Reviews - De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park


NEW PARK ROAD Newgate Street Village, Nr. Hertford, Herts, SG13 8QT

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (52)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • B Baker

  • September 2015


On arrival (Sunday @ 1400hrs) the drive down the lane to the hotel was lovely.

When we reached the car park we found it was full, as there was a wedding going on. We saw a sign - all be it pushed half over - to direct us to the over flow car park. Further on up the lane we found no more signs so we were confused as to where to park. We drove back down to the hotel to be advised by 2 members of staff that it was in the car park of the training block on the right. Twice more we went back up the lane and still found no signage for the training block just a car parked signed " the stables" and nothing mentioning hotel over flow. So once more we came back down and left the car on the road. At reception we checked in and asked again about parking - the receptionist said "It's up by the training block" We told the receptionist we could only find the stables to then be told - "oh yes they changed the name!!!"

This was our first impression of this "4 star hotel"!!. The room we had been allocated was 116 and we were advised that due to the wedding venue being directly underneath they would put us further away in 120. Only to find later that night that half the wedding guests were staying in the same corridor so we were woken untold times with every door bang until gone 0030hrs. Again we were woken at 0250hrs to someone hammering or banging below us and again at 0600hrs with staff in and out of a creaky door in the Bistro below. The room itself was lovely and clean with a really comfy bed but ....there was a stain on the carpet just outside the bathroom, a large cob out of the bedside table and a cheap and tacky blue blanket on the bed. In the bathroom There was a cracked floor tile, a wall tile broken next to the bath and the ceiling was stained from a possible previous leak.

We were due to meet friends in the bar area (not very big for the size of hotel only approx 12 seats) but found this full of the wedding guests and were told there was no other lounge area for guests to relax. We made our way to the Bistro. We had an enjoyable meal here and this was made all the better being served by a lovely waiter called Dan. Breakfast was also enjoyable with a variety of choice. We chose this hotel initially as we felt it was different from your run of the mill hotels. All the issues we had were minor but it's the little things and attention to detail that makes all the difference. Overall we found the staff very friendly but the building was very tired and dated. With the money we paid and our expectations It left us feeling very disappointed.. Sorry!

  • Tom H

  • September 2015

Pleasant stay, great value

clean, quiet and loved the complementary tea and coffee bar!

  • D Beatty

  • September 2015

One night stay

Have stayed at the Ponsbourne Park previously in 2014 and 2013.

Very nice large room after complimenttary upgrade as hotel was quiet on night we stayed. Much improved Bistro meal compared to previous visit with very nice menu selection. Good prompt service and value for money. Nice quiet location with good private parking. Relaxed breakfast. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Simon Jones

  • August 2015

Shocked by how poor, from two key brands

From arrival to departure it left me disappointed, don't risk travelling here.

The reception desk was dirty, the bar was unmanned, the room was an 80's throwback, the food was tasteless, it took 6 glasses in the morning to find a clean one, breakfast was poor quality, superior room was full of mould, split drinks over bedroom floor. Why did I pay £99 . De Vere and Tesco should be ashamed to have offered this hotel, but then again perhaps its the journey / market trend that these brands are taking ..... I shouldn't be shocked.

  • David S

  • July 2015

Beautiful location

The location is stunning and the greeting we received from the lady on reception was friendly and professional.

However the room was disappointing; the bed was a bit hard for our liking, but that is a personal preference. Two lights didn't work and one of the windows wouldn't close properly. We only stayed one night but the best bit was the great breakfast.

  • A Egan

  • May 2015

They were having a bad day

The computer had apparently crashed and they had a wedding party, however this did not excuse my being checked into a room already occupied (unsure who was more embarrassed, him or me!).

A basic protocol when handing keys to a female when there are others at reception is to exercise discretion instead of announcing the room number - this was overlooked and left me feeling uncomfortable. New, unoccupied room was obviously finished in a rush (bed cushions on the floor and used shower gel left in the shower), which lead me to notice other things like the basin being blocked and the BBC1 picture being lousy.

Their bad day continued the following morning when requesting a printed receipt. The printer wasn't working so I asked for it to be emailed. Lovely setting, hopeless service


  • March 2015

Delightful location, impressive building.

We had a thouroughly enjoyable 2 night stay.

The staff were extra helpful, informative and pleasant; the breakfasts were delicious; the room was spacious and well equipt.

Plenty of walking trails around the Village area and in Broxbourne woods. We will definitely make a return visit.

  • a kermani

  • February 2015

Very disappointed

My wife and I were very disappointed to be put in the annexe of the Ponsbourne hotel.

The location was fantastic, but we expected your customer service to give us a choice between staying in the main building which you advertise on your website or in the shed next door. I hope you will be more honest in the future. As a result we will not recommand your lovely hotel to anybody we know.

Mr. A.Kerman

  • D Yates

  • January 2015

absolutely superb.....

above all expectations and more

  • R Jenkins

  • December 2014

First time stay.

We had awarm welcome and were given our key promptly to room 123.

As we were in a hurry to meet the family i asked reception to take our bags to the room while we were out. They were there on our return, our room on the second floor had a lovely view over the golf course. There was a party in the main function room in the evening but this could not be heard in our room which was a real bonus. Unfortunately the fire alarm went off during the night ( False alarm ) and the staff were very efficient and we were back in bed within half an hour. The cooked breakfast was lovely and overall we really enjoyed our stay. We will be booking again.