No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kingfisher Barn

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
KINGFISHER BARN, , ABINGDON, OX14 3NN
The Kingfisher Barn is a cottage style bed and breakfast, our rooms are in a beautiful courtyard setting, we offer complimentary wi-fi and tea and coffee making facilities. All of our rooms have a fridge and microwave and all have en suite shower/ bathrooms. All our bed and breakfast rooms can be made as twin/single/ doubles or triple family room (children under). We have a lovely breakfast cabin where you can enjoy a full English/continental of your choice at the time you request or you may wish to have breakfast delivered to your room.
The Kingfisher Barn is in a quiet and peaceful countryside setting, however we are only 10 minutes walk from town centre of Abingdon and 15 minutes drive from Oxford, and 10 minutes from the A34 which is connected to the M40 London and the M40 north bound.there is ample free parking.
We also have an indoor swimming pool you can book out for your private use or enjoy a early bird swim which is complimentary with your stay.
we also accept pets at a extra charge
We look forward to welcoming you at The Kingfisher Barn.
Picture of Kingfisher Barn, ABINGDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kingfisher Barn Abingdon The Nest
This accomodation was beautiful. The Nest was in the upper part of the converted barn. Full of long
oak beams and arched beams in ceiling loft. The view through the windows over the fields was just
quite stunning. The staff were delightful, very helpful and informative about everything.We had no hot
water the first day but this was rectified very well. Breakfast was in the breakfast cabin. Very good.
Rhonda (Ronnie) was very full of fun and very efficient.The Kingfisher Barn has lovely walks to the town and the weir and river. Abingdon is the most beautiful town with lots of delightfully historic sites.
We had a lovely weekend. We were even visited by a coaltit , and managed to waft it out through
the windows. ( Also a few resident spiders,) Catering equipment was also very plentiful for people
using facilities. Many thanks to all the staff there.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Brown

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely country setting with ability to breakfast in the garden on a sunny morning.

Reviewed by
Michael Neilan

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful
Really lovely place to stay-very calming!

Reviewed by
EMMA R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great visit
Very reasonable price, ten minutes walk from the centre of Abingdon - excellent customer service, good, clean room - breakfast cooked fresh as we sat in the breakfast barn. Really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
alan h

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

peaceful and relaxing
My wife and I had a real peaceful stay in the very beautiful surroundings and found the room really
nice. Clean and tidy disabled friendly.
Plus the staff were very helpful and nothing was a problem.
We highly recommend you enjoy stay as much as we did.
And the breakfast was nice too.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and quiet
I'd forgotten to book a room at the local Premier Inn where the rest of my car club were staying and managed to get this place at short notice. I'm glad I did now as the setting was great and so peaceful yet only a short 'ish' walk down the lane to the town centre. Although pricier, I'd use it again in preference to the characterless Premier Inn the other side of town.

Reviewed by
Tom H

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What A Gem !!
Very quaint and very quiet ! Lovely surroundings !!

Reviewed by
Paul D

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay!
If you're wanting a one night stop within walking distance of Abingdon town centre in a peacful setting with a great breakfast this is it! The rooms are clean and comfortable, just what you need for a good nights sleep.

Reviewed by
Craig G

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will stay elsewhere next time
The beds (twins) were both terrible - the linens were bad - the room had a terrible odor, which was masked by air freshener and laundry fragrance, the 2 chairs at the table were so low to the floor that they were very uncomfortable and difficult to use as a desk/sitting area. Also the only alternative and at that the area was so cramped that getting into the room or the bathroom while a chair was occupied was difficult. There was absolutely no comfort in the room and the smell was overwhelmingly awful. At the front desk I was told that the “laundry detergent added a fresh, clean smell” – Not by any standard!

Reviewed by
G Morrison

From USA
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem! Definitely recommend! Ask to stay in a lodge! Awesome!

Reviewed by
W Smith

From Beverley, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next