No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Montcalm London City

5Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
42-46 CHISWELL STREET , LONDON, EC1Y 4SB
Sleek, chic and contemporary, The Montcalm London City presents a completely new experience in the heart of The Barbican, London City. The hotel accents luxurious comfort and offers a superb choice of lavish accommodation, whilst preserving heritage values. The bedrooms are tastefully designed with stylish en-suite bathrooms complete with rain showers and accented with luxury toiletries. Up-to-the-minute technology for communication and entertainment includes high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, Telephone with voicemail, ipod docking station plus a selection of 40 international satellite television channels.

Our Luxury suites are characterised by a loving attention to detail to make your stay an experience you'll always remember. We offer state-of-the art SPA with a range of treatments and beauty services to compliment your experience.

The Saint Pauls Tavern and Brasserie offers exceptional cuisine where you can enjoy mouth-watering dishes in a stylish ambience.

The King's Head Gastro Pub features a classic yet modern style in a truly relaxing atmosphere.Featuring Heritage ales and a modern wine selection, our stylish destination pub is the perfect place for both the city business person and the Hotel guest to relax with their favourite drink and enjoy a selection of savoury delights.Quintessentially English Afternoon Tea is available throughout our lounges where you can enjoy specialty teas, herbal infusions and a selection of scrumptious pastries.
Picture of The Montcalm London City, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfortunately the under floor was not working, apart from this the quality of the room was excellent.

Reviewed by
Francesca Knowles

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stylish and Clean.
This is an amazing hotel with unique and stylish aspects to the rooms. Really happy with my stay.

Reviewed by
J Neate

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable hotel for business or holiday
An excellent hotel for visiting the City, or possibly for a tourist visit if you do not mind being away from the West End. In a quiet location but handy for bars, restaurants and for underground lines (Morogate or Barbican). Excellent rooms and service but complicated corridor layout.

Reviewed by
Simon T

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation at a bargin price
We booked for one night as the hotel was 2 minutes from The Barbican theater, where we were seeing a play. It was incredibly conveinient and a great experience! The 5* rating is well deserved - the customer service was impeccable, our room was very well presented and had everything we could have needed for an overnight stay. We would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
Harriet H

From Newmarket, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location in the City
Fantastic hotel. Really helpful staff. Lovely room. Could not fault it in any way at all. Will definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Michael Watson-Jones

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was lovely, however a little too hot! The hotel is a maze of corridoors, however if you follow the map & signs you'll be fine...just. Staff were very friendly and check out at 12pm is excellent.

Reviewed by
carmela c

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Montcalm London City
Very modern hotel stylish decor with foreign staff who's first language was not English.
The double bed was too small for 2 adults and the bar was closed very early so no chance of an after show drink!

Reviewed by
H Hudson

From Belvedere, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small accommodation
The hotel was very good, decorated to a high standard and the staff were very polite and helpful, especially in helping navigate to your room and the restaurants which should be easy but in the labyrinth of corridors and rooms, getting lost is almost a part of the stay.
My main complaint would the size of the room, for he money it was very small, barely more than a double bed and space to walk each side. I asked for the best room available at this rate and was disappointed with the outcome.

Reviewed by
Glen C

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Montcalm - A wondeful experience
A wonderful hotel with the most courtious staff. The room was excellent, well furnished and fantastically clean. As this was a stay to celebrate a birthday the hotel provided a complimentary bottle of wine and even gave an upgrade to make our time even more special. The check in/out procedure couldn't have been easier and the option to store our luggage well in advance was a great addition that allowed us to explore the city unburdened with the concierge placing our bags in our room at no extra cost. I would always recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to enjoy a break in London.

Reviewed by
T Boyhan

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Service at its best
Beautiful hotel, fantastic staff and service!

Reviewed by
Mark Andrew

From St Neots, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next