No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Buccleuch Arms Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Inn Ratings explained
The Green St Boswells, MELROSE, TD6 OEW
The Buccleuch Arms is a family owned, relaxed and welcoming country hotel with open log fires, comfy sofas and individually designed rooms, set in the pretty village of St. Boswells, near Melrose. We take pride in providing personal and friendly service and good home cooked food sourced from local suppliers.

Blue Coo Bistrot in summer 2012 to compliment the bar menu

The Buccleuch has just been voted Scottish Inn of the Year 2013

We now offer Free WiFi to all our guests.

We have 19 individually designed en-suite guest bedrooms that have a fresh and bright feel. Our housekeepers take great pride in providing our guests with sparkly clean and comfortable bedrooms. Enjoy morning coffee, afternoon tea or pre-dinner drinks in our spacious and elegant lounge. In the colder months, you are guaranteed to warm your cockles next to our log burners and open fires with a large glass of malt whisky. The main bar serves delicious home cooked local produce and features guest ales and a well priced and simple wine list.



Picture of The Buccleuch Arms Hotel, MELROSE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will certainly stay here again
We found all staff here welcoming & friendly, nothing was to much trouble for them. This included accommodating my somewhat interesting dietary requirements!
Our room was clean & tidy, with a very comfy bed!
We intend to have another visit to the Borders & would definitely stay here again.
The restaurant is very popular & booking is advised if you want to eat at the hotel, particularly on a Saturday night.

Reviewed by
Linda L

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my short stay
nice place to stay, everyone is friendley, hotel is quite idyllic in a way, mostly a pleasant stay, only one thing, I would avoid the steak salad as it is more like a mountain of grated cheese wih a few leaves hiden inside, however the steak was excellent.

Reviewed by
J Loveridge

From Dursley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All the staff were great but the room was very dated
Great staff, but room was dated, the bathroom was pink and the shower only just managed to shower you! We were at a function for 140 people and that was lovely, food hot tasty and served quickly with no fussing. Breakfast great too, just desperate for a refurb in the rooms above reception!

Reviewed by
R WALTON

From HEXHAM, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away for a wedding in melrose.
The food was fabulous, service excellent, sticky toffee pudding to die for yum! But, our room faced the front on the main road, I felt like a rabbit trapped in the headlights every time a car went passed, the room faces a road were cars headlights come straight into the room, a blackout blind is needed so that air can still get in the bottom of the window as it was a warm nite. The duvet would have kept a family of Eskimos warm it was far too heavy for this time of year, maybe a fan could be Put in the room. We heard voices all the time as this room no4, is directly above the reception desk. It was,nt value for money where the room was concerned, but the restaurant was super as was the bar.

Reviewed by
J Brown

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, good food
Room was clean and comfy, but not much room to move around. Ideal for overnight stay to break our journey.

Reviewed by
M McIntosh

From Fochabers, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional food
The freshness and provenance of the food were impressive as was the skill of the chef in preparing and serving lovely food to best advantage. It was great to see they have their own garden for herbs, fruit and vegetables - brilliant!. Friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
L Jackson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Little Hotel
Stayed here when attending a wedding, lovely place and the cleanest bed linen ever. Lovely hotel for a country break.

Reviewed by
Lesley B

From Largs, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Did not live up to the top quality image portrayed in it's website
We stayed for 2 nights in May & had booked a superior room at £120.00 per night. The bedroom itself was attractively furnished with a comfortable bed & quality linen & bath towels. However, the shower was poor in relation to water pressure & temperature. On both nights we were woken at 2.00 am by the loud sound of running water through the central heating radiators in the bathroom & bedroom. It would also have been a thoughful touch to have included 2 bottles of bottled water on the tray.
On our 1st night we ate in the bistro & although we enjoyed our meal were surprised to be told that the house red Merlot was not available nor was English mustard!
The cooked breakfasts were enjoyable but again, yoghurts and fresh fruit were not included in the breakfast offering - which we would have expected considering the cost of the £120 room rate. Marmalade seemed to be the only preserve offered with toast.
The hotel staff were an assett, being both helpful & friendly.

Reviewed by
Andrew Richardson

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needed a larger room.
Although I booked on line a better room, I was phoned whilst travelling there the following day to say only a double was available but this was newly furnished. We needed accommodation due to a sudden death. We extended our stay for five nights until after the funeral. The room was too small for more than a night as there was no provision for storing suitcases or clothes. There was a small shower room. The new furniture had a terrible smell ( I thought someone had been sick). The breakfasts and bar meals were excellent and the staff very pleasant.

Reviewed by
Sarah L

From York, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A 2 day visit to the Borders for a wedding
My wife and I sought somewhere to stay in the Melrose area for a wedding. We selected the Buccleuch Arms in St Boswells and were not disappointed. Pluses included being very easy to find, plenty of car parking spaces, a friendly welcome, obliging and friendly staff, a comfortable and clean bedroom, home cooked food and a sensible menu. We ate in a functional but intriguing restaurant and our every request was met. I sometimes judge a place by the quality of kippers for breakfast and the only thing I might take issue with was that they were filleted and not on the bone! But they still tasted good and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
J Lang

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next