No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hostel Alma

3Self Classified Hostel Ratings explained
37 Folkestone Road, , , Dover, CT17 9RZ
When you arrive at the hostel your bedroom will have been cleaned, tidied and of course the bed will have been made up. All our rooms have a comfortable bed with Orthopaedic Mattress, freshly laundered cotton sheets, duvet, two pillows and a bath towel for each guest. In addition every room offers an en-suite shower room. All rooms are equipped with 26" Freeview LCD TVs, remote control, folding table, mirror, rail hook, hairdryer and have free Wi - Fi internet access. Bedroom sizes are different from 7.00 sq.m to 10.50 sq.m and due short of room do not consist wardrobe. We have guest kitchen where you can find complimentary coffee, tea, milk, sugar and buscuits. We provide plates, bowls, cups, glasses, cutleries for guest needs. Microwave, fridge, kettle and toaster available as well. In the morning continental reakfast available at the ALMA CAFE. During the breakfast you can tested selection of Coffees and Teas. Our modern bean - in cup coffee machine have 11 Selections Menu such as Cappuccino, Mochaccino, Café Latte, Espresso, Hot Chocolate and etc. Free public parking is possible at a location nearby (reservation is not needed). Hostel Alma is a mile from Dover Ferry Port and is ideally located in the Dover’s Town Centre within a few minutes walking distance of the Dover Priory Railway Station, Marine Parade and Dover Harbour. Dover Castle can be reached in 15 minutes’ walk. Earliest check-in or luggage drop from 3.00 pm. Earliest check-in from 11.00 am. possible for an additional £5.00 extra ( please enquire ). Later check-in (after 22:00) is available on request. The hostel will provide entrance codes and instructions by email. American Express cards are not accepted. Please note that there is no lift. An extra bed or cot is available on request. Latest check-out at 10.00am. Guests can extend checking -out until 2.00 pm for an additional £5.00 extra ( please enquire ).
Picture of Hostel Alma, Dover at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 15 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation
If you just want a cheap room in Dover this is ideal. There's a kitchen on 1st floor for tea & coffee. The room was warm, had en suit shower room and TV. Bed was comfy. Only downside was place smelt a bit musty. Breakfast was cereals, tea, toast, boiled egg & cheese.

Reviewed by
Nigel P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont Take this Hostel
We spend 1 Day in Dover and Most of the places are fully bookt so we have to Take this! When we arrived we couldent find someone to Open the door After i callt the Hostel the Open the door! He was very unfriendly and it we feel like undesirable! the room was smelly! When we Check out we like to Pay but the they told use we changed your Credit Card! It says on the booking that the cc is just for Garantie!!! So yes if you find a other Place Take it!!!

Reviewed by
Regina H

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We only required basic accommodation, as we had to leave at 4.00 am.
The Alma hostel provided basic, clean, comfortable accommodation & was good value for money.
If this is all that's required, then I would recommend it. It,s also very central in Dover.

Reviewed by
Patrick Wood

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed one night and will never stay there again

Reviewed by
M Rae

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Hostel
No parking outside but on public road about 200 yards away. Narrow corridor and stairway leading to bedrooms. Tiny room on roadside of building was dated and grubby. Didn't use the kitchen!! I wouldn't pay £40 a night for this, again.

Reviewed by
r moore

From Bedworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good
Rooms are very small, but they are clean and tidy. No issue there.
The problems are with the fact the is the windows are not double glazed, so you hear every car and drunk that passes the hotel (as the room over looks the Main Street). Leading to a very bad night sleep.
There are no curtains fitted up at the windows so that once the sun rises, so do you.
Free Wi-Fi is a great idea, however the Wi-Fi did not reach the room that I was staying in.

Reviewed by
C Jones

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was definitely a wonderful living experience. The owner was very friendly and helpful as well. Rooms are appropriate seeing the money invested and the bathroom was clean and spacious. It was a good experience overall.

Reviewed by
Ummehani T

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place
the price is cheap, if you have an week work in Dover is a good place to stay.

Reviewed by
ilie k

From Redhill, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not as described in advertisement
In the photo the hostel looked ok. Advert says 'on site parking - free' there was no onsite parking, you had to park on public road which was only free out of hours. Room and bedding were clean but bedding was minimal. Walls incredibly thin, could hear every noise/conversation. No curtain just plastic blind which didnt shut out light. Single glazed,old rickety window,also not soundproof. Neither of us slept a wink. Continental breakfast was a slice of cheese, 1 cold boiled egg, bread & cereal. Only plus side, staff were friendly, there was a shared kitchen with complimentary tea, coffee, milk and biscuits. Glad we had only booked 1 night. Wouldnt stay there again.

Reviewed by
Siovon R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hostel
Basic facilities, but onsuite

Reviewed by
G Seghers

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next