No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Euro Hostel Newcastle

4Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
17, Carliol Square , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 6UQ
Now you can "budget stay - your way" at Euro Hostel Newcastle!

With our ideal City Centre location and brilliant design Euro Hostel Newcastle has everything you need to stay and enjoy our fabulous city in a style to suit your accommodation budget... no matter what that is. With a massive range of room types and rates to suit everyone, Euro Hostel is 100% confident that you will not only find what you're looking for, but you'll agree that we're the best value in Newcastle.

Located in the heart of the City Centre we're not only close to the motorway and all major transport links including the Metro but we're a short walk from the shopping centre, Newcastle and Northumbria Universities, music and sports venues including St James' Park, art galleries, museums and theatres (we're a 2 minute walk from the Theatre Royal on the world famous Grey Street), the Quayside and Central Station (ideal for those visiting Hadrian's Wall). We're also within a short walk of any of the city's famous nightlife destinations.

Breakfast is available from £4.00 if you pre-book or £5.00 on the day.

You'll get speedy, FREE WiFi access throughout the hostel (including our bedrooms), a guest kitchen area, free guest laundry facilities, Internet terminals, secure luggage storage, a meeting room with phone and internet access and a 'chill-out' room with an Xbox for little kids and big kids alike. We also offer secure motorbike or bicycle storage free of charge. It's perfect for everyone from solo travellers and couples to business travellers, families and large groups.

Our fantastic bar, The Ware Rooms, has established itself as the prime spot to enjoy drinks with friends, a night out with great tunes and cocktail specials as well as offering special offers and meal deals. We also show live sport on our big screen.

Picture of Euro Hostel Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Euro Hostel Newcastle-Upon-Tyne - Great experience
Stayed at the Euro Hostel with 2 other lads, for a three night stay. We were all very pleasantly surprised. It was cheap and clean and the staff all very welcoming and helpful - receptionist x4, catering staff, and the cleaner( When our electric key needed to be rebooted. The food was good - the continental breakfast option giving yoghurt, ham and cheese options - not simply the usual croissant. We have stayed in really bad B + B's in the past, for very much more money. We will definitely be back! Thanks very much!!

Reviewed by
Derek NICHOLS

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
Fern Fraser

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No heating
When I arrived i paid n then went to my room only to realise that heating is not working. When went to speak to reception, been told that heating is not working for last two days n they can't do anything apart from having an extra quilt... I went out to look for another hotel at 12:30 am found one and then return to request my money back which was acknowledged. Horrible experience very bad mangement and won't recommend this place to any one.

Reviewed by
Wakil Ahmed

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money, let down by wi-fi
Convenient quiet location. Stayed 5 nights. No heating first 3 days, staff quickly provided fan heaters and extra quilt. Free wi-fi bounces you out after ten mins and you have to log in again, irritating. I had specifically phoned and asked about wi-fi as I need it for work, was told yes available but they didn't tell me the ten minute thing. Also wi-fi went down one evening and still not available the next morning. Good continental breakfast in a nice cafe area with decent music! Good shower. Spacious room. Pay £10 deposit for TV remote. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Won't stay again as I need reliable wi-fi access for much longer than 10 mins at a time, but otherwise it is great value for money.

Reviewed by
Debbie B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night enough
The room was basic, but we were expecting that. The toilet/shower/wash basin was a fibre glass cubicle fitted in one corner. Passable in size, but basic. Seemed to have a bit of a smell (maybe the fibre glass itself). The heating wasn't working properly, so a little cold. The Warehouse was where the food and drink was found. Snack food was good and continental breakfast good. Thought the cleanliness was only average.

Reviewed by
J Moyes

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

couldn't fault this accommodation
Welcoming and helpful staff, couldn't fault them they were lovely, my room was a good size very comfortable and clean. Food was good value for money, had a lovely stay and would definitely come back and stay again! :)

Reviewed by
debra s

From Ballymena, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Euro Hostel, Newcastle
Easy to find, although I wouldn't have gone the way instructed. Reception good, Breakfast was served in the attached pub (The Warehouse) which also provided OK good value pub meals in the evenings up to 11p.m. Cool chill out room and free Wi-Fi. The kitchen was well equipped but had odd opening hours. Reception were happy to open up for but that is inconvenient for both parties. No notice displayed giving opening hours, I can't wait until 10.00 for my first cup of tea and when I went to put milk in the fridge one evening I found the kitchen locked earlier than it should have been. There was some noise from the corridors and rooms with people coming and going which is generally to be expected in hostel accommodation - and after all it is Newcastle!
Every thing was fine until I got to the room - it was windowless and was furnished with a set of bunk beds, a TV and a small clothes hanging unit - no where to sit or put a laptop even though Wi-Fi was available in the rooms, no locker. The room was very hot and stuffy but there was no temperature control or air conditioning (sorry, there was a fan on the floor). There was only a fire evacuation plan displayed, no written instructions and certainly nothing easy to read in the panic of a fire alarm going off. There were positives, the en-suite was clean and pleasant, the bed was comfortable and I could work the TV (even without instructions)
My disappointment with the room was exacebated by the fact that Late Rooms were telling me I was saving £90 per night on a single room. Now, I am savvy enough to know that you don't get single rooms in hostels at £120 per night but I had I expected a cut above. - this room was the worst equipped I have ever stayed in bar one at Sydney airport. I paid through Late Rooms £29.00 - the walk-in rate is £29.00 so in fact I made no savings. Plus, had I walked in I would have gone for a bed in a shared room at £16.90 .

Reviewed by
Jennifer A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

euro hostel newcastle
we enjoyed our stay at eurohostel . the room was ideal for our stay , and the staff were very helpful and friendly. i would recommend euro hostel to anyone wishing to take a short break in Newcastle.

Reviewed by
kev h

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well located for city centre, quite modern and good value. Stayed for one night, rooms are basic and modern, but were great for my short stay.

Reviewed by
Richard H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best deal
A secret want to share with you all - Want value for money -- Simply visit www.laterooms.com :-)

Reviewed by
munawar lilani

From Carshalton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next