Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > The West Country > Bristol > Code$ Hotels > Victoria Square Hotel Clifton Village
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Victoria Square Hotel Clifton Village

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Victoria Square , Bristol, BS8 4EW

Situated in trendy Clifton Village on a leafy Georgian square, the Victoria Square Hotel provides the perfect base for exploring the vibrant city of Bristol. Just a 10 minute walk from the Clifton Suspension Bridge & Bristol Zoo.

The 41 traditional guest rooms are spread between two gracious Victorian Villas, all with en-suite bathrooms, digital TVs, welcome trays & direct dial telephones.

The hotel provides: limited car parking for up to 15 cars on a first come, first served basis (£5 per day), excellent links to public transport with regular buses to town, resident’s bar, cooked & continental buffet breakfast, as well as a friendly front of house team on hand 24 hours a day to assist you during your stay.
There is a wealth of independent restaurants within 2-5mins walk of the hotel.

There is no lift at the hotel - if you do require a room on a lower floor please request this at the time of booking.

Picture of Victoria Square Hotel Clifton Village, Bristol at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ouch!
I booked a single room and of course it was not very big. I don't need a big bathroom, but on arrival,. I went to splash my weary face and smote my forehead on a glass shelf above the washbasin. My own fault, I decided, but worth reporting.
The location was ideal, the square delightful, especially as there was Shakespeare going on when I arrived. I had a window on the front of the building with a view of the leafy square garden. I think views from the back must be pretty too as there is a churchyard full of trees behind the building. There's no lift, and I was on the 2nd floor, but that didn't bother me. Breakfast was in a lovely dining room with a very wide choice of things to eat and attentive staff. The eggs were overcooked and all the English breakfast fried food was a bit tired from sitting too long. The continental choices were much nicer, croissants warmed Viennoiserie and a range of fruit , yogurt and cereal. My coffee was good, too. Staff were attentive but not pushy and the hotel feels
efficient but human.

Reviewed by
Sally Johnson

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful warm atmosphere
While my single room was adequate, the impressive quality of this hotel was found in the warmth and friendliness of the staff. They made my stay special, and are the reason I would choose to book this hotel again. Breakfast was also excellent.

Reviewed by
Beverley d

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Explore Bristol
This hotel is situated in a leafy square in the beautiful Clifton Area of Bristol and is only a short walk from Brunel;s suspension bridge and the famous downs. Clifton has many restaurants, bars and interesting shops. The city centre is a walkable distance away although a regular bus service stops nearby. The service and style of the hotel is traditional and it is easy to imagine living there when it was a family home in its Victorian days.

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Location
Clifton is a beautiful area in Clifton. This Best Weston is in an excellent location for all the restaurants and bars which are a ten minute walk away. The room was comfortable and clean. I would definitely return.

Reviewed by
S King

From Harrow on the Hill, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fair, but...
Tiny, but clean room, overlooking beautiful Victoria Square. The shower, however, was barely able to deliver more than a trickle of luke warm water.

Reviewed by
Henry M

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable and clean period hotel, well located for a city break, very happy to go again
A very comfortable and clean, period hotel in a quiet(ish) part of Clifton with easy access to the downs and also the city centre. Very convenient for us as had free parking (big plus in Bristol), so didn't have to worry about the car. The room was fairly small for a double, but had a reasonable-sized bathroom with a shower and all the mod cons (tea making, hair dryer, TV, wifi), and I would happily have stayed longer. No idea why people thought it was tired (see other reviews), as we thought it was nicely decorated, just not too over the top. Great breakfast choice, and very helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Angela J

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful staff
We were placed in an attic room. There is no lift in the hotel but the lovely receptionist carried out luggage for us. The bed space was very close together, it almost felt I was sleeping in the same bed as my colleague, even thought it was 2 separate single beds. But being an attic room they needed to make best use of the space. We had to leave early for a conference and missed breakfast but we asked staff if we could take some food with us and they accommodated our request. The hotel is set within walking distance of all the main eateries in Clifton, but without being in the centre so you avoid a lot of the noise. Parking is limited with a small carpark out back. We struggled on one night to get on-street parking when the carpark was full. Staff are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Would be happy to stay again but would ask for a different room next time.

Reviewed by
Tracey S

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget Accommodation
It is rare to get such good quality accommodation in such a great location at a reasonable price. On this occasion I did. Thank-you.

Reviewed by
Charles S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location, Location. Location!
Great location to explore Clifton with the village and Mall only 5 minutes walk away.

Reviewed by
j welch

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked last minute for a birthday party stayover. Did the job. Clean easy and good breakfast.

Reviewed by
robert banks

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next