No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smugglers Haunt Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Smugglers Haunt Hotel, Church Hill East , Brixham, TQ5 8HH
Small friendly hotel in the middle of Brixham close to shops and just five minutes walk from the harbour. This quaint town boasts a big fishing port, harbour and breakwater perfect for fishing trips, sea fishing and diving. Plenty to do for all the family including crab fishing, boat trips to surrounding towns such as Dartmouth & Torquay. Steam Railway a short drive away.
The hotel has its own restaurant and bar which caters for all tastes and is very reasonably priced.
We are also child friendly. Please note we no longer accept pets.
Although we have no parking at the hotel, there is a short stay car park opposite, you can park from 6.00pm - 10.00 am for £2.00 CCTV operates and it is lit at night. There is alternative off road parking about 5 mins walk away.
Please note we are a No Smoking Hotel
We are in the middle of the town and therefore have no sea views, however the harbour is only minutes away
Picture of Smugglers Haunt Hotel, Brixham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was quite noisy at night because of the Pirates weekend, perhaps at any other time it would have been easier to sleep.

Reviewed by
Monica Beardmore

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hen night
Thank you for your hospitatlity

Reviewed by
A Berry

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

competitive hotel.
Good clean hospitable accommodation, very good menu, with helpfull host. My room although single had a homely feel about it, the shower room could have been larger, but the price compensated admirably. With good weather it was just the ticket.

Reviewed by
john p

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
Overpriced for basic accommodation

Reviewed by
S Hunt

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok for a short stay,room was very dated but comfortable. Reasonable breakfast and friendly staff

Reviewed by
Stephen Ellis

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smuggler's Inn
A lovely building with kind and attentive staff. Some lovely touches too - china cups in the rooms, hot chocolate, complimentary toiletries and even a supply of plates and cutlary for guests to borrow [ideal for takeaways !].
However, the hotel is very shabby, and my double room certainly did not justify the £72.50 price tag. Would also be nice if the hotel bar was open a bit more.

Reviewed by
Zoe S

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

new years eve 2013
only down side was no car park on site

Reviewed by
stephen h

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable break away from the kids
On arrival, we found a very friendly and happy reception, although the weather was terrible! We enjoyed the quirkiness of the old building. There was a wide range of food on the menu and the meals that we had were very appetizing and well-presented. The staff were very friendly and we would not hesitate to return

Reviewed by
L Merrell

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quaint hotel
A quaint hotel with a dated décor look, long thin corridors to get to your rooms, quite a comfy bed and a great location only 200 yards from the harbourfront. Breakfasts were great and varied.
Parking is on a steep hill for free, or in a nearby pay and display car park for only 2 pounds per night from 6.00pm till 10.00am. next day... no real inconvenience for either location.

Reviewed by
M Mackenzie

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bar and restaurant area are full of character as is Mine Host! Bedrooms are clean and very comfortable but not premier in style. More cosy

Reviewed by
Alfred R

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next