No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The B Hive

2Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
74 HOLLAND STREET , SALFORD, M6 6FE
The B'Hive Inn is a family run traditional pub not a hotel, We have music and karaoke on Friday and Saturday nights, we offer a good selection of draughts, bottled beers, Lagers and wines. Pool & darts. Sport T.V is also shown. 10 to 15 minuites from Manchester City Center and Old Trafford football ground. The latest check in time is 23.00.
Picture of The B Hive, SALFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BeeHive Review
Great experience of a local place to stay. Total value for money. Everyone in the pub is really friendly, chatty and helpful. Upstairs above pub can feel like a makeshift labyrynth but that's what makes it quirky and unique. Cosy and clean in the room. Perfect if you want a place to stay after you've bn out that feels homely and local!

Reviewed by
R Newell

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accommodation
Don't be scared from the reviews this is excellent place to put ur head down highly recommended

Reviewed by
h khan

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap cheerful friendly with decent location
Although the pub was out of sight on an industrial estate, it was only a 10 min max taxi ride into print works costing just £7 .found everyone friendly booked a taxi for me with local company. Was cold winter night and duvet cover was thin but provided me with a plug in heater for room which helped greatly. Room above a pub that was fine with me, had a drink with locals on return from night out. All in all. If yr looking for somewhere cheap to put yr head down for the night & not too far from town centre then I'd recommend the b-hive

Reviewed by
Anton T

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not my best decision
My sister and I decided to book a room as we were Christmas shopping, then going to a show. The taxi took us to a grubby looking little pub in a cul-de-sac facing an industrial site, backing on to a council estate. The landlady was very friendly and helpful, and seemed to know what she was doing, so we were eventually lead up 2 flights of very narrow stairs, to our room at the very end of a dark (no light bulb I think) passage to our room. I can only assume that they are mid-way through renovations - many doors were unpainted, as were the frames, and there was evidence of plastering work quite recently. A very rushed informative chat which, quite frankly we only just made out, and we were given the keys. The room - a twin - looked clean and plenty of space for the price, 'new' carpets and rug, and mostly pine furniture. We were told that there was a kettle etc. for tea and coffee, but the milk was in the kitchen downstairs, if we needed it, as it would go off in the room. There was a tv on the dressing table, but we didn't try it out. After she had returned to her business in the pub, we looked around to notice the odd miss-match of the furniture/decor, but it was clean and in good repair. The sash window opened ok, but a pain of glass was cracked and a bit dirty behind a very battered Venetian blind, and the curtain had seen better days. We went out for the evening, and returned around 11:30 to find the pub front door closed. We were warned this may be the case, but told that he side gate was not locked, and we had a key to the side door. However, the gate was in fact padlocked with a bin inside the gate blocking our entry, and the karaoke session so loud we had to yell for attention before we got let back in. The landlady asked if we wanted to join in or stop for a drink at the bar, but we declined, and decided to have a cup of tea and go to bed. Once we fought our way past the lively people and a dog, we returned to our room, and realized that there was not only no tea or coffee in the room, ( we later noticed some on a table at the end of the landing) but that the only cup was in fact dirty, so opted out of a hot drink and prepared to retire. The shared bathroom was, by far, the grubbiest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel/B&B - the fixtures were not only old and shabby, but there was a dead wasp on the carpet, thick dust on the cable leading to a very tired looking boiler, assorted bottles and pots of bathroom "stuff" around the place and a sign asking guests to wash the bath after use and respect other guests. The toilet and sink were quite clean, but that is about where it stops. It looked like a very well used family bathroom, in dire need of a freshen up. To b fair, the other guests were very quiet, and the sounds from the bar did not impact the room to any great extent, so we both slept soundly, although I am sure a day in the city and a night out had some bearing on that. In the morning we left our room around 10:00, but the entire household was still asleep. We let ourselves out of the back door, as the ripped little scrap of paper taped to it suggested, and posted the keys through the letterbox. The pavement was littered with cigarette ends, the seats outside ripped and broken, the attractive planting shown in the photos absent, and the whole building in daylight looked derelict.
If you just need a place that is cheap, no frills and welcoming, and you really don't care what it looks like, this is ideal. The beds were comfy, the room acceptably clean and the price was right. I would not have paid more that the £45 I did for this room, and I hope the very nice couple running the B Hive intend to finish what ever 'work' they are doing, and maybe think about prepping a room before they have guests due in ? The mini-fridge surely works if turned on ? The best place for a TV is not in front of the mirror on the 'granny-style', lace covered dressing table ? A twin room needs 2 clean cups, and a warning about the stairs - with no hand rails near the top - might have effected my decision to book, as my sister struggled to climb them safely. One word to describe the B Hive - Potential !

