Reviews - Victoria Square Hotel Clifton Village


Victoria Square, Bristol, BS8 4EW

Price From 104.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Julie L

  • April 2015

Very nice

I stayed in Victoria Square Hotel for 1 night for a city break in Bristol and I really enjoyed the venue.

Ideal location near Clifton and very nice and cosy cafe and restaurants. A bus stop in just in front of the hotel to go directly to temple meads station.

  • Julie H

  • April 2015

Faded grandeur but still beautiful

the hotel had fantastic original features and the room we had was huge- it could do with some new furnishings but apart from that , it was really lovely.

  • Linda P

  • March 2015

A good hotel experience

The Victoria Square Hotel provided a comfortable, quiet and convenient place to stay whilst working in the area.

I was particularly impressed by the comfortable bed, quiet room and generous supply of tea & coffee. The buffet breakfast was also most enjoyable with fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, croissant and coffee to spare. Excellent!

  • Katherine M

  • December 2014

Friendly welcome and a characterful building

This hotel is two grand Victoria houses which overlook a park square.

I think my room used to be a parlour - it had a bay window with sash windows overlooking the square, a grand fireplace and very high ceilings. It was huge. A bathroom has been added to the corner of the room to turn it into a hotel room, but the original features can still be seen.

The staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was the usual kind of ingredients, nicely presented in a buffet arrangement.

  • jenny g

  • December 2014

Flying Visit

Stopping for one night only to visit my daughter.

Great location with parking. Staff were friendly,helpful and welcoming. We were given an upgrade on arrival and found the accomodation superb. The room was clean and facilities were excellent. A thoroughly great experience.

  • David H

  • November 2014

Location beats price

Venally nice staff and great location but the room was only just good enough and lacked any luxury normally found at this price.

Parking is an issue and I only just squeezed my small car in. Breakfast was ok, good enough although the guy at the door was not what I would call enthused about his job or my breakfast. Would I stay again. Yes if the price was lower, great location.

  • Alison F

  • November 2014

Very pleasant stay

We stayed in the next door house, a first for us.

Gorgeous big room with a massive bed - unfortunately the bed was like lying on an ironing board and it was really low to the floor. That's the only issue, everything else was good.

  • April C

  • October 2014

Lovely area

Really lovely area.

Quiet and leafy. If you want to use the car park - get there early.

  • Jane F

  • August 2014

3rd visit - must be ok!

Stayed here before so knew what to expect.

Very convenient location and great to have parking. Nice sized room, functional shower room, not many frills ie toiletries etc but perfectly fine for our needs. Fast check-in and out, staff friendly and helpful. Not too thrilled about the 4am fire alarm though. Breakfast could be improved, gluten free items would be welcome!

  • David W

  • August 2014

Village People

Hotel formed by two large Georgian adjoined buildings opposite park and cemetery.

Rooms large, quiet when traffic stops but you can hear other guests moving about. Staff friendly and helpful. Decor a little tired but perfectly acceptable. Breakfast good and well served, chef took holiday whilst I was there, so had to eat in Clifton village where you are completely spoilt for choice - highly recommend nearby Albion pub for service and value. Bristol City Centre also within easy reach. Car park is a little scrappy and fills quickly - you are told you can park in streets around but you wouldn't want to - very narrow with lots of dented cars