No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Albert Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
George Albert Hotel, Wardon Hill Evershot, Dorchester, DT2 9PW

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Located on the A37 amidst the rolling Dorset countryside between Yeovil and Dorchester, including complimentary internet and widely recognised restaurant. This private family owned hotel offers all the modern facilities you would expect from a new hotel, whilst still retaining a distinctive friendly atmosphere. To compliment the hotel there is a world class shooting
ground which is the countries largest with over 450 fully automatic traps, catering for all abilities with a qualified instructor on hand to offer advice. The national motor sport licensed kart circuit has an 815 metre track offering visitors the opportunity to experience the speed, excitement and drama of the sport; both activities are ideally positioned adjacent to the hotel. In addition, the Weymouth & Portland sailing venue is only 20 miles away.

All rooms are en-suite, air conditioned and finished to a high standard, with soft pillows and comfy beds you are assured of a great nights sleep. The modern décor and elegant furnishings have been chosen to create bright airy rooms, providing a high level of comfort with all the facilities you would expect from a hotel of this calibre.

For a taste of fine dining there is the Kings AA Rosette awarded Restaurant, where attentive waiters and head chef promise you a great meal from a modern British menu using fresh locally sourced ingredients wherever possible, and are passionate about providing seasonality and variety to make your dining experience one to remember. The lounge is a great place to sit in comfort, read a paper, plan your day or just enjoy the atmosphere. With its own licensed bar you can enjoy hot and cold drinks as well as alcoholic beverages and snacks which are served throughout the day.

This is the ideal venue to host an event, whether it is your wedding day, conference, business meeting or training day. Offering everything you need whatever the occasion, from civil wedding ceremonies for up to 350 guests, wedding breakfast and evening reception, to conference packages which combines modern needs with great food. The hotel guarantees an efficient service from friendly staff that are on hand to offer advice and practical assistance at all stages of you booking.

Within a short drive you can visit picturesque country villages and towns both large and small; Dorset's celebrated Jurassic Coast and wonderful sandy beaches. Dorchester has much to offer from world famous historic sites and museums to attractive gardens, interesting shops and welcoming pubs - a great place to spend the day. The traditional seaside resort of Weymouth has something for the old and young, the fine Georgian seafront and fantastic golden sandy beach are firm favourites and the old harbour is a great place to watch the world go by. The bustling towns of Bournemouth and Poole are a little further afield, with their lovely sandy blue flag beaches and many other family attractions.

Please note: it is advisable to reserve tables for dinner especially at weekends, if required, in advance.

Please note Due to its location the hotel is a popular location for weddings & parties.
Picture of George Albert Hotel, Dorchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Hotel.
WE have stayed here several times now last time it was on our Honeymoon. This time for my Birthday. They even gave us a corner room as it was my birthday. The staff are lovely and really helpful. The Hotel is always immaculate.

Reviewed by
SUSAN GIBSON-CUMMINGS

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Visit
Staff very friendly ,helpfull

Reviewed by
Stephen Booth

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

B & B
We stayed with my elderly disabled mother for her 81st birthday weekend. The staff were friendly and efficient. The bar food was well presented and enjoyable. Apart from the orange, runny scrambled eggs I had at breakfast, the food was wonderful. I asked for the scrambled eggs to be cooked for longer and they were lovely in the end. We had the carvery on Sunday and the local beef and pork were very good. Especially the beef as it was cooked to perfection. Our rooms were very comfortable, I found the mattress a little on the firm side but slept well regardless. My mother was in room 11, on the corner of the building, which she enjoyed apart from the terrible vibrations and noise caused by the heavy rain and gusts on the second night. We will be happy to stay there again and will recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
B Tipper

From Waterlooville, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
I travel a reasonable amount on business and this hotel is perfect for my needs.
The hotel has ample rooms and parking. The wi-fi is excellent as is the breakfast. The service is impeccable and the beds are very comfortable, which is rarer than you might imagine.
Highly recommended if you are not fussed being effectively in the middle of nowhere.

Reviewed by
R Burke

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very freindly staff,excellant evening meal and room.
we stayed one night at this hotel on a special deal and although the hotel was quiet that night we were delighted with the service,room and evening meal.

Reviewed by
R SPENCE

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Autumn Break
Being set halfway between the rural towns of Dorchester and Yeovil, amenities offered by the George Albert Hotel, on the very wet weekend in early November that we chose to stay with them exceeded my expectation on all counts.
Being mid week, the hotel was very quiet, so priced appropriately well. The staff were welcoming and very helpful throughout our stay. Our room was spacious,modern, clean and comfortable. And the view, over open Dorset countryside, was as good on a wild wet day in November as it would have been on any other. Excellent.
One practical note: I would say a car is essential, unless you plan your activity around the adjacent shooting range and go cart track. (these are so well screened from the hotel you might not notice they exist, unless you look for them). And car park access is also very good.

Reviewed by
A Brooke

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay - great food
Fantastic food in the Restaurant. Highly recommended. *****

Reviewed by
Simon D

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good bolt hole.
Everything about the Hotel good. My only concern was the food pricing structure of the Kings Restaurant which I thought was a little high.

Reviewed by
J Kitson

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Too expensive.
We reserved a disabled room,but given a room on 1st floor served by a lift, what happens if there is a fire! You cannot use a lift how do disabled get down to the ground floor?. Also a standard bath with overhead shower,how do disabled people have a shower?,the hotel was extremely hot ,air con not ver efficient. We didn't have dinner,extremely expensive even the bar/lounge menu,breakfast was good

Reviewed by
Frank B

From Wigston, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

FABULOUS HOTEL
Really enjoyed our overnight stay here. Lovely warm welcome, nice clean modern room and bathroom, comfy bed and pillows and pristine white sheets and towels. Delicious breakfast. Pleasantly surprised! Thank you very much to all concerned.

Reviewed by
P SADLER

From Burntwood, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next