Reviews - Euro Hostel Newcastle


17, Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 6UQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (66)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • P Denne

  • April 2014

Amazing value, great place to get your head down.

Couldnt complain about the price, was on a stag and me and 3 of my fellow stags were staying here, so we weren't in the room much, but the value was completely unbeatable.

Only bad thing I would say about this place, is that the breakfast I had one morning wasn't very nice, it just tasted a bit cheap and fake.

  • Brian H

  • April 2014

Good value if sleep isn't a priority!

It is what it is, but don't stay here if you expect a night's sleep.

Every spring in the mattress could be felt (had to take a duvet off another bed to sleep on). Then at 3am on a Tuesday morning woken by rowdy group of lads in the corridor who remained rowdy for an hour. Then woken again at 5am by bins being taken out. As somewhere to crash after a night on the town with mates - fine. As a cheap place to rest after a long day at work - find somewhere else.

  • Tatiana N

  • April 2014

I stayed in a family room which was designated for single occupancy.

It was a good value for money. The room was clean. It has a toilet and a shower. The breakfast was quite decent and not expensive.

  • Rebecca M

  • March 2014

Good, easy and straight forward

Very cheap and straight forward.

In the city centre so will be ideal for tourists who don't know the city that well. Once checked in, there is no time limit to be back so ideal for night goers, as well as city breakers. Clean, affordable and easy.

  • I Wise

  • March 2014

Better than expected

Wasn't sure quite what to expect, being a hostel, but in general the customer service and the room were quite reasonable for the low price paid.

Also not too noisy and a good central location. Certainly, I would have been very unhappy to pay much more and as others have said, laterooms seems to display a ridiculously inflated "original price". Some small irritations, like no power socket near the desk and no shower curtain within the small toilet.

  • G Hughes

  • March 2014

Absolutely basic but fine. Surprisingly nice bar and food

Staff were really friendly, polite and helpful.

Room was very basic and wifi was more complicated than in needed to be. Was quite surprised (pleasantly) by food offer in bar downstairs. Was reasonably easy to find from Central station.

  • P Walton

  • March 2014

Hostel Was Great but....

The hostel was fantastic staff were lovely the ware rooms was brilliant and great food and great rooms.

However laterooms claimed I was saving over £100 which wasn't the case I paid £25 for a room and surprise surprise that was the actual price of my room not over 100 like this website misleaded me to believe

  • A Papantoniou

  • February 2014

Overall good for a cheap comfortable night stay


  • M Healy

  • February 2014

The staff were brilliant, very accomodating and friendly.

I rang ahead to request a quite room as I was going for an interview and they put me in the quietest one without any hassle. I had two brilliant nights sleep without any disruption. They answered all my questions and the services were brilliant except for the wifi, which obviously the staff cannot control.

  • Sam C

  • February 2014

Good budget option

Good value private room - lots of space, private wc/shower pod, and plenty of clean sheets and towels.

The staff are very helpful, but some of the guests a little noisy. It is a hostel designed for groups of friends. Features a good bar/ breakfast room. The cooked breakfast is good value, albeit a little tired looking. I stayed twice and on both occasions the scrambled egg was dry and the beans are bit stewed. It's buffet style so you can always opt out. Good bacon!