No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Munden House

5AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Mundens Lane, Alweston, Sherborne, DT9 5HU
Munden House is a luxurious AA five star gold rated bed and breakfast only two miles from Sherborne, Dorset. Set in a large garden with beautiful views,Munden House was originally a collection of old farm buildings dating back over three centuries. Whilst retaining all of the old period features, it combines modern day comfort with tradition. This Sherborne Bed and Breakfast has five delightful en-suite bedrooms, all individually furnished with comfortable beds and crisp Egyptian cotton linen. There are also three self contained cottages which offer more flexible and spacious accommodation. In the heart of Thomas Hardy country, this Sherborne Bed and Breakfast is the perfect base from which to explore Dorset, or rest overnight on journeys to or from the West Country. Munden House is an ideal base for those on business in the area or visiting Sherborne Schools and attractions.
Picture of Munden House, Sherborne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Guests were made to feel very welcome without too much fuss and left to their own thing.

Reviewed by
T French

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderful relaxing overnight stay.
Me and my husband stayed here in the Kimmeridge room for one night. I was initially sad I couldn't book one of the other doubles for a little bit more as they looked much nicer online. On arrival I immediately forgot this as the room was lovely. Very homely, extremely clean and had everything you could want. Being 9 months pregnant I am used to broken sleep and hadn't expected anything else but due to the quiet location and quality bedding I had the best nights sleep in months! Breakfast was delicious and left me nicely full without being a stereotypical 'greasy' fry up. I would recommend staying here to anyone. My only tip would be to watch out for the extra squirty (lovely smelling, white company) hand soap as it was very efficient and got my top twice - and if that's the only criticism it can't be bad can it!

Reviewed by
Amy F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break away
We stayed in the Dairy Cottage for 3 nights and it was lovely. Such a beautiful place to stay in and a beautiful location. Our little girl loved running around after the chickens and playing with the dog. The cottage was clean and very comfortable. There was fresh filter coffee available and we had a special little treat for our little girl ... she loved the gingerbread man!! Breakfast was yummy and we all loved the homemade jam and marmalade. Overall, would definitely go back and have already recommended it.

Reviewed by
Teresa Parsley

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
Annie and Colin are wonderful and their converted farmhouse is fantastic. Our bathroom in the Ludlow was exceptional.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business traveler
This place is really great! quiet, pretty, comfy all the things you would look for in a room. I'm thinking of comming back for a weekend break with my wife. Top draw.

Reviewed by
D Millership

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place for a break
We stayed over during our trip down to Poole to pick up our daughter, we found the owners welcoming and very friendly, the room was perfect and great value for the price. I would recommend this venue to anyone looking for a weekend break.

Reviewed by
robert phillips

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay
Had a wonderful short stay. Would return to Munden House when visiting the area again. Colin's recommendations for places to eat very helpful. A1 service.

Reviewed by
N Bunyan

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Five Star
A very welcoming classy property finished to an outstanding standard. The owners Colin and Annie were lovely and the perfect hosts. We had both breakfast and an evening meal and found the food and presentation to be of a very high standard, served in the beautiful spacious dining room, which is adjoined by a cosy sitting room complete with wood burning fire. A first class premises with first class service.Strongly recommended and fully deserving of its five star rating.

Reviewed by
A Clarke

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek break in Dorset
Annie and Colin are excellent hosts and have gone to a great deal of trouble to provide the little touches which make the difference such as fresh flowers in our room and on the breakfast tables, crisp white bed linen and a fabulous power shower all spotlessly clean in a relaxed atmosphere within a home filled with lovely antique furniture and silverware. It was lovely to be able to open the door in our room out onto the garden to be able to sit just outside in the evening sun, throwing a ball for Cassie the resident dog! They are always ready with ideas on where to go and what to see and are interested in how your day has been without being obtrusive. Munden House is ideally placed just outside of Sherborne with easy access to the coast and major tourist attractions and I hope we have the opportunity to visit them again. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here to anyone.

Reviewed by
Lynne Patrick

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super B and B
My sister and I enjoyed 3 lovely days at this B and B. The room was lovely with access directly on to the pretty garden. The breakfasts were delicious, specially the wonderful eggs fresh from their own hens. Sherborne is a very attractive town, lovely friendly atmosphere.

Reviewed by
P Snelling

From Shipston on Stour, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next