Reviews - Euro Hostel Newcastle


17, Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 6UQ

Price From 75.65 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (62)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Papantoniou

  • February 2014

Overall good for a cheap comfortable night stay


  • M Healy

  • February 2014

The staff were brilliant, very accomodating and friendly.

I rang ahead to request a quite room as I was going for an interview and they put me in the quietest one without any hassle. I had two brilliant nights sleep without any disruption. They answered all my questions and the services were brilliant except for the wifi, which obviously the staff cannot control.

  • Sam C

  • February 2014

Good budget option

Good value private room - lots of space, private wc/shower pod, and plenty of clean sheets and towels.

The staff are very helpful, but some of the guests a little noisy. It is a hostel designed for groups of friends. Features a good bar/ breakfast room. The cooked breakfast is good value, albeit a little tired looking. I stayed twice and on both occasions the scrambled egg was dry and the beans are bit stewed. It's buffet style so you can always opt out. Good bacon!

  • Colin A

  • January 2014

Best Discounted room (I don't think so!

I chose this city centre hostel as free wi fi and a hugely discount rate of £25 (saving £75 plus) I don't think...

On check in it clearly stated £29. for a single room and to be fair that is about what it is worth if internet had been working (which it wasn't for my stay)

Very poor customer service as was told this after I checked in and that I could use the lobby computer at an additional cost.

  • Paula M

  • January 2014

Ok But I wasn't a valued customer!

Ok so it was only one night and it was meant to be for 4 people but two never turned up.

The hostel is clean, and from the lobby you can't tell it's a hostel at all as it looks more like a hotel. The room which was on the first floor was as expected, clean tidy and included two bunk beds with one having a dbl on the bottom. There was a full length mirror, tv and table, with ample secured storage under the beds. The sheets were good quality and clean, and the "Ensuite" was a shower/toilet/sink combination as you'd find in a caravan, that was neatly situated in the corner of the room. Fab. :)

My negatives are this: There was no control over noisy guests that felt the need to slam doors and pound up/down the corridor and shout ineligible English until 4am. Ok it's new years but still, the noise til that hour was ridiculous.

Breakfast left a lot to be desired seeing as we were told it was on until 11, but when we arrived at 9:55am it was finished (apparently it's 10 at new year!). The coffee was disgusting, the girl who does breakfast was rather rude, taking out breakfast tickets and saying there's an apple and there's the coffee... that was the most expensive apple/coffee combination yet and they were awful. Other than the breakfast fiasco, and rude manners of the bar girl. then yeah it's ok but I won't be rushing back any time this year!

  • gary w

  • December 2013

perfect for what we wanted

Great location.clean room and helpful staff will stay there again

  • Derek NICHOLS

  • December 2013

Euro Hostel Newcastle-Upon-Tyne - Great experience

Stayed at the Euro Hostel with 2 other lads, for a three night stay.

We were all very pleasantly surprised. It was cheap and clean and the staff all very welcoming and helpful - receptionist x4, catering staff, and the cleaner( When our electric key needed to be rebooted. The food was good - the continental breakfast option giving yoghurt, ham and cheese options - not simply the usual croissant. We have stayed in really bad B + B's in the past, for very much more money. We will definitely be back. Thanks very much!!

  • G Seward

  • December 2013

Euro Hostel

Great location for going out as we were there for a 21st birthday.

Rooms were clean and had fresh towels etc. Taxis were so cheap to and from town and a shopping centre just up the road. Beds we're comfy with enough pillows for comfort. Only downside was the food in the bar area, we had gone off potato wedges and when we told them no one done anything and didn't seem to care. Excellent value for money though for people our age wanting to try out Newcastle.

  • Fern Fraser

  • December 2013

  • Debbie B

  • December 2013

Good value for money, let down by wi-fi

Convenient quiet location.

Stayed 5 nights. No heating first 3 days, staff quickly provided fan heaters and extra quilt. Free wi-fi bounces you out after ten mins and you have to log in again, irritating. I had specifically phoned and asked about wi-fi as I need it for work, was told yes available but they didn't tell me the ten minute thing. Also wi-fi went down one evening and still not available the next morning. Good continental breakfast in a nice cafe area with decent music. Good shower. Spacious room. Pay £10 deposit for TV remote. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Won't stay again as I need reliable wi-fi access for much longer than 10 mins at a time, but otherwise it is great value for money.