No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Albert Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
George Albert Hotel, Wardon Hill Evershot, Dorchester, DT2 9PW

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Located on the A37 amidst the rolling Dorset countryside between Yeovil and Dorchester, including complimentary internet and widely recognised restaurant. This private family owned hotel offers all the modern facilities you would expect from a new hotel, whilst still retaining a distinctive friendly atmosphere. To compliment the hotel there is a world class shooting
ground which is the countries largest with over 450 fully automatic traps, catering for all abilities with a qualified instructor on hand to offer advice. The national motor sport licensed kart circuit has an 815 metre track offering visitors the opportunity to experience the speed, excitement and drama of the sport; both activities are ideally positioned adjacent to the hotel. In addition, the Weymouth & Portland sailing venue is only 20 miles away.

All rooms are en-suite, air conditioned and finished to a high standard, with soft pillows and comfy beds you are assured of a great nights sleep. The modern décor and elegant furnishings have been chosen to create bright airy rooms, providing a high level of comfort with all the facilities you would expect from a hotel of this calibre.

For a taste of fine dining there is the Kings AA Rosette awarded Restaurant, where attentive waiters and head chef promise you a great meal from a modern British menu using fresh locally sourced ingredients wherever possible, and are passionate about providing seasonality and variety to make your dining experience one to remember. The lounge is a great place to sit in comfort, read a paper, plan your day or just enjoy the atmosphere. With its own licensed bar you can enjoy hot and cold drinks as well as alcoholic beverages and snacks which are served throughout the day.

This is the ideal venue to host an event, whether it is your wedding day, conference, business meeting or training day. Offering everything you need whatever the occasion, from civil wedding ceremonies for up to 350 guests, wedding breakfast and evening reception, to conference packages which combines modern needs with great food. The hotel guarantees an efficient service from friendly staff that are on hand to offer advice and practical assistance at all stages of you booking.

Within a short drive you can visit picturesque country villages and towns both large and small; Dorset's celebrated Jurassic Coast and wonderful sandy beaches. Dorchester has much to offer from world famous historic sites and museums to attractive gardens, interesting shops and welcoming pubs - a great place to spend the day. The traditional seaside resort of Weymouth has something for the old and young, the fine Georgian seafront and fantastic golden sandy beach are firm favourites and the old harbour is a great place to watch the world go by. The bustling towns of Bournemouth and Poole are a little further afield, with their lovely sandy blue flag beaches and many other family attractions.

Please note: it is advisable to reserve tables for dinner especially at weekends, if required, in advance.

Please note Due to its location the hotel is a popular location for weddings & parties.
Picture of George Albert Hotel, Dorchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 67 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delighted
Really lovely hotel with very friendly staff .
We were actually surprised at how nice the room was and breakfast was super especially being Scottish there was black pudding!!

Reviewed by
John K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of George Albert
Perfect for a one night stop over. I imagine that it could be in the middle of no where for any one on a leisure break

Reviewed by
Philip Bell

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel serving fantastic food in the restaurant.
We stayed for one night in August.
Great service from pleasant, well presented staff throughout. We stayed in a twin room. The room was very clean, the beds were firm and comfy and the shower was powerful. Only downside was not having a view.
We ate our evening meal in the hotel restaurant. It was delicious top quality food and very good value at £20 for two courses or £25 for three courses for such good food. Breakfast the next day was also good.
We will certainly stay again if the area.

Reviewed by
Jenny H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

awsome
Hotel was spotless staff friendly and chatty which is lovely stayed for two nights food was out of this world had an evening meal on our second nite omg its was fantastic best fine dining we have had the pleasure to eat could not believe we only paid £25 each for 3 wonderful courses will defo stay there again 10/10 thank you

Reviewed by
c baker

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i would recommend this place to everyone!
2nd time i have stayed her on business and i would recommend this place to everyone! The staff are very friendly, the rooms are absolutly lovely and such a great price!

Reviewed by
Samantha L

From Renfrew, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night with no water
We stayed one night at this lovely, luxurious hotel. The room was perfect and a very nice bathroom with everything that you would expect from a new hotel.
The menu was very, very limited and so we decided to eat away from the hotel, as most other guests also appeared to be doing.
The bar staff were friendly and helpful. The downside was that there was no running water in the room in the evening! This meant no bath or shower and we were unable to flush toilets anywhere in the hotel! The receptionist told us that the water would come on again in the early hours of the morning and that it was a common problem on a Sunday evening - be warned! She said that it was the fault of Wessex water and not the hotel but still made the vening/night rather uncomfortable!

Reviewed by
Sue D

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect in every way ... We loved it!!!!

Reviewed by
Susanne Hudson

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean hotel nice staff always helpful.

Reviewed by
M Wales

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy access lovely hotel
I didn't eat at the venue so cannot rate meals but am sure it is very good.

Reviewed by
B O

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great price at a great hotel
A family of six recently stayed at the George Albert Hotel. This small hotel provides good friendly service and nice subtle decorated rooms.
We were pleased with the quality of the rooms, the en-suite bathroom has a nice touch.
There were quality bath towels and toiletries provided(no toothbrush and toothpaste, but we brought our own), the over all bathroom was clean and tidy with a nice touch.
The bathroom door was a little annoying with an automatic door closer.
Plenty of room to put luggage and a big wardrobe for clothes. However the beds seems a little too soft for our liking, had a backache waking up!
We were slightly unhappy about the the little kettle in the room. We understand the area has a lot of limescale in the water, but further more cleaning in the kettles would be nice!
The buffet breakfast was good and tasty, offered a good choice!
We were overall very happy with the hotel, and would definitely recommend it!

Reviewed by
Olivia C

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next