No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kingfisher Barn

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
KINGFISHER BARN, , ABINGDON, OX14 3NN
The Kingfisher Barn is a cottage style bed and breakfast, our rooms are in a beautiful courtyard setting, we offer complimentary wi-fi and tea and coffee making facilities. All of our rooms have a fridge and microwave and all have en suite shower/ bathrooms. All our bed and breakfast rooms can be made as twin/single/ doubles or triple family room (children under). We have a lovely breakfast cabin where you can enjoy a full English/continental of your choice at the time you request or you may wish to have breakfast delivered to your room.
The Kingfisher Barn is in a quiet and peaceful countryside setting, however we are only 10 minutes walk from town centre of Abingdon and 15 minutes drive from Oxford, and 10 minutes from the A34 which is connected to the M40 London and the M40 north bound.there is ample free parking.
We also have an indoor swimming pool you can book out for your private use or enjoy a early bird swim which is complimentary with your stay.
we also accept pets at a extra charge
We look forward to welcoming you at The Kingfisher Barn.
Picture of Kingfisher Barn, ABINGDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem! Definitely recommend! Ask to stay in a lodge! Awesome!

Reviewed by
W Smith

From Beverley, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Very good, quiet location

Reviewed by
J Gillies

From Gainsborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh dear
Great setting but the paper thin walls meant I could hear everything my neighbour did in the bathroom...... The cleaner clearly forgot to look up and so there were many spiders webs and some friendly spiders. The bathroom needed some maintenance and the large amounts of mould removing. I was very disappointed

Reviewed by
James T

From Montreux, Switzerland
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast outside and private swimming!
We had a lovely time at Kingfisher Barn. The location is perfect - very quiet but 15 minutes walk into Abingdon. The room had a outside area which was lovely - we had breakfast outside every day. The swimming pool was smallish but lovely to have all to ourselves.

Reviewed by
V Reddick

From Walthamstow, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at Kingfisher Barns
A well established place, very welcoming and helpful staff, accurate brochure and PR. We came to stay whilst visiting family in Abingdon and loved the place and the atmosphere, wonderful honeysuckle and roses in the courtyard garden. We appreciated the quiet and tranquility of our own outside sitting area, and having breakfast served to us outside.
And we especially liked the colony of bumble bees (non-stinging) who live in the wall, and the wild flower-filled hay meadows along the river bank where we walked with the dog. An easy walk to a good real ale pub by the Thames.
We felt refreshed and relaxed after only one night!

Reviewed by
Heather Bacon

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abingdon Kingfisher Barn June 2013
A very friendly and helpful personal welcome - really did make it a very pleasant experience, and I would recommend it to anyone as a relaxing and peaceful stay. Beautiful location near Abingdon surrounded by countryside. The fridge in the room was a bit noisy so I unplugged that!

Reviewed by
Bob Crawford

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We needed pet friendly accomodation near the centre of Abingdon for a one night stay
Our dog was made very welcome with his own blanket and dinner/drink bowls.
The staff were all very welcoming and friendly and the situation for dog walking is excellent.
The rooms are basic but are nice and clean.
We have now stayed twice and would stay again if we need accomodation in the area.

Reviewed by
J Allerton

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs updating
A barn conversion which feels like it awaits conversion! A lovely courtyard setting & well maintained externally. However, the room was old fashioned & frugal with crap toiletries & un comfy cheap beds. Carpets are worn & the room need a serious facelift to bring up to date. I stay all over the country on business & the owners need to realise that this is not what the market wants!
Look at the completion & benchmark

Reviewed by
Peter D

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did the Job
Negatives - room small, fridge buzzing in room at night (altho small price to pay for the convenience of a fridge)and tv reception a little fuzzy.
Positives - quiet and peaceful location, comfy bed, staff very friendly

Reviewed by
D M

From , England
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Many Good Points
Our accommodation was a decent size and was warm, including the bathroom, which was much appreciated on an extremely cold night. The TV worked and there was access to wi-fi. In better weather the site itself would be very pleasant to sit in and the surroundings would obviously be lovely for walks. It really was only a 10 minute walk to the town centre, as advertised on the accommodation's website, with very easy access to shops/pubs/restaurants etc. Good choices for breakfast (lovely coffee) which was delivered to the room at the specified time, although no veggie sausages. Less great was the two twin beds pushed together to make a double. This meant access to sockets was restricted because the furniture was moved. Also the quilt didn't cover the beds properly as it wasn't wide enough.

Reviewed by
Anna H

From England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next