No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
NEW PARK ROAD Newgate Street Village, Nr. Hertford, Herts, SG13 8QT
Ponsbourne Park is set in over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and offers stylish, elegant accommodation and surrounded by scenic Hertfordshire countryside, with numerous opportunities for walks. Paradise Wildlife Park is just 10 minutes’ drive away, and the stately home Knebworth House is a 15-minute drive away.

Ponsbourne Park offers fine dining at Seymour’s Restaurant, informal cuisine at The Bistro, and relaxed drinks in stylish surroundings at the hotel bar.

Guests at Ponsbourne Park have access to the mini-gym facilities, tennis courts and golf at the 9-hole pitch and putt.

Complimentary Wifi is available throughout the hotel.
Picture of De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park, Nr. Hertford, Herts at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a Wonderful Location!
What an absolute treat to find this hotel on Late Rooms for a one night stay. Staff were delightful and the room clean and comfy. Food was ok but nothing out of the ordinary.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From Barnoldswick, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Something different
We choose this hotel as it looked lovely and was giving a good discount. Everything was lovely but the rooms were a bit shabby. Staff lovely. It was great value at the discount price but I would of not been happy if I was paying full price because of the quality of the room.

Reviewed by
Annette De Thier

From Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
Christopher R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay, beautiful location
Really beautiful location, surrounded by fields. Had to get a taxi to the hotel from cuffley station which cost £8. Managed to get the room for a bargain £39 and was made up with the size of the room and bathroom. There was free tea and coffee available as well as free biscuits, fruit, sweets and porridge down the hall which was a lovely touch! Would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

Reviewed by
N Millard

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely "get away from it all" experience in wonderfully peaceful surroundings
Would have loved to have stayed a bit longer to further enjoy the peaceful surroundings, particularly sipping a pimms on the front lawn!

Reviewed by
Mandy Tickner

From Ashtead, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

amazing location
Lovely evening spent watching the sun set on the terrace

Reviewed by
Lucy B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
Hotel was in a beautiful rural setting and the trip out of London took me through some lovely Hertfordshire countryside ensuring I was fully elated upon arrival!
The reception staff were very professional and welcoming and quickly got me checked in.
The room was to a very good standard and was modern but comfortable, it was also close to the small gym which I made use of.
I ate in the bistro bar and the food was of a good standard and very reasonable pricing, £11.99 for a main of Moroccan lamb with couscous and. Salad. Only negative was that the waitresses (who were good otherwise) left dessert menus with myself and another party but never came back to ask if we wanted anything, they then started to clear up 20 mins later and when the other party tried to order they were told the kitchen shut at 10pm and the chef had gone home.
Overall a really enjoyable and relaxing stay and worth the extra 20 mins in the car away from the London area.

Reviewed by
Graham M

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunday Evening at Ponsbourne Park
Running late due to traffic but very understanding and helpful receptionist and extremely accommodating Bistro staff considering they closed at 9pm and we arrived at 8.50pm on a Sunday night. Clean and fresh room and bathroom all in all a very acceptable stay for an emergency Sunday stop over. Very nice grounds to walk around and beautiful approach.

Reviewed by
MaryAnn R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is a great hotel in a wonderful location! Very romatic and peaceful. All staff were very nice and helpful. The room was excellent (I gave 5 because it was not in the main building) and although I'm very sensitive to cleanliness, I found it super-clean. The food was also good. Tagliatelli were overcooked for my taste, but to be honest I don't think I'll ever find al dente pasta in the UK. We had a drink on the tables outside and it was so perfect....in front of you you have the view on the countryside and at your back this superbe residence....made me feel like in a movie, like The sound of music. Highly relaxing and romantic!

Reviewed by
chiara c

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Must be stayed in

Reviewed by
Leonie D

From Broxbourne, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next