No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Rose And Crown

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
125 High Street, Tonbridge, TN9 1DD
The BEST WESTERN Rose and Crown in Tonbridge is a 16th century Tudor Coaching Inn with oak beams and Jacobean panels. The hotel has been sympathetically renovated and extended with a modern garden wing of bedrooms. All bedrooms are well appointed with a four poster bed and family room available on request. You can relax in the comfortable lounge, enjoy a drink in the friendly bar, which also serves traditional English food, or savour excellent international cuisine served in the restaurant. Situated in the middle of the "Garden of England", the hotel is close to the Euro-Tunnel and ports, and enjoys fast rail links to London - only forty minutes, and the continent via Ashford International Rail Terminal. Many glorious gardens and fine historic buildings and attractions, such as Hever Castle and Churchill's beautiful church and gardens at Chartwell are nearby, and with easy access to the M25, the BEST WESTERN Rose and Crown in Tonbridge is the perfect place for tourists to stay. Three function rooms are available for corporate or private events. Warm welcome assured.
Picture of BEST WESTERN  Rose And Crown, Tonbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice
clean room, lovely staff and terrific food.....would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
Tony L

From Rainham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tired room
Room was clean but tired and disappointing. It was quite stuffy as the weather was hot but we had to keep Windows closed due to the traffic noise, even then the noise was still bad. There were no tissues in the holder in the bathroom. The drawer in the bedside table was difficult to close.

Reviewed by
I White

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Housekeeping was terrible
I woke up looking forward to having a cup of tea in my room. The cup had not been cleaned from the previous guest. I actually ( sadly ) took a picture of the inside of the cup from my mobile. I left the cup as it was and went for breakfast. I then headed out for the day. When I returned in the evening I again went to make a drink. This time I had a choice of 2 cups, both had hot chocolate sachets and a pack of biscuits inside of them. When I removed these from the first cup I saw the cup had been used and had a long dark hair inside of it.. When I removed them from the second cup I was disgusted it was the same dirty cup I had found that morning. I took both cups to reception and was told that it would be reported to the Housekeeper Manager, I never heard anything more.
I am left to assume that this is the standard for the whole hotel!!

Reviewed by
P Stewart

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Value for Money
This place is way over priced and represents poor value for money. I was charged £85 for a small room at the front of the pub/hotel overlooking the busy high street. The room had been re-decorated but to a poor standard, the bathroom had mould around the bath seal, the windows had secondary double glazing to reduce the noise (it didn't) but was poorly fitted and when closed to help prevent noise the room was not ventilated and became very stuffy. Its an old place so expect creaky floorboards and they are! Parking is behind the pub but no instructions are provided prior to arrival and there are no directional signs. I thought cleanliness was poor, there was a milk carton from the tea/coffee tray under the bedside cabinet. At reception take a look into the office, its very shabby and reflects the general upkeep of the place. I did not eat here as I felt didn't want to be ripped off twice, once for the accommodation and once for the food. I wont be staying here again.

Reviewed by
David L

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the money
Polite helpful staff, clean rooms but needs refurbishment. Good location would use againn

Reviewed by
June G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rating the Rose and Crown Tonbridge
The Best Western Rose and Crown at Tonbridge is a genuinely charming old coaching inn.
Eating in the main dining room is like eating in a historic N.T. property, lots of beams but painted white make the room lighter.
In the old part of the hotel there are narrow passages and staircases and these need to be negotiated with care. The bedroom we stayed in was very clean and the bed was comfortable.
The room itself was a little too hot but it was quiet and we were able to get a good night's sleep. The real ale at the bar is pricey-£4.30 per pint. The charge for a breakfast was reasonable and the food was good. the staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Charles Read

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will be a great place to stay once renovation is complete
Great location, Secure parking. Clean room. Staff very distracted/stressed when I arrived. Reported toilet not flushing and left room for 1 1/2 hours, but still not fixed on departure. Despite this the newly refurbished room was well done and I had a great night sleep

Reviewed by
Nikki P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend
Nice clean room, very quiet, welcoming staff

Reviewed by
Clifford S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed traveller
Having looked forward to visiting Tonbridge and the surrounding area we were disappointed when shown our rooms at the Rose & Crown. We appreciate that it is an old building which we understand to be listed but there was a distinctive musty smell about it which made you feel that it wasn't as clean as it could be. We had to ask for assistance with our bags as none was offered and in the absence of a lift getting to your room was difficult as there were many stairs and small corridors to our rooms which were on the first and second floors. Additionally, the car parking was a nightmare- there are insufficient parking spaces and as it was raining hard when we arrived we were soaked through by the time we entered the hotel. Apart from the excellent breakfast - which was NOT included it the price - we found our stay to be disappointing and feel unable to recommend this accommodation.

Reviewed by
Christine L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and needs a clean
Rooms needed a good clean, bathrooms were only half completed through a refurb and missing tiles, television didn't work (but they did change my room). The hotel in general is tired and all the rooms need looking at. Duvet covers were starting to fray and the TVs were out of the 80s in some rooms. Staff were welcoming as always and happy to help but I wouldn't rush to stay here again.

Reviewed by
A Summers

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next