Reviewed by
Heidi D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sooooooo Many Thanks
Really enjoyed my stay at the B Hive Inn in Salford Manchester.
The people there are really friendly and made me feel really welcome.
They even supplied me with a phone charger as I had forgotten mine :).
I had an amazing nights sleep and still can't believe the amazing price I paid for a stay on a Saturday night!!!! 25 pounds!!!
Thanks to all at the B Hive.

Reviewed by
A Riaz

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Original hotel moved us without warning. No window / air con in room. Not happy.
We were originally booked into the B Hive hotel, however received a phone call the previous night to staying to tell us we'd been moved to another hotel without warning and not given a proper reason why.
On arrival at the new hotel, we found our room was an interior small room with two single beds cramped in it, no window and no air con. The weather at the time of the stay was particularly muggy so sleeping in the room was next to impossible with no fresh air in the room.
Furthermore, there was a hole in one of the walls, and the shared bathroom had no functioning light and no lock on the door so we had to go down to the other shared bathroom further down the corridor.
Compared to the picture of the room we initially booked, what we received was a million miles different.

Reviewed by
Christopher Howell

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than expected!
I was a bit dubious of staying here as when I checked on google maps its in the middle of nowhere (relatively speaking) but was pleasantly surprised. The room was clean (a bit hot but it's the UK's summer) and the tv worked! The only downside was a shared bathroom but this was clean and there was only a 5 minute wait in the morning for a shower.

Reviewed by
Owen D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bitterly disappointed-avoid at all costs
Tv did not work(new box supplied).No tea or coffee facilities in room(supplies on next floor up)so with a disabled wife this was most annoying as was the shared bathroom on the same floor!!
Room supplied was on first floor above the bar and because of the noise until about 2am,we didn`t get much sleep as was the horrendous karaoke the following evening.
The owner offered me 10 pounds refund for the annoyance but I would certainly never go back again

Reviewed by
Ron H

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for (in a good way)
Booked this place as I was doing research in a Museum archive. First off, it's a way away - you want to check the bus routes and make sure you know your way around; but once you find the right bus it's easy from there on in, and location is less of a problem.
The pub itself is really nice, though it doesn't do food, there are a number of takeaways/delivery places dotted around, and the room I stayed in had a fridge, so I was able to make my own sandwiches for lunch and such.
The staff were lovely; from the day I arrived to the day I left they couldn't have been more helpful. Providing me with directions. local takeaway info, the WiFi password and even heating up the remains a curry I'd stocked in the fridge and providing crockery/cutlery for my own meals. Cannot fault the customer service here whatsoever. Bathroom is shared, but towels were provided by the place.
Only minor problem was, though a kettle and a pot of teabags/coffee was provided, there was only instant cappucino available - for a man that likes his black coffee, this meant I had to forgo my morning ritual :P but no other complaints.
Overall, it suited my needs very well for a very reasonable price. Possibly more suited to one night stayovers for clubs and the like, rather than a long stay in the city, but would recommend as a great basic place to kip.

Reviewed by
Chris L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Salfords Little Gem !
The B-Hive was a last minute "hit & hope booking but so glad we did.
Although we arrived quite late in the evening we were greeted with a warm
and friendly Salford welcome from the owners who are also fantastic hosts.
The rooms above the pub below are cosy and well laid out with 24hr access
a secure side entrance if needed. We will definetly be staying here for all future
visits

Reviewed by
Craig Clay

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next