Euro Hostel Newcastle

4

17, Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 6UQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (85)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Debbie B

  • December 2013

Good value for money, let down by wi-fi

Convenient quiet location.

Stayed 5 nights. No heating first 3 days, staff quickly provided fan heaters and extra quilt. Free wi-fi bounces you out after ten mins and you have to log in again, irritating. I had specifically phoned and asked about wi-fi as I need it for work, was told yes available but they didn't tell me the ten minute thing. Also wi-fi went down one evening and still not available the next morning. Good continental breakfast in a nice cafe area with decent music. Good shower. Spacious room. Pay £10 deposit for TV remote. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Won't stay again as I need reliable wi-fi access for much longer than 10 mins at a time, but otherwise it is great value for money.

  • Wakil Ahmed

  • November 2013

No heating

When I arrived i paid n then went to my room only to realise that heating is not working.

When went to speak to reception, been told that heating is not working for last two days n they can't do anything apart from having an extra quilt... I went out to look for another hotel at 12:30 am found one and then return to request my money back which was acknowledged. Horrible experience very bad mangement and won't recommend this place to any one.

  • J Moyes

  • November 2013

One night enough

The room was basic, but we were expecting that.

The toilet/shower/wash basin was a fibre glass cubicle fitted in one corner. Passable in size, but basic. Seemed to have a bit of a smell (maybe the fibre glass itself). The heating wasn't working properly, so a little cold. The Warehouse was where the food and drink was found. Snack food was good and continental breakfast good. Thought the cleanliness was only average.

  • debra s

  • November 2013

couldn't fault this accommodation

Welcoming and helpful staff, couldn't fault them they were lovely, my room was a good size very comfortable and clean.

Food was good value for money, had a lovely stay and would definitely come back and stay again. :)

  • Jennifer A

  • November 2013

Euro Hostel, Newcastle

Easy to find, although I wouldn't have gone the way instructed.

Reception good, Breakfast was served in the attached pub (The Warehouse) which also provided OK good value pub meals in the evenings up to 11p.m. Cool chill out room and free Wi-Fi. The kitchen was well equipped but had odd opening hours. Reception were happy to open up for but that is inconvenient for both parties. No notice displayed giving opening hours, I can't wait until 10.00 for my first cup of tea and when I went to put milk in the fridge one evening I found the kitchen locked earlier than it should have been. There was some noise from the corridors and rooms with people coming and going which is generally to be expected in hostel accommodation - and after all it is Newcastle. Every thing was fine until I got to the room - it was windowless and was furnished with a set of bunk beds, a TV and a small clothes hanging unit - no where to sit or put a laptop even though Wi-Fi was available in the rooms, no locker. The room was very hot and stuffy but there was no temperature control or air conditioning (sorry, there was a fan on the floor). There was only a fire evacuation plan displayed, no written instructions and certainly nothing easy to read in the panic of a fire alarm going off. There were positives, the en-suite was clean and pleasant, the bed was comfortable and I could work the TV (even without instructions)

My disappointment with the room was exacebated by the fact that Late Rooms were telling me I was saving £90 per night on a single room. Now, I am savvy enough to know that you don't get single rooms in hostels at £120 per night but I had I expected a cut above. - this room was the worst equipped I have ever stayed in bar one at Sydney airport. I paid through Late Rooms £29.00 - the walk-in rate is £29.00 so in fact I made no savings. Plus, had I walked in I would have gone for a bed in a shared room at £16.90 .

  • kev h

  • October 2013

euro hostel newcastle

we enjoyed our stay at eurohostel .

the room was ideal for our stay , and the staff were very helpful and friendly. i would recommend euro hostel to anyone wishing to take a short break in Newcastle.

  • Richard H

  • October 2013

Well located for city centre, quite modern and good value.

Stayed for one night, rooms are basic and modern, but were great for my short stay.

  • munawar lilani

  • October 2013

The best deal

A secret want to share with you all - Want value for money -- Simply visit www.laterooms.com :-)

  • STEPHEN P

  • October 2013

If you want somewhere to sleep, with a nice bar, at a cheap price, this is the place in Newcastle.

I was a bit shocked at first at the room, it did not even have a chair.

However, when you consider the cost and its central location I had no complaints. Staff were very helpful and the bar/dining area is great. Really cool place.

  • Stephen G

  • September 2013

one night stay

cheap and basic - but clean