No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Symonds Yat Rock Lodge

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge Hillersland, Coleford, GL16 7NY
Stylish bed and breakfast at Symonds Yat Rock on the Wye Valley.

Walk directly from your front door into the Forest of Dean. In easy walking distance is one of Britain's favourite views - at Symonds Yat Rock - and from here you descend to the River Wye and some fantastic pubs.

A perfect base for walking (dogs welcome), canoeing, wildlife, adrenalin activities, sightseeing and attractions, or just relaxing in this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Sunday Times called the area a 'Foodie hotspot'.

Pets Welcome.
Picture of Symonds Yat Rock Lodge, Coleford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Louise
friendly; informative welcome
excellent room and facilities
fantastic breakfast
Thanks

Reviewed by
Louise Goult

From Lympstone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, friendly but little musty.
It was clean and nice, the couple who ran the place are very friendly, however the room was a little musty/damp. Lovely breakfast!

Reviewed by
K Parker

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Symonds Yat Rock Lodge.
Room and bathroom were disappointingly small, though relatively clean. Our hosts were helpful and polite and the view from the garden was exceptional. The quality of food was good.

Reviewed by
Diane G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room smaller than usual and bathroom sink very small

Reviewed by
alan hubble

From Thetford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

enjoyable stay
Room was clean, shower worked, water was hot. Breakfast was good. Quite location.

Reviewed by
Carolyn W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Summer accomodation, not suitable for Winter visitors
Owners were lovely and friendly and breakfast was good. Stayed for business but room was cold due to the time of year and the fact the accommodation was stables. The bed was comfortable and when the lights were turned off by the other guests the place was dark and quiet.
This is holiday accommodation and the literature in the room was excellent about everything in the area and given warmer weather then this may be OK.
I will be more careful when using laterooms in future as this accommodation was not what I thought I was booking. Partly my fault partly the website.

Reviewed by
Derek H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and nice bed
Ample room good parking
Musty smell and noise from other guests Sound proofing

Reviewed by
a lennox

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location and accommodation
We arrived and were very warmly welcomed and shown our room. The room was very clean and tidy and couldn't fault it. Break fast was very tasty indeed and made a great end to our stay.

Reviewed by
Stuart W

From Harborne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended
I Highly recommend Symonds Yat Rock Lodge.
The owners are very welcoming, the breakfast is second to none and the location is fantastic, especially if you love your walks and scenic views.(simply cross over the road into the woods and you can walk for miles).
The room is clean, with a comfy double bed, en-suite shower/toilet etc....and you can come and go as you please.
The cost of staying here is also very competitive compared to other B&Bs in the area, (some are almost double the cost), so all in all, S.Y.R.L is the best value by far!
I have stayed here once before and will certainly stay here again.
The ONLY negative comment I could give, if I had to, (if you could call this one), is the internet/mobile signal is very low, so I wasn't able to log on to the internet so I could take a look at reviews of attractions before I visited, (unless I was in the breakfast lounge area!)
However, I suppose this is a positive for many people.
So all in all, would I recommend? Most certainly!!!

Reviewed by
D Jones

From Newton le Willows, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great get away in a beautiful location
A wonderful, inviting B & B in a fantastic location we were really pleased with our last minute trip to Symonds Yat Rock Lodge. Professional, friendly owners made us welcome and the room was ideal for a couple of nights. Lovely garden and stunning views. Very relaxed atmosphere, clean and light. Really liked having our own front door. Only slight thing to mention was our room felt a bit damp, possibly from the ensuite not having a window but overall a great stay.

Reviewed by
N Hudson

From Caterham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next