No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Euro Hostel Newcastle

4Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
17, Carliol Square , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 6UQ
Now you can "budget stay - your way" at Euro Hostel Newcastle!

With our ideal City Centre location and brilliant design Euro Hostel Newcastle has everything you need to stay and enjoy our fabulous city in a style to suit your accommodation budget... no matter what that is. With a massive range of room types and rates to suit everyone, Euro Hostel is 100% confident that you will not only find what you're looking for, but you'll agree that we're the best value in Newcastle.

Located in the heart of the City Centre we're not only close to the motorway and all major transport links including the Metro but we're a short walk from the shopping centre, Newcastle and Northumbria Universities, music and sports venues including St James' Park, art galleries, museums and theatres (we're a 2 minute walk from the Theatre Royal on the world famous Grey Street), the Quayside and Central Station (ideal for those visiting Hadrian's Wall). We're also within a short walk of any of the city's famous nightlife destinations.

Breakfast is available from £4.00 if you pre-book or £5.00 on the day.

You'll get speedy, FREE WiFi access throughout the hostel (including our bedrooms), a guest kitchen area, free guest laundry facilities, Internet terminals, secure luggage storage, a meeting room with phone and internet access and a 'chill-out' room with an Xbox for little kids and big kids alike. We also offer secure motorbike or bicycle storage free of charge. It's perfect for everyone from solo travellers and couples to business travellers, families and large groups.

Our fantastic bar, The Ware Rooms, has established itself as the prime spot to enjoy drinks with friends, a night out with great tunes and cocktail specials as well as offering special offers and meal deals. We also show live sport on our big screen.

Picture of Euro Hostel Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the price and location, very good.
As an establishment, it is hard to fault this place.. they do their best. The place is very clean, well run and well maintained and is in a superb location. The price cannot be questioned as other than good value.
Even their weak spot..- other customers- they try very hard to deal with.
If you look at the details, potential 'problem groups' such as stag/hen groups need to speak with them before the booking is accepted, and they have a policy of fines(used to compensate other guest victims) for bad behavior.
This place is not perfect.. It has to be admitted the rooms are small and basic, and some more soundproofing would help, but even my companion, who is extremely sensitive to noise disturbance was 'OK' for two nights.
I would strongly recommend this establishment as a good value, simple place to stay. Just bear in mind it is a HOSTEL, not a high star hotel, and you should be very happy.

Reviewed by
Ray M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay to complete exams
Very basic, but fairly clean, small room with two bunk beds, one of them being a double, and a bathroom reminiscent of the ferry from Newcastle to Amsterdam - I quite liked it, adequate for just me. Felt quite safe overall being on my own. I asked for a room in a quiet location with a window, and I got the window, and only a small amount of noise through other guests slamming doors between 12-2am on two of the three nights. I was informed where breakfast would be, but was not told about the communal kitchen and laundry room on the level below (I overheard this whilst at reception the next day). Reception staff were happy to call a taxi for me, but when my friend arrived at the hotel to collect me they would not come up to my room to let me know, they simply said "we don't do that", and as there was no phone in the room and my friend had forgotten his, he ended up having to beep his horn in the hope I would look out of my window! You can only enter the lift via a keycard and I'm not sure if there were actually any stairs - I could not find any. I don't like using lifts on my own, so a lack of stairs was a definite down point for me. Good location. FYEO opposite was not a problem - no music or noise heard at all. Breakfast options were toast, cereal, apple and mini muffin. There was also one tea or coffee option and orange juice. Overall good value for money, quite a young clientele overall who made use of the TV room with bean bags. Would not suggest this hotel for a couple who want a romantic weekend away however :-) but for groups of friends I think it's ideal.

