Reviews - Victoria Square Hotel Clifton Village

2

Victoria Square, Bristol, BS8 4EW

Price From 120.84 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (31)

87% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • April C

  • October 2014

Lovely area

Really lovely area.

Quiet and leafy. If you want to use the car park - get there early.

  • Jane F

  • August 2014

3rd visit - must be ok!

Stayed here before so knew what to expect.

Very convenient location and great to have parking. Nice sized room, functional shower room, not many frills ie toiletries etc but perfectly fine for our needs. Fast check-in and out, staff friendly and helpful. Not too thrilled about the 4am fire alarm though. Breakfast could be improved, gluten free items would be welcome!

  • David W

  • August 2014

Village People

Hotel formed by two large Georgian adjoined buildings opposite park and cemetery.

Rooms large, quiet when traffic stops but you can hear other guests moving about. Staff friendly and helpful. Decor a little tired but perfectly acceptable. Breakfast good and well served, chef took holiday whilst I was there, so had to eat in Clifton village where you are completely spoilt for choice - highly recommend nearby Albion pub for service and value. Bristol City Centre also within easy reach. Car park is a little scrappy and fills quickly - you are told you can park in streets around but you wouldn't want to - very narrow with lots of dented cars

  • Owen W

  • July 2014

Excellent service

This hotel is a little dated.

The rooms are more than functional but need a spruce up. Everything was very clean and our bed was well made. Bathroom again is a bit dated, and the shower was pitiful. However, it all worked and everything was clean as whistle. But, the customer service was some of the best we've ever come across. Staff are friendly, helpful, giving. That first check-in was such a pleasant experience, that it made up for all the other short comings. Value for money was excellent. Great location. Would certainly stay again.......But please improve the shower. Better shower-head, and some increased pressure would do it!

  • Jacquie H

  • June 2014

Weekend visit

Helpful receptionists , great car parking space , room ok , could do with an update .

Breakfast ok but for the additional money I would expect decent bread not thin sliced plastic bread . Great place to stay for the weekend , we walked everywhere although there are buses and taxis - this part of Bristol is fabulous to explore . Hotel is clean and welcoming and we enjoyed our stay .

  • m pike

  • May 2014

Review

Enjoyed stay, best thing about the hotel was the location.

Bus stop just outside the door to take you into the city and back. Also nice to work through Victoria Square to the nearby pubs/cafes

  • Sally Johnson

  • May 2014

Ouch!

I booked a single room and of course it was not very big.

I don't need a big bathroom, but on arrival,. I went to splash my weary face and smote my forehead on a glass shelf above the washbasin. My own fault, I decided, but worth reporting.

The location was ideal, the square delightful, especially as there was Shakespeare going on when I arrived. I had a window on the front of the building with a view of the leafy square garden. I think views from the back must be pretty too as there is a churchyard full of trees behind the building. There's no lift, and I was on the 2nd floor, but that didn't bother me. Breakfast was in a lovely dining room with a very wide choice of things to eat and attentive staff. The eggs were overcooked and all the English breakfast fried food was a bit tired from sitting too long. The continental choices were much nicer, croissants warmed Viennoiserie and a range of fruit , yogurt and cereal. My coffee was good, too. Staff were attentive but not pushy and the hotel feels

efficient but human.

  • Beverley d

  • April 2014

Wonderful warm atmosphere

While my single room was adequate, the impressive quality of this hotel was found in the warmth and friendliness of the staff.

They made my stay special, and are the reason I would choose to book this hotel again. Breakfast was also excellent.

  • Paul M

  • April 2014

Explore Bristol

This hotel is situated in a leafy square in the beautiful Clifton Area of Bristol and is only a short walk from Brunel;s suspension bridge and the famous downs.

Clifton has many restaurants, bars and interesting shops. The city centre is a walkable distance away although a regular bus service stops nearby. The service and style of the hotel is traditional and it is easy to imagine living there when it was a family home in its Victorian days.

  • S King

  • April 2014

Lovely Location

Clifton is a beautiful area in Clifton.

This Best Weston is in an excellent location for all the restaurants and bars which are a ten minute walk away. The room was comfortable and clean. I would definitely return.