over 450 fully automatic traps, catering for all abilities with a qualified instructor on hand to offer advice. The national motor sport licensed kart circuit has an 815 metre track offering visitors the opportunity to experience the speed, excitement and drama of the sport; both activities are ideally positioned adjacent to the hotel. In addition, the Weymouth & Portland sailing venue is only 20 miles away.

All rooms are en-suite, air conditioned and finished to a high standard, with soft pillows and comfy beds you are assured of a great nights sleep. The modern décor and elegant furnishings have been chosen to create bright airy rooms, providing a high level of comfort with all the facilities you would expect from a hotel of this calibre.

For a taste of fine dining there is the Kings AA Rosette awarded Restaurant, where attentive waiters and head chef promise you a great meal from a modern British menu using fresh locally sourced ingredients wherever possible, and are passionate about providing seasonality and variety to make your dining experience one to remember. The lounge is a great place to sit in comfort, read a paper, plan your day or just enjoy the atmosphere. With its own licensed bar you can enjoy hot and cold drinks as well as alcoholic beverages and snacks which are served throughout the day.

This is the ideal venue to host an event, whether it is your wedding day, conference, business meeting or training day. Offering everything you need whatever the occasion, from civil wedding ceremonies for up to 350 guests, wedding breakfast and evening reception, to conference packages which combines modern needs with great food. The hotel guarantees an efficient service from friendly staff that are on hand to offer advice and practical assistance at all stages of you booking.

Within a short drive you can visit picturesque country villages and towns both large and small; Dorset's celebrated Jurassic Coast and wonderful sandy beaches. Dorchester has much to offer from world famous historic sites and museums to attractive gardens, interesting shops and welcoming pubs - a great place to spend the day. The traditional seaside resort of Weymouth has something for the old and young, the fine Georgian seafront and fantastic golden sandy beach are firm favourites and the old harbour is a great place to watch the world go by. The bustling towns of Bournemouth and Poole are a little further afield, with their lovely sandy blue flag beaches and many other family attractions.

Please note: it is advisable to reserve tables for dinner especially at weekends, if required, in advance.

Please note Due to its location the hotel is a popular location for weddings & parties.
Picture of George Albert Hotel, Dorchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

trip from lincoln to see jonah for his tenth birthday
wow! how wonderful to stay at the George Albert. The hospitality was spot on, so helpful but not intrusive. We were given the HONEYMOON SUTE for two nights, After a long journey we appreciated the comfort oh so much. My favourite white egyptian cotton sheets, air con,super clean bathroom, beautifully presentedsuper tuna salad and fab brekkie, professional staff. Just the pesky toaster that my partner set off the alarm system with! I know they are going to sort this. Thank you so very much. Yours truly Carol McKNIGHT,

Reviewed by
carol mcknight

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

anniversary getaway
We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we walked in to the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was extremely clean, modern and comforfable. Everything that we wanted for our time there. A good location too, fairly close to some lovely places. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to everybody!!

Reviewed by
p milton

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not waht is states on the trin
the hotel is not in Dorchester , it is in fact half way back to Yeovil which is very frustrating when you have just driven from Yeovil, when I phoned and asked for directions I was told that the hotel was just outside Dorchester a little way up the hill , when I arrived at 9.02 pm due to my trip to Dorchester and back I was told that the restaurant closed at 9pm so I could not have any food , when I asked about room service I was told that after 9pm it consisted of sandwiches only or I would have to go back into Dorchester


ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to the George Albert Hotel. I am , however a little confused by your comment about our location. The first line about the hotel on the Laterooms website says 'Located on the A37 amidst the rolling Dorset countryside between Yeovil and Dorchester,'So not located in Dorchester. It then goes on to explain about us being located on the Clay Pigeon shooting site & local villages & Dorchester being nearby. We are located 9 miles from Dorchester & 9 miles from Yeovil & for the many that live in rural communities 9 miles is just outside which I appreciate others may not feel that 9 miles is 'just' it is a term which can be misunderstood. The misunderstanding about our location & the fact that you seem to have driven past the clay pigeon site & hotel & then had to retrace your steps was the cause of the meal service issue. Our AA rosette rated restaurant does have last orders at 9pm as do many other restaurants. I was pleased to read that you were offered sandwiches which is our 'out of hours/room service menu'.

Reviewed by
P Bush

From Leatherhead, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My recent stay at The George Albert Hotel
This hotel rightly claims that you will have more than a good night's sleep. The bed was huge, and very comfy. We both slept very well, even on the first night. We checked in, and were allocated a room at the end of a long coridoor. All the rooms are on the first floor, and we had booked a disabled room. After returning to the car for our luggage, one of the managers offered us a move to a larger, and more convenient room opposite the lift. (We both have mobility issues).
Our only problem was accessing the bath, and we have made the hotel aware of that, already.

Reviewed by
S Tuckey

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class Hotel.
It was a lovely Hotel, we would say there again. First class.

Reviewed by
Denise harvey

From Lichfield, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay while we visited Dorchester
A very modern hotel with high standards of quality, service and cleanliness. Dinner in the main restaurant was excellent. The room was quiet and comfortable.
Overall we were pleased with our stay but the room price was quite high considering the remote location.

Reviewed by
Alan M

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Love this hotel
This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. We love it that much we spent our honeymoon night here. The rooms are spotless & with a understated elegance. It is in the middle of nowhere so you do need a car but it is lovely & well worth a stay. Comfy beds & lovely Staff.
Breakfasts are good although we have not had an meal there as we like to go out on the Evenings.

Reviewed by
Susan G

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only stayed one night
Lovely modern hotel. Large well equipped double room and great bathroom. Food tasty and well presented. Only let down by location as it is not particularly close to any towns or villages but then we knew this at the time of booking.

Reviewed by
Graham H

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff excellent hotel
very good rooms .staff very polite
would use it again

Reviewed by
lynda tuite

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Away from it all in Dorset
Quiet hotel for rural break within short drive to sea. Combined with retail therapy at Clarks Shopping Village in Street. Excellent Sunday evening carvery. Good selection at breakfast. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. A good choice.

Reviewed by
Sue W

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next