No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Munden House

5AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Alweston, , , Sherborne, DT9 5HU
Munden House was originally a farm, and its old farm buildings have been sympathetically knitted together to create a beautiful house with original limestone walls, traditional thatch and 300 year old fireplace.This is luxury accommodation in a peaceful and beautiful setting. A good night's sleep is essential, so all beds have top quality mattresses, crisp Egyptian cotton linen, opulent feather duvets and pillows. All rooms are en suite with soft towels and luxury White Company toiletries. All have flat screen free view televisions, digital radio alarms, tea and coffee facilities and complimentary mineral waters. Each is individually furnished with very comfort considered. Free WiFi is available in all rooms, Dairy and Garden Cottage. The cottages offer more flexible and private accommodation. Each has a fully equipped kitchen though guests are welcome to come in and enjoy breakfast in the dining room. Ideal for small families or those seeking total peace and privacy. Garden and Dairy Cottage also welcome dogs to stay. The Summer House is private, romantic and beautifully furnished. It is the ultimate retreat set in the garden, with a private deck outside to enjoy the tranquility and wonderful views. With extensive and well established gardens, the views towards Blackmore Vale are outstanding. Guests can take in the views whilst enjoying delicious locally sourced breakfast in the elegant dining room. Less than five minutes away, Sherborne is a beautiful and historic market town with ancient abbey and two castles to explore. It offers a welcome selection of independent shops, restaurants and tea rooms. Within a short drive from Munden House guests can visit several famous National Trust houses and gardens, the fascinating museums in Dorchester and head down to the famous Jurassic coast where each bay has a different character and lots to offer. Munden House is an ideal base for those on business in the area, visiting the Sherborne schools or discovering Dorset.
Picture of Munden House, Sherborne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break away
We stayed in the Dairy Cottage for 3 nights and it was lovely. Such a beautiful place to stay in and a beautiful location. Our little girl loved running around after the chickens and playing with the dog. The cottage was clean and very comfortable. There was fresh filter coffee available and we had a special little treat for our little girl ... she loved the gingerbread man!! Breakfast was yummy and we all loved the homemade jam and marmalade. Overall, would definitely go back and have already recommended it.

Reviewed by
Teresa Parsley

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
Annie and Colin are wonderful and their converted farmhouse is fantastic. Our bathroom in the Ludlow was exceptional.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business traveler
This place is really great! quiet, pretty, comfy all the things you would look for in a room. I'm thinking of comming back for a weekend break with my wife. Top draw.

Reviewed by
D Millership

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place for a break
We stayed over during our trip down to Poole to pick up our daughter, we found the owners welcoming and very friendly, the room was perfect and great value for the price. I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for a weekend break.

Reviewed by
robert phillips

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
Had a wonderful short stay. Would return to Munden House when visiting the area again. Colin's recommendations for places to eat very helpful. A1 service.

Reviewed by
N Bunyan

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Five Star
A very welcoming classy property finished to an outstanding standard. The owners Colin and Annie were lovely and the perfect hosts. We had both breakfast and an evening meal and found the food and presentation to be of a very high standard, served in the beautiful spacious dining room, which is adjoined by a cosy sitting room complete with wood burning fire. A first class premises with first class service.Strongly recommended and fully deserving of its five star rating.

Reviewed by
A Clarke

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek break in Dorset
Annie and Colin are excellent hosts and have gone to a great deal of trouble to provide the little touches which make the difference such as fresh flowers in our room and on the breakfast tables, crisp white bed linen and a fabulous power shower all spotlessly clean in a relaxed atmosphere within a home filled with lovely antique furniture and silverware. It was lovely to be able to open the door in our room out onto the garden to be able to sit just outside in the evening sun, throwing a ball for Cassie the resident dog! They are always ready with ideas on where to go and what to see and are interested in how your day has been without being obtrusive. Munden House is ideally placed just outside of Sherborne with easy access to the coast and major tourist attractions and I hope we have the opportunity to visit them again. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here to anyone.

Reviewed by
Lynne Patrick

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super B and B
My sister and I enjoyed 3 lovely days at this B and B. The room was lovely with access directly on to the pretty garden. The breakfasts were delicious, specially the wonderful eggs fresh from their own hens. Sherborne is a very attractive town, lovely friendly atmosphere.

Reviewed by
P Snelling

From Shipston on Stour, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pushing the boundaries of perfection!
What can I say but perfect in every way. My fourth visit is already sorted.

Reviewed by
Clive R

From Yateley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a pleasure staying at Munden House!
We would love to visit Munden House again. We stayed in the Lulworth room and it was gorgeous with stunning views. The owners were really friendly and were kind enough to lend me their umbrella! :)

Reviewed by
E Brockhurst

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next