No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
NEW PARK ROAD Newgate Street Village, Nr. Hertford, Herts, SG13 8QT
Ponsbourne Park is set in over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and offers stylish, elegant accommodation and surrounded by scenic Hertfordshire countryside, with numerous opportunities for walks. Paradise Wildlife Park is just 10 minutes’ drive away, and the stately home Knebworth House is a 15-minute drive away.

Ponsbourne Park offers fine dining at Seymour’s Restaurant, informal cuisine at The Bistro, and relaxed drinks in stylish surroundings at the hotel bar.

Guests at Ponsbourne Park have access to the mini-gym facilities, tennis courts and golf at the 9-hole pitch and putt.

Complimentary Wifi is available throughout the hotel.
Picture of De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park, Nr. Hertford, Herts at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed
My wife and I were very disappointed to be put in the annexe of the Ponsbourne hotel. The location was fantastic, but we expected your customer service to give us a choice between staying in the main building which you advertise on your website or in the shed next door. I hope you will be more honest in the future. As a result we will not recommand your lovely hotel to anybody we know.
Mr. A.Kerman

Reviewed by
a kermani

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

absolutely superb.....
above all expectations and more

Reviewed by
D Yates

From Waltham Cross, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time stay.
We had awarm welcome and were given our key promptly to room 123. As we were in a hurry to meet the family i asked reception to take our bags to the room while we were out. They were there on our return, our room on the second floor had a lovely view over the golf course. There was a party in the main function room in the evening but this could not be heard in our room which was a real bonus. Unfortunately the fire alarm went off during the night ( False alarm ) and the staff were very efficient and we were back in bed within half an hour. The cooked breakfast was lovely and overall we really enjoyed our stay. We will be booking again.

Reviewed by
R Jenkins

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful grounds and lovely Hotel, tucked away in a stunning valley.
We were very impressed with the Hotel and stunning grounds of this Hotel, we attended a wedding which every one enjoyed. Hotel, a very grand old stately house with beautiful furniture and fittings. Room, very clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Sue R

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pons
good stay although 2 cups and a glass not washed properly at breakfast and receptionist seemed more interested in talking to her colleague than to me

Reviewed by
Patrick B

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Understand room was at a reduced rate, but Premier Inn accommodation was superior to the room we stayed in! Bed very small, decor not too the standard of an expensive property!

Reviewed by
I Andrews

From Lyme Regis, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor experience- poor signage to get to hotel, very bland and disjointed layout
My bedroom was in an annexe on the first floor, no lift available. The television was from the 80's and I couldn't get normal TV eg. bbc, itv,
The restaurant was very bland, a white box, no pictures, and no atmosphere. heating was via a very noisy air conditioning unit that blew straight into your face when sat at the tables.
Very disjointed in that you have to walk outside (raining) from hotel, to annexe and to the restaurant.

Reviewed by
philip l

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic and unwelcoming room...
Room was more like a nice-ish doctors waiting room...struggled to get comfortable and was keen to leave. Wasnt worth the money. Very helpful staff though!!

Reviewed by
Emma S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A short stay, but not the first or last!
We have stayed several times at Ponsbourne Park and have always found the hotel and surroundings delightful. The Hotel is a little oasis of peace and quiet, but only a short distance ( 10 minutes drive ) from the hubbub of outer London and the M25. The breakfast is always of good quality and is plentiful in amount and choice. We recommend it to all our friends who need to travel to London.

Reviewed by
Graham Kirby

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall the hotel was very good. Staff polite and helpful. Breakfast should be kept warmer

Reviewed by
W Cowan

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next