Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Keswick Hotels > Swinside Lodge Dinner, Bed & Breakfast Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Swinside Lodge Dinner, Bed & Breakfast Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Grange Road Newlands, Keswick, CA12 5UE
This unique Georgian Lakeland property is just 3 miles from Keswick and within easy reach of Grasmere, Ambleside and Windermere. The room rate
includes free Wi-Fi, a 4 course dinner and English breakfast served in the 2 AA Rosette award winning restaurant. Set in its own gardens situated at the foot of Cat Bells in the beautiful Newlands Valley, making it one of the
best Keswick hotels. It is surrounded by fells; Skiddaw, Blencathra, Causey Pike and Swinside. The garden teems with birds, is visited by red squirrels, hares and has resident pheasants. Relax in the unimaginable quiet of the
area taking in the wealth of exceptional views. The tranquil shores of Derwentwater are a 5 minute stroll away where the Keswick launch provides a regular service around the lake. The entire area is a perfect place for the nature lover as well as an ideal base from which to tour and explore the many treasures of the English Lakes.

Picture of Swinside Lodge Dinner, Bed & Breakfast Hotel, Keswick at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very, very friendly staff. Great food. The location was just right for walking in the area.

Reviewed by
A Cowley

From Cockermouth, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great short break in the Swinside Lodge Hotel
Second time at the Swinside with hosts Mike and Kath,who looked after us splendidly.The whole expirience was first class from start to finish.The food was a delight and the service was warm and friendly.We will certainly be returning on the future.

Reviewed by
s russell

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect hotel and location
Superb service and food in an ideal location with excellent hosts - this would be very hard to beat.

Reviewed by
David Walker

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic,
We felt as though we were house guests

Reviewed by
Terry D

From Hilton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location near the lake
Lovely old building, super room, excellent service but food a disappointment overall. Could see that a lot of thought and preparation had gone into the menu, but for us it didn't pay off. Main issue...... no choice. In today's world, it is a huge disappointment to be presented with a set menu. On the first night we were presented with duck. Not a favourite of mine but I thought I'd give it a try. It was dry and tough. Other meals were better, but never quite lived up to what they promised on the menu.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review but alarmed you should find the food ' overall disappointing'. You would have been aware at booking stage it was a set daily changing four course dinner and if you would have gone to the trouble of replying to the booking confirmation email requesting prior details of any 'dietary requirements, seafood allergies or food intolerances/dislikes etc' then duck would not have been presented to you but an alternative. Furthermore the duck would certainly not have been served dry and tough and as regards to your further meals in the plural you only had one other on your second night - presumably the fish main course was also dry and tough!

Reviewed by
G Wilcox

From Rowlands Gill, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An absolute treat
I love this hotel. It's location is ideal for exploring Derwent water and visiting Keswick. The staff are extremely helpful and very friendly without being in your face. This is the second time I have stayed here and on both occasions the food has been outstanding.

Reviewed by
S James

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mini break lake district
Lovely quiet place upgrade as promised.To improve things semi skimmed milk as an option .
D B&B not that cheap so less heavy charges on the aperitifs one GIn & Tonic and a dry sherry £11 plus . Amazing selection of wines shame so expensive that said the sauvingnon form chile just over £ 18 was nice .
Some music whilst having the canapes would have enhanced the evening and in the dining room .Gorgeous 50`s juke box how wonderful it would have been to have listened to a couple of records.
Met the owner Mike shame not to be introduced to his wife considering the smallness of the hotel .

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of your one night stay with us. Pleased you appreciated the upgrade, we try and give this on all bookings where possible. When a booking is confirmed dietary requirements /food intolerances, dislikes etc are always enquired of – this would include any requirement for skimmed milk. The price of the gin and tonic together with sherry was based on a double measure of Bombay gin and a non supermarket brand of sherry. Our wine list comprises over 130 bins and yes there will be expensive selections within there that suits differing peoples tastes but there is also 25 wines at under £25 along with 12 wines by the glass – the fact that you enjoyed 2 bottles of our cheapest wine and thought well of it is possibly testament to the wine list quality. Music is always being played from the hallway, admittedly not loud, but you are the exception that wants to hear any music over dinner!! With regards to listening to the juke box all you had to do was ask and it would not have been a problem as you were in the lounge on your own as a couple. My wife, Kath offers her apologies in not meeting with you but the night of your stay and breakfast following morning was her day off. It was a pleasure meeting with you and I hope the contents of your review and my response would not deter you from visiting Swinside Lodge in the future Kind regards Mike Bilton

Reviewed by
penny n

From WIRRAL, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent food, although no choice- I have a dairy allergy so any food in a sauce I should not eat, Swinside did offer an alternative dessert and were able to provide soya milk.

Reviewed by
P Chaffey

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic night away from kids
excellent evening, superb meal

Reviewed by
john a

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic getaway
If you need a bit of pampering and to get away from it all, then this hotel fits the bill. Staff really looked after you. Hotel was beautifully renovated and the food and wine selections were not a disappointment. Woken next morning to the sound of pheasants on the lawn and wonderful walks right on the doorstep, including boat trips on Derwentwater. Bliss

Reviewed by
M Nicholls

From Whitehaven, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.