Reviewed by
R Bewick

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap hotel
Nice customer service breakfast rubbish cereal and toast hotel not worth the the money for single room all rooms dirty very noisy hotel banging doors al the time internet does not work in all rooms bbc channel s dont work would not stay here again

Reviewed by
jhon f

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding value for money, very well looked after and superb premises.
I booked euro hostel Newcastle through late rooms as I found it cheaper than the hotel I'd oringally booked and I must say it was the right choice. The premises is well looked after very modern. The room was above average little LCD tele shower was superb no trouble with the hot water what so ever as I have found in previous hotels, washing,drying and ironing facilities downstairs is handy. All round pleasurable stay would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
k grindrod

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

"Twin" Room at Eurocastle Hotel
I booked a twin room for 2 of us (women friends) more than 2 weeks beforehand on LateRooms. On arriving, we were surprised and rather amused when we got to the room with 3 towering bunk beds. It didn't leave much space free to sit and chat! It was clean enough and sported a decent bathroom. But to the number of beds, there was no explanation. Are all the rooms like this? Was anyone going to come in the middle of the night to occupy the other beds? Was the room for women only? As it was only for a night we weren't going to worry about it but it would have been good to know if they also actually had a room more suitable for 2 people.
The breakfast was a bit disappointing as if you wanted eggs or similar you have to pay extra.

Reviewed by
Rachel H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value for money
Went to newcastle for an overnight stay with two friends. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly face, the reception staff, who made us feel welcome & was very helpful. Once we checked in we got to our room which was pretty tight & at first we didn't know how we would cope with such little moving space but the room was actually ample once we plugged our straighteners into the plug socket across the hallway :) this was because the plug sockets were nowhere near the only mirror we had, other than the bathroom but we improvised! I would recommend for groups of girls to take a spare large mirror & an extension lead. I would suggest that hotel maybe reduce the number of beds squeezed into a room, after all we booked a room for three but had beds for five. Overall though, the hotel was definitely fantastic value for money & great for a short stay. Thanks for everything euro hostel!! x

Reviewed by
K Pearce

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

21st Weekend
Location - great location, 5 minute walk from both Quayside and main city centre with plenty of restaurants, bars, clubs and shops nearby.
Customer Service - at times the staff seemed a bit short-tempered and reluctant to help. This was particularly noticeable at breakfast time when the area would frequently run out of clean glasses and cutlery, which is a minor complaint in itself. On a positive, the night time security staff were very friendly and let you go about your business in peace.
The Room - pleasantly surprised, nice clean room and with the golf on, TV was a big help. Only complaint is the bathroom where after using the shower it is impossible to keep the rest of the floor dry and also I heard talk that some of the rooms don't have windows, which was not mentioned prior to arrival. We got lucky, but I'm guessing some people wouldn't have been best pleased on arrival.
The Food - can't say too much, we only had the continental breakfast. The quality of the breakfast was good, and in a nice relaxed environment. Only complaints are that juice frequently ran out and I wasn't a huge fan of any stranger dipping their hand into the communal loaf of bread, but on the other hand it was good to be able to help yourself to as much as you like!
Value for money - Excellent value for money. We paid £50 each for a 2 night stay in the middle of July, and although I have listed some minor complaints, we enjoyed staying in the hotel. My only complaint about value for money is that after returning home late one night craving the munchies, I had to pay 90p from the vending machine for a pack of Chewits!

Reviewed by
Calum H

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Cheap & v gd location. They've also a bike lock up.

Reviewed by
N Gresham

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
Nice and good stay

Reviewed by
Issa S

From Middlesbrough , UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for Groups
3 friends and I stayed at the Euro Hostel for a weekend at the beginning of July and were super impressed - we sometimes struggle to get a room together when we go away so this was perfect - we had a large room with bunkbeds but it had loads of floor space and a private bathroom - really clean and the staff were great. the Bar is open to late and serves food - great for coming back after a night out! Location was also great - 5 minute walk into town or around £3 in a taxi. the only comment we would have is lack of plug sockets. only two for a room of 4 was a bit of a task so bring an adator with you - overall fantastic stay and i'd 100% recommend this for the type of weekend we wanted! x

Reviewed by
HANNAH FOX

From Eye, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next