No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bulkeley Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
19 Castle Street , Beaumaris, LL58 8AW
The Bulkeley Hotel is yards from the beach and pier alongside the Menai Straits. It enjoys stunning views across the water to the mountains of Snowdonia.

Built as a Georgian show piece in 1832, the hotel now has 43 en suite bedrooms, a fine restaurant, coffee shop, Real Ale bar and lounge. All of the bedrooms are serviced by a lift and there are facilities for the disabled guest.

For the business traveller, the hotel offers a full secretarial service, internet access in all bedrooms and meeting rooms for 2-150 people. The hotel can host civil weddings for you and make all of the necessary arrangements for your special day. The ballroom is regularly used for weddings and functions for up to 140 people. The Bulkeley Hotel serves 'a Taste of Wales' and prides itself on