No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
NEW PARK ROAD Newgate Street Village, Nr. Hertford, Herts, SG13 8QT
Ponsbourne Park is set in over 200 acres of beautiful gardens and offers stylish, elegant accommodation and surrounded by scenic Hertfordshire countryside, with numerous opportunities for walks. Paradise Wildlife Park is just 10 minutes’ drive away, and the stately home Knebworth House is a 15-minute drive away.

Ponsbourne Park offers fine dining at Seymour’s Restaurant, informal cuisine at The Bistro, and relaxed drinks in stylish surroundings at the hotel bar.

Guests at Ponsbourne Park have access to the mini-gym facilities, tennis courts and golf at the 9-hole pitch and putt.

Complimentary Wifi is available throughout the hotel.
Picture of De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park, Nr. Hertford, Herts at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprised and impressed!
We had to move in here while having some emergency plumbing work in our house. We got a family room with our two small children.. I was a little worried as have lived just down the road from the hotel for years but have not known anyone come here other than for a Tesco training course. The evening receptionist was so brilliant. She organised everything for us and was so kind and helpful to us and the kids. The room was massive and clean. The bathroom was spotless and again large enough for all of us. The breakfast wasn't great, but lunch and room service were fine. In a the food could be better. But really clean, spacious, good standard hotel in a beautiful setting. Will stay again if we have any other emergencies at home or have family coming to the area.

Reviewed by
Samantha G

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

De Vere Venues Ponsbourne Park
Beautiful venue. Very good customer service and helpful staff. Real pleasure to be treated that what after other recent experiences! Only let down by the quality of the room which was not particularly clean and looked rather tired.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Sumner

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Let down by food
Lovely venue, especially if staying in main house.
Staff extremely friendly and welcoming, but food left a bit to be desired, curry was tasteless and breakfast a little minimalist.

Reviewed by
Andy M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ponsbourne park stay
hotel was nice and staff very helpful just that our room 105 was above the kitchen and we were woken up at 6am with kitchen and laundry noise each more and kept up till late in the night and the kithchen fan ran all night

Reviewed by
keith d

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were welcoming and friendly, I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
m waas

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation at De Vere Ponsbourne Park
I stayed here en route to Kent from the Midlands. This is really an hotel for the business traveller, but the accommodation was quiet, comfortable, and clean. I met friends for lunch and the lunch was excellent. I would certainly recommend meals there. I like the old house at the centre of the complex and am sorry that it may be demolished.

Reviewed by
David Smith

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adventurous breakfast buffet!
The breakfast chef is pushing the boundaries here! Gone is the urn or jugs of chilled juice, in is the tall sundae glass filled with fruit and juice. And magically, there were always a few spoons long enough to reach the grapes at the bottom of the glass. Seriously though, De Vere breakfast buffets are an attraction in their own right. If Ponsbourne Park is a recent addition to the De Vere fleet, it's a worthy one - as good a location as Theobalds Park and great value too.

Reviewed by
J Weaver

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality. Conference type accom.
Not a luxurious hotel but room was clean and tidy with good wifi. Bathroom a little dated. Friendly, helpful staff, would stay again!

Reviewed by
hazel k

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent budget break, great hotel in lovely location it met our needs completely.
Graet short break used it to visit relatives in the area. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would use again

Reviewed by
Florence Hallett

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great venue, great value

Reviewed by
D Cox

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next