Reviews - De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park


NEW PARK ROAD Newgate Street Village, Nr. Hertford, Herts, SG13 8QT

Price From 148.56 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (53)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • claire john

  • April 2014

Great staff very helpful

  • A Hancock

  • April 2014

A really beautiful location and excellent facilities.

  • Gary Harrison

  • April 2014

Very pleasant hotel set in large grounds. Excellent quality and size of room for what we paid.

We booked this hotel for a two night stay for only £39 a night.

The approach to the hotel is impressive as it is set in very large grounds and was presumably a stately home at some point. We stayed in a more recently built modern block which is also used as a daily conference centre. The room was large and clean with all the facilities you would expect. We opened the curtains in our ground floor room and saw a young deer grazing on the lawn only a few yards away . A good base to explore London as Cockfosters tube station is only a 20 minute drive away with good parking for £5 a day...and a day tube pass is under £9.00 off peak (after 9.30am). There is also a great Pub right at the end of the drive to the Hotel (5 min walk) which serves good food at reasonable prices. We will definitely be returning again if we can get a similar deal.

  • Craig L

  • March 2014

Conference and training accomodation

Very much a conference and training facility hotel, not luxury or grand as the picture may suggest, rooms a little tired and in need of new carpets and furniture , all the staff were however very helpful and friendly which made up for the room which was supposed to be superior , glad I didn't stay in a standard.

  • Ferhana Munshi

  • March 2014

Absolutely fantastic customer service

Well what can I say booked the room 3 hours before we got there.

When we got there the hotel was full. We were given a room which I was not happy with so I rang reception and within 1/2 hour I was shown 2 other rooms and changed room straight away. The customer service was second to none. The duty manager was fantastic a little lady with brown hair in a pony tail. She took me personally to the other rooms and showed me around even though they were extremely busy. The gentleman who came to Put an extra bed in my room was really chatty and spoke to us about local amenities. I have twins aged 2 and made us feel so at home with the friendliness of the staff. Bottles were happily topped up or filled for the kids. I will definitely stay there again. Just one complaint was no vege breakfast and I did think the breakfast was not to my standard. But overall an excellent friendly hotel which is exactly what you want with toddlers.

  • M Coates

  • January 2014


travelling on business with my wife we thought we had found a suitable place to stay and first impressions were that it was ok if a little tired , however we decided to eat at the bistro on site ..big mistake !.

ordered a rid eye steak. it must have been all of 5 ounces , horrible chips and almost none existant salad. the meal was replaced with some imrovement. the room was ok until we tried to sleep, there were noises from outside bins and the room was really hot and we couldnt adjust it . with the window partly open and the air conditioning on it was better but noisy. dont stay here unless the alternative is sleeping in your car !. the breakfast in contrast was very good . crazy world..

  • D Davies

  • January 2014

A last minute deal with great rewards :)

Can't fault anything.

Great all round experience, was a little disappointed initially on the area of the room, as above the what looked like an area where the bins were stored. But ... no noise, hassles or anything unpleasant.

  • Samantha G

  • December 2013

Surprised and impressed!

We had to move in here while having some emergency plumbing work in our house.

We got a family room with our two small children.. I was a little worried as have lived just down the road from the hotel for years but have not known anyone come here other than for a Tesco training course. The evening receptionist was so brilliant. She organised everything for us and was so kind and helpful to us and the kids. The room was massive and clean. The bathroom was spotless and again large enough for all of us. The breakfast wasn't great, but lunch and room service were fine. In a the food could be better. But really clean, spacious, good standard hotel in a beautiful setting. Will stay again if we have any other emergencies at home or have family coming to the area.

  • Jonathan Sumner

  • November 2013

De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park

Beautiful venue.

Very good customer service and helpful staff. Real pleasure to be treated that what after other recent experiences. Only let down by the quality of the room which was not particularly clean and looked rather tired.

  • David Smith

  • October 2013

Accommodation at De Vere Ponsbourne Park

I stayed here en route to Kent from the Midlands.

This is really an hotel for the business traveller, but the accommodation was quiet, comfortable, and clean. I met friends for lunch and the lunch was excellent. I would certainly recommend meals there. I like the old house at the centre of the complex and am sorry that it may be demolished.