Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Bristol > Code$ Hotels > BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel Clifton
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel Clifton

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Victoria Square , Clifton, BS8 4EW
Clifton Village Location (just a 10 min walk to the suspension bridge and only a few minutes to the nearest shops, restaurants & cafes!)
Victorian Period buildings on a tree lined square
Free car parking (limited spaces & first come, first served) or free on street parking
Range of bedrooms: Single, Small, Standard, Superior, Family
Free Wifi throughout the hotel
Delicious freshly cooked & continental breakfasts buffets

Picture of BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel Clifton, Clifton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3rd visit - must be ok!
Stayed here before so knew what to expect. Very convenient location and great to have parking. Nice sized room, functional shower room, not many frills ie toiletries etc but perfectly fine for our needs. Fast check-in and out, staff friendly and helpful. Not too thrilled about the 4am fire alarm though! Breakfast could be improved, gluten free items would be welcome!

Reviewed by
Jane F

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Village People
Hotel formed by two large Georgian adjoined buildings opposite park and cemetery. Rooms large, quiet when traffic stops but you can hear other guests moving about. Staff friendly and helpful. Decor a little tired but perfectly acceptable. Breakfast good and well served, chef took holiday whilst I was there, so had to eat in Clifton village where you are completely spoilt for choice - highly recommend nearby Albion pub for service and value. Bristol City Centre also within easy reach. Car park is a little scrappy and fills quickly - you are told you can park in streets around but you wouldn't want to - very narrow with lots of dented cars

Reviewed by
David W

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
This hotel is a little dated. The rooms are more than functional but need a spruce up.
Everything was very clean and our bed was well made.
Bathroom again is a bit dated, and the shower was pitiful. However, it all worked and everything was clean as whistle.
But, the customer service was some of the best we've ever come across. Staff are friendly, helpful, giving. That first check-in was such a pleasant experience, that it made up for all the other short comings.
Value for money was excellent. Great location. Would certainly stay again.......But please improve the shower. Better shower-head, and some increased pressure would do it!

Reviewed by
Owen W

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend visit
Helpful receptionists , great car parking space , room ok , could do with an update . Breakfast ok but for the additional money I would expect decent bread not thin sliced plastic bread . Great place to stay for the weekend , we walked everywhere although there are buses and taxis - this part of Bristol is fabulous to explore . Hotel is clean and welcoming and we enjoyed our stay .

Reviewed by
Jacquie H

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Enjoyed stay, best thing about the hotel was the location. Bus stop just outside the door to take you into the city and back. Also nice to work through Victoria Square to the nearby pubs/cafes

Reviewed by
m pike

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ouch!
I booked a single room and of course it was not very big. I don't need a big bathroom, but on arrival,. I went to splash my weary face and smote my forehead on a glass shelf above the washbasin. My own fault, I decided, but worth reporting.
The location was ideal, the square delightful, especially as there was Shakespeare going on when I arrived. I had a window on the front of the building with a view of the leafy square garden. I think views from the back must be pretty too as there is a churchyard full of trees behind the building. There's no lift, and I was on the 2nd floor, but that didn't bother me. Breakfast was in a lovely dining room with a very wide choice of things to eat and attentive staff. The eggs were overcooked and all the English breakfast fried food was a bit tired from sitting too long. The continental choices were much nicer, croissants warmed Viennoiserie and a range of fruit , yogurt and cereal. My coffee was good, too. Staff were attentive but not pushy and the hotel feels
efficient but human.

Reviewed by
Sally Johnson

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful warm atmosphere
While my single room was adequate, the impressive quality of this hotel was found in the warmth and friendliness of the staff. They made my stay special, and are the reason I would choose to book this hotel again. Breakfast was also excellent.

Reviewed by
Beverley d

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Explore Bristol
This hotel is situated in a leafy square in the beautiful Clifton Area of Bristol and is only a short walk from Brunel;s suspension bridge and the famous downs. Clifton has many restaurants, bars and interesting shops. The city centre is a walkable distance away although a regular bus service stops nearby. The service and style of the hotel is traditional and it is easy to imagine living there when it was a family home in its Victorian days.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Location
Clifton is a beautiful area in Clifton. This Best Weston is in an excellent location for all the restaurants and bars which are a ten minute walk away. The room was comfortable and clean. I would definitely return.

Reviewed by
S King

From Harrow on the Hill, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fair, but...
Tiny, but clean room, overlooking beautiful Victoria Square. The shower, however, was barely able to deliver more than a trickle of luke warm water.

Reviewed by
Henry M

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next