No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Castle Gate Guest House

3Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
23 BONDGATE WITHOUT , ALNWICK, NE66 1PR
Castlegate guest house is a late Victorian town house built in within the centre of Alnwick, Northumberland. All the town centre shops, restaurants, attractions and amenities are all within walk

Alnwick is filled with history with it's Alnwick Castle dominating the landscape. We are also home to the magnificent Alnwick Gardens Both just 300 yards away.

We cater for all types of visitors, including families, children and business guests. FREE WIFI
Picture of Castle Gate Guest House, ALNWICK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winter break in Alnwick
I was very impressed by the room which was spacious and modern. Tracy was really welcoming and recommended some great places to eat/drink. I liked having a key to access the guest house because it gave more freedom to come and go. The breakfast was lovely in a nice room with a lot of breakfast options. The location was true to the advert, being very central and near all the tourist attractions (castle, gardens). I would recommend this guest house to a friend and we would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Rebecca Marie B

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Autumn Break
Ready for a small autumn break we were met by our host at the appointed time to a very warm welcome. We were showed to our room which was a good size, warm & smart in appearance. Following a fantastic nights sleep we were given a fantastic breakfast which put us in good stead for a day out in the windy wilds. Very well located for local ammenities & Barter Books. We will stay here again. Well recommended :)

Reviewed by
M Houston

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single female traveller
I booked the accomodation as delivering my son to nearby RAF station and needed somewhere to stay overnight. The guest house is central in Alnwick, only problem was parking, I arrived late and had to park the car further along the street but it was ok. My room was fine for the purpose I needed, clean, comfortable and I felt very safe. Breakfast next day appeared to tick all the food boxes, I personally don't eat a cooked breakfast but there was toast and plenty of coffee and very friendly staff. Will stay at Castle Guest House again.

Reviewed by
Janet J

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room. Very friendly staff. Food top drawer.

Reviewed by
vivian m

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long weekend in Northumberland
Gate House was the only accommodation available at the price we wanted to pay. We were not expecting 5* facilities but what we got was more than adequate. Clean bed, boutique looking room, adequate en-suite, good breakfast. Tracy was very helpful. Alnwick was centrally located for our needs and we had a great weekend. Best experience in Alnwick for a rainy day - Barter Books.

Reviewed by
Maria B

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very warm welcome
I stayed at Castle Gate Guest House for four nights and was very impressed with the service and warm welcome. The room was very clean and the breakfast was excellent - a good choice and well cooked. The owners were very attentive. I had a problem with my car and not only did they tell me where to go to have it rectified, they actually made an appointment. That is good service. I will certainly return

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant Break !
We had a lovely time and found the proprietor very friendly. It was an ideal location and we would stay there again. Our room was modern, bright and clean and we felt we had really good value for money.

Reviewed by
suzanne smith

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travelling with children age 10 and 6 years can be challenging, we were made very welcome here. Excellent value for money, lovely breakfast and bright, clean, comfortable room. Castle Gate is 5 min walk, with children, to Alnwick Castle, shops and restaurants, and Barter Books. Being on the main road some traffic noise is to be expected at busy periods but must be weighed up against the convenient location. I would recommend this accommodation and will definitely consider first for a return visit to Alnwick.

Reviewed by
J Ashton

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my wife and I found it very satisfactory both meals and staff

Reviewed by
william robinson

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean room with good breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Ioppolo

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next