Reviews - Victoria Square Hotel Clifton Village


Victoria Square, Bristol, BS8 4EW

Price From 107.65 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (34)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Beverley d

  • April 2014

Wonderful warm atmosphere

While my single room was adequate, the impressive quality of this hotel was found in the warmth and friendliness of the staff.

They made my stay special, and are the reason I would choose to book this hotel again. Breakfast was also excellent.

  • Paul M

  • April 2014

Explore Bristol

This hotel is situated in a leafy square in the beautiful Clifton Area of Bristol and is only a short walk from Brunel;s suspension bridge and the famous downs.

Clifton has many restaurants, bars and interesting shops. The city centre is a walkable distance away although a regular bus service stops nearby. The service and style of the hotel is traditional and it is easy to imagine living there when it was a family home in its Victorian days.

  • S King

  • April 2014

Lovely Location

Clifton is a beautiful area in Clifton.

This Best Weston is in an excellent location for all the restaurants and bars which are a ten minute walk away. The room was comfortable and clean. I would definitely return.

  • Henry M

  • February 2014

Fair, but...

Tiny, but clean room, overlooking beautiful Victoria Square.

The shower, however, was barely able to deliver more than a trickle of luke warm water.

  • Angela J

  • February 2014

Very comfortable and clean period hotel, well located for a city break, very happy to go again

A very comfortable and clean, period hotel in a quiet(ish) part of Clifton with easy access to the downs and also the city centre.

Very convenient for us as had free parking (big plus in Bristol), so didn't have to worry about the car. The room was fairly small for a double, but had a reasonable-sized bathroom with a shower and all the mod cons (tea making, hair dryer, TV, wifi), and I would happily have stayed longer. No idea why people thought it was tired (see other reviews), as we thought it was nicely decorated, just not too over the top. Great breakfast choice, and very helpful staff.

  • Charles S

  • November 2013

Budget Accommodation

It is rare to get such good quality accommodation in such a great location at a reasonable price.

On this occasion I did. Thank-you.

  • Tracey S

  • November 2013

Friendly, helpful staff

We were placed in an attic room.

There is no lift in the hotel but the lovely receptionist carried out luggage for us. The bed space was very close together, it almost felt I was sleeping in the same bed as my colleague, even thought it was 2 separate single beds. But being an attic room they needed to make best use of the space. We had to leave early for a conference and missed breakfast but we asked staff if we could take some food with us and they accommodated our request. The hotel is set within walking distance of all the main eateries in Clifton, but without being in the centre so you avoid a lot of the noise. Parking is limited with a small carpark out back. We struggled on one night to get on-street parking when the carpark was full. Staff are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Would be happy to stay again but would ask for a different room next time.

  • j welch

  • November 2013

Location, Location. Location!

Great location to explore Clifton with the village and Mall only 5 minutes walk away.

  • robert banks

  • November 2013

Booked last minute for a birthday party stayover.

Did the job. Clean easy and good breakfast.

  • Mandy F

  • November 2013

Best Western

A little bit noisey on a night with doors banging and the night club opposite.