No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Rectory

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
The Old Rectory, Church Lane, Thormanby, York, YO61 4NN
Grade II listed Georgian Rectory located on the fringes of the North York Moors National Park, More commonly known as 'James Herriot country', with Whitby , and the seaside towns of Scarborough and Filey a convenient drive away. Ideally situated for the Yorkshire Dales, Lake District, Harrogate, and only a 20 minute drive from York city centre. Set in a rural location near the Georgian market town of Thirsk with its popular racecourse.

The house rests within the small hamlet of Thormanby on the East Side of the A19 located on the fringes of the North York Moors National Park. We have a large country garden and a private car park available to guests.

We are a short distance from ‘The Cleveland Way’ and the North Yorks Moors cycle routes and walks. We can especially cater for Walkers, Climbers, and Cyclists, we provide drying facilities and storage for wet/dirty clothing and equipment, and can offer secure storage for bicycles.

All meats and other produce included in the cooked breakfast are obtained from local farms, Continental breakfasts are available and we cater for vegetarians and those with special dietary requirements.

We have a Guest Lounge (see below) with a real open log fire for all our guests to enjoy. A place where you can relax after an exhilarating day out in the countryside, or to plan your next days excursions.

Within walking distance of the house is The Corner Cupboard an award winning tea room and interiors shop, also there are local village pubs within easy reach of the house. In the nearby Georgian Market village of Easingwold you will find a choice of pubs, restaurants, and take aways, and a fantastic tea room! Easingwold also has a Tourist Board office, many antique shops, banks, and an off-licence.

Discount rates can be discussed for large parties of 5 adults or more, or for guests staying a minimum of three nights.

We also provide information on local walks, tourist attractions, local events, and a timetable for the race
Picture of The Old Rectory, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well recommended
This is a lovely old building that's beautifully decorated. We were looked after by Paul and his family and we would definitely stop again. It has it's own car park to the rear which is good however for those wanting to stay in touch with family and friends the phone signal is poor in this area and there wasn't a wifi connection.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really attractive house in a very convenient location for getting to York. Owners very friendly and hospitable and keen to ensure you have a great stay. The breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked with local good quality ingredients.

Reviewed by
Eileen S

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed in August 2014
Very clean and large room close to the road at the front. Very friendly owners, and overall enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
John V

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best beds ever!
Suffering from a chest infection i thought im never going to sleep i need to cancel this trip but wow the bed was so comfy and loads of pillows to sit myself up. I loved the room so much. the prints on the wall, the french georgian style and so roomy. Luxury!
the breakfast was lovely and the couple were fab!

Reviewed by
c taylor

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The photos of this hotel do not do it justice!
We stayed at the old rectory over new year 13/14 and I can not rate it highly enough. We recieved the friendliest of welcomes from the owners and were shown to a huge room with the most beautifully grand furniture and large spotless bathroom complete with malton brown toiletries! After sleeping like a log we had a gorgeous breakfast cooked to order made with all local produce including eggs from the hens at the bottom of the garden. If you would like to be close to York but still enjoy the countryside - this is the B&B for you.

Reviewed by
samantha Hockenhull

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful night in a beautiful room with an amazing bathroom for two people to share a luxury bath together, very romantic meal at one of the local pub venues. A great hearty freshly cooked breakfast set us up for an excellent days outing to York.

Reviewed by
G Peacock

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was ideal for our purpose. Very friendly service and well presented accommodation.

Reviewed by
James O

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
Very good stay for a family of four, big comfortable family room in an interesting and beautifully furnished old house. Welcome could not have been better, lovely breakfast with a good choice. Plenty of parking space and in a convenient location for York, Ripon and the rest of N. Yorks.
No evening dinner of course but plenty of food available nearby, a very good alternative to a city centre hotel, give it a try.

Reviewed by
Graham D

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family weekend in north yorks
Beautiful setting, with chocolate box villages and stunning countryside at every turn. my elderly sisters and I took over the Old Rectory for a long weekend as we were attending a family wedding nearby. We all felt that the level of service and care was exceptional and the quality of accommodation superb
Definitely recommended. Racheal and Paul were perfect hosts

Reviewed by
Roger Browne

From Stockport, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

accommodation
The Old Rectory is a beautiful house which has been tastefully decorated with reproduction furniture in keeping with the age of the house the big downside for us was that it was situated right on a very busy main road and we occupied a front room therefore the traffic noise was so loud that we could not have the windows open and also we could not sit outside. We were hoping for views of the beautiful countryside and only birdsong not lorries and cars

Reviewed by
robin frost

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.