Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Central England > West Midlands > Birmingham Hotels > Etap Birmingham Airport/NEC (soon ibis budget)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Etap Birmingham Airport/NEC (soon ibis budget)

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
Birmingham International Airport Ambassador Road, Birmingham, B26 3QL
ETAP Hotel Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV.

Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day.

100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi available throughout the hotel. Discounted NCP car park available. Please contact the hotel directly for further information
Picture of Etap Birmingham Airport/NEC (soon ibis budget), Birmingham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 236 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The trip starts at Etap
Checking in at 4.30 am for an early flight was made possible by spending the previous night at Etap. This hotel has the right functionality for a guest that simply wants to be near the airport at a reasonable expense.
The checking in staff was very friendly and efficient. The room was clean, quiet, had adequate hanging space, en-suite facilities, and the bed was comfortable. I made use of the free wi-fi.
With a continental-style breakfast (available from 4am), this trip had got off to a good start.

Reviewed by
horst h

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great to use for an early flight
Really friendly, efficient staff and check in service. The room although basic, was clean and had everything we needed for just an overnight stay and being within easy walking distance to the departure desk at Birmingham Airport, made it so easy for us as we had a very early flight. The walk only took us a couple of minutes, literally out the reception, turn left, cross the road and you're there. We'll definitely use the Etap again and have recommended it to our family to use.

Reviewed by
Jack Marshall

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap for a reason
I stayed as I was at a show at the NEC and I booked somewhat late so to stick to the budget I booked with ETAP/Ibis on first impressions the hotel seemed ok but upon entering the room that impression quickly changed!
The room was basically a box with a bed in it which to be fair I wasn't expecting anything fancy from the price paid however there was not a contained bathroom, there was a toilet room, the sink was about 2 metres from the bed and the shower room was next to the bed, the shower room emitted an evil sewage kind of smell to which the only cure was to place a towel over the drain. Another disappointment was that the hotel stated that there was free wifi but when I connected it did not work. My last point would be that the bed was so firm it would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor!
All in all I've learned the lesson to not book so late in the day to ensure I get a good hotel to stay in!

Reviewed by
Jessica G

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Big Mistake
Stayed one night arriving at night after visiting the NEC (over two days). Hard to find where to park on arrival. No tea making facility - you have the privilege of buying drinks from reception. TV did not work. Discovered in the morning that the aerial plug had a loose fitting. The incontinence under sheet was laid upside down with the fleece on the bottom. That and a loose sheet on the bed was uncomfortable. There was a dried bogey on the sheet - but cleaners can't spot everything. Room small and fittings cheap.
Parking overnight cost us £30 and we ate in the departure terminal.
For £30 per person per night was it value for money. No - it actually cost us in total what we could have spent for a much much better hotel (and been able to make a cup of tea).
Perhaps if you just want a very basic room overnight before an early flight and have a weeks parking booked, it may seem less unattractive. As for us - never again.

Reviewed by
Robert Chard

From Builth Wells, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
We stated at the ETAP Nec Birmingham for one night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean and tidy. Great value.

Reviewed by
Rebecca E

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Catch that plane !
Everything fine and predictable excepting no wakeup service offered. The reason for using the hotel was to secure an early morning flight.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Arlington, USA
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but perfectly formed
Great for a base before flying. Went to the Novotel next door for dinner and it was fabulous.

Reviewed by
Lesley J

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the road was closed and the signage was dreadful we went round and round trying to find the hotel. If you are aware that there are diversions please email your clients and inform them of how to negotiate the roadworks. Thank you

Reviewed by
k carpenter

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and efficient.. Excellent power shower not a weedy one you get in some higher star hotels!

Reviewed by
Keith Underhill

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay

Reviewed by
m carter

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next