No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
NEW PARK ROAD Newgate Street Village, Nr. Hertford, Herts, SG13 8QT
Ponsbourne Park is set in over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and offers stylish, elegant accommodation and surrounded by scenic Hertfordshire countryside, with numerous opportunities for walks. Paradise Wildlife Park is just 10 minutes’ drive away, and the stately home Knebworth House is a 15-minute drive away.

Ponsbourne Park offers fine dining at Seymour’s Restaurant, informal cuisine at The Bistro, and relaxed drinks in stylish surroundings at the hotel bar.

Guests at Ponsbourne Park have access to the mini-gym facilities, tennis courts and golf at the 9-hole pitch and putt.

Complimentary Wifi is available throughout the hotel.
Picture of De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park, Nr. Hertford, Herts at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
Hotel was in a beautiful rural setting and the trip out of London took me through some lovely Hertfordshire countryside ensuring I was fully elated upon arrival!
The reception staff were very professional and welcoming and quickly got me checked in.
The room was to a very good standard and was modern but comfortable, it was also close to the small gym which I made use of.
I ate in the bistro bar and the food was of a good standard and very reasonable pricing, £11.99 for a main of Moroccan lamb with couscous and. Salad. Only negative was that the waitresses (who were good otherwise) left dessert menus with myself and another party but never came back to ask if we wanted anything, they then started to clear up 20 mins later and when the other party tried to order they were told the kitchen shut at 10pm and the chef had gone home.
Overall a really enjoyable and relaxing stay and worth the extra 20 mins in the car away from the London area.

Reviewed by
Graham M

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunday Evening at Ponsbourne Park
Running late due to traffic but very understanding and helpful receptionist and extremely accommodating Bistro staff considering they closed at 9pm and we arrived at 8.50pm on a Sunday night. Clean and fresh room and bathroom all in all a very acceptable stay for an emergency Sunday stop over. Very nice grounds to walk around and beautiful approach.

Reviewed by
MaryAnn R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It is a great hotel in a wonderful location! Very romatic and peaceful. All staff were very nice and helpful. The room was excellent (I gave 5 because it was not in the main building) and although I'm very sensitive to cleanliness, I found it super-clean. The food was also good. Tagliatelli were overcooked for my taste, but to be honest I don't think I'll ever find al dente pasta in the UK. We had a drink on the tables outside and it was so perfect....in front of you you have the view on the countryside and at your back this superbe residence....made me feel like in a movie, like The sound of music. Highly relaxing and romantic!

Reviewed by
chiara c

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Must be stayed in

Reviewed by
Leonie D

From Broxbourne, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent venue
Well worth a stay at Ponsbourne Park,highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Ian E

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff we very friendly and helpful. Disabled facilities were good . Room was much nicer than I had expected. Thought it was just me who found tv blaring out at breakfast to be intrusive ,but other guests agreed,and staff kindly turned it off.
A relaxed atmosphere and unpretentious.

Reviewed by
Sara J

From Belper, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sunday night stay to see Cliff Richard at Hatfield House.
We arrived at 13.40 and we were told that our room was readily available even though we were early, the young lady on the desk clearly explained to us where everything in the hotel was situated and that wifi was also available, enjoyed a nice lunch in the bistro and then relaxed until we left for a concert at Hatfield House, tea/coffee facilities in the room were adequate and the bed was very comfortable, in the morning we enjoyed a very nice breakfast from the buffet selection where there was something to suit all tastes, a very nice hotel in a beautiful location, would definitely recommend or use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
L HUGHES

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A rather snooty receptionist, but a lovely room, fabulous bed.
Coffee at breakfast was served luke warm, by the cup. The restaurant was in a purpose built modern block (as was my room), and so there appeared to me to be no chance to enjoy the characterful old country house.
However, the room was absolutely wonderful, such a comfortable bed, and with beautiful toiletries.
Perfect for a business brief overnight stay, if you don't want to experience the old house.

Reviewed by
Sue M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'Great getaway place'
Staff in all areas were really helpful and friendly.
The grounds were beautiful and hotel very nice.
We had a delicious meal in the Bistro(not cheap,but we would rather pay the extra for quality).
We would certainly stay again and highly recommend to others,
Great hotel.

Reviewed by
MARGARET CONGDON

From Saltash, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow
I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. We got a bargain at £29 and then asked for an early check in. The receptionist could not do enough for us. The hotel itself is beautiful and the rooms are a superb standard. If you get the chance of a chep room jump at it!

Reviewed by
Clare H

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next