No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Engine Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Station road, Cark in Cartmel, , Grange over Sands, LA11 7NZ
Chris and Karen welcome you to the fully re-furbished 16th Century Engine Inn, situated in the tranquil, unspoilt village of Cark-in-Cartmel on the edge of the Lake District Park and close to the shores of Morecambe Bay. It provides the ideal setting in which to enjoy the beautiful Lake District as well as quality food, drink and accommodation in a relaxed and welcoming enviroment. As listed in the GOOD BEER GUIDE 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013 a great selection of fine Cask Ales await you at the Engine Inn. Four changing cask ales including Westons Cloudy Cider. Beers from the Ulverston Brewing Company, Cartmel Unsworths Yard, Flookburgh Fell Brewery. Tripadvisor approved.
Picture of Engine Inn, Grange over Sands at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb staff and owners
Loved our stay, recommend booking. Thanks so much, Wayne and Ann from Lakeland Segway

Reviewed by
Wayne Riches

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice & friendly but a bit remote from any where within walking distance

Reviewed by
D Coronado

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room
Room was ok and very comfy but needed a bit of updating

Reviewed by
s sampson

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable stay nice area.

Reviewed by
sarah b

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay, thank you.

Reviewed by
pam m

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two Engines in One Afternon !
We were travelling north and chose the Engine Inn as a stopover - and we arrived after a happy afternoon on the Haverthwaite & Lakeside Steam Railway. We really enjoyed our stay at the Engine, the room was compact but provided all the necessaries, and the service was very friendly - and very knowledgeable too when it came to the real ales on offer at the bar! Food was good pub grub and very generous portions. Breakfast too was good, and equally generous ! Cark is a small and quiet village ( with another pub well worth a visit) and near to Cartmel which has a beautiful priory and interesting shops, including a brewery and the Village Stores ( aka Sticky Toffee Pudding Shop). The Engine Inn is a traditional pub in a rural setting and I'd recommend it to anyone with a love of good beer, good atmosphere and generous portions !

Reviewed by
H PALMER

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice but brief stay
We stayed here whilst at a friends wedding and were impressed at the quality of the room for a very reasonable price. Staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. Was a very quiet little stay in a quiet little village.

Reviewed by
A Askew

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pros and cons
Car parking can be difficult as just a few spaces in front of the pub. Room was small but adequate as weather was good so didn't need to spend time in the room. Good choice of food and cooked to a good standard.
We would return if needed to stay in that area again.

Reviewed by
Lindsey F

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.