No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Red Kite House

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Red Kite House Reading Road, Burghfield Common, RG7 3BH
Red Kite House is our beautifully renovated 300 year old coach house, in the heart of Burghfield Common where you will receive a warm friendly welcome.

All our rooms are recently renovated and are furnished to a high contemporary style with comfort in mind, all rooms are with ensuites. Our Superior rooms have King size beds with Standard rooms offering Double beds. We also have the versatility to add extra beds and travel cots for children in our family rooms. All rooms have a flat screen TV with freeview. Continental or Full English breakfast is included.

Well behaved pets are accepted at small addtional charge.

Payment can be made either:
Cheque on arrival
Cash on arrival
Credit and debit card payments are also accepted for most credit cards

We are conveniently located within
4 miles of AWE - direct bus route from Man's Hill to the Main Gate, Tadley 2 & 2A Berkshire buses
7 miles of Greenpark Business Park
2 miles Theale Business Park
10 minutes - Trunkwell Manor
5 minutes - Ufton court
5 minutes - Aldermaston Manor
5 minutes Wokefield Park
7 miles from Junction 10 M4, close to Madejski Stadium.

We are also conveniently situated for Heathrow airport, approximately 30 minutes.
The entrance to the drive is situated between Mans Hill turning and Paddocks End turning along the reading road, in the evening you will find blue lights to illuminate the entrance.

When coming from Basingstoke, it is often easier to follow the signs directly all the way to Tadley and turn right to follow the signs to Burghfield, Reading and Aldermaston and continue straight for 3 miles. I am told the GPS likes to take the route through Silchester, Mortimer and Little London (turning off the Tadley road although very pretty these windy country lanes are not lit at night.

Local Points of Interest
Madejski Stadium
Wellington Country Park
Lego Land
Newbury Retail Park
The Oracle Shopping centre
Beale Park
UK Wolf conservation trust, Beenham
Newbury race course
Windsor race course
Picture of Red Kite House, Burghfield Common at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We took pot luck as we were visiting local friends and it was delightful in every context. Spotlessly clean, good breakfast but thought the breakfast time limit of 9.15 on a Sunday morning a bit early - another hour would have been nice but totally accepted that during the week, business people will be off to work.

Reviewed by
Tony Johns

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Red Kites at Red Kite House
This lovely b&b looks like a posh hotel but is run on a friendly, informal basis. Everything was perfect - and we saw the red kites from our window several times. Brilliant!

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
When I arrived at Red Kite House I was greeted in a very friendly and warm manner. I was shown to my room and found it to be absolutely lovely. The room was very comfortable and modern, which if I am again in the location I would definitely return. The breakfast was excellent and very tasty!!.
All in all excellent accommodation, nice and polite people, a definite place to stop.

Reviewed by
Geoff Stockton

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to my colleagues staying in the area. Beautiful accommodation and service.

Reviewed by
C Powell

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be more user friendly
Recently refurbished to a good standard, bed very comfortable. Quality of full English breakfast freshly cooked & excellent. B&B is let down by draconian booking in process; check in after 5pm, which does not work for guests going on to functions finishing late. Chris was friendly and helpful when rang her, but it didn't feel very welcoming arriving to a locked establishment. And check out is 10am, even on weekends, with a note in information pack that one-nighters must settle in cash.

ManagementResponse

Glad to hear that you liked the comfortable bed and the refurbishments that we have made. We are also glad that you enjoyed the complimentary Full English breakfast. Sorry to hear that you feel our check in process is draconian. However we are only a family run B&B and we need time to prepare all the rooms, shop for supplies and maintain the property therefore it is not feasible to always have extended check in times. We do however state clearly on the booking confirmation that check in is from 17:00 and check out by 11:00 and that if you wish to check-in outside of the stated times all you need to do is contact us. We also offer a free cancellation so that if anything does not meet your needs, you are free to cancel the booking up to the day prior to your arrival at no cost. I understand that you took advantage of this option and arrived early afternoon to attend a local function. Unfortunately at the time we were out shopping for breakfast supplies. However, arrangements were in place to allow you to gain access to your room. Again, I can only apologise there was no one here to let you in but we are not a hotel and don't have staff on duty 24 hours. I understand your frustration with finding a table at breakfast, but we have proven so popular we have this week had to purchase additional tables and chairs which we hope will alleviate some of the problems. We are also in the process of reviewing the guest information books in each of the rooms. Part of this is to update the checkout times to match the booking policy and also remove the note that one night stays must be paid in cash. This was an option we trialled when we took the property on in April, this has since been relaxed following the introduction of the credit card terminal. This will be removed from the Guest Information books. We thank you for your comments and have already been proactive with improvements to both the dining room and Guest Information books. I do hope that you will consider coming back to Red Kite House in the future to see the improvements we have made. Please feel free to email us directly with any comments or suggestions as we can only improve if our customers tell us what we are doing well or not so well.

Reviewed by
Hilary P

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home
Had a great overnight stay at the red kite, the room was lovely and the breakfast was yummy. The staff were very friendly like you had always known them x

Reviewed by
F Daly

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Overnite Stay
Very enjoyable stopover Clean & Comfy with a first class breakfast. Great to get a double room as a single traveler

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent accommodation , couldn't fault it in any way
First class

Reviewed by
Karl Shepherd

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little place
This place is always clean and tidy and the rooms are comfortable.

Reviewed by
H Langton

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good, nice big room, great breakfast - just a shame that the wifi wasn't available.

Reviewed by
Kieron M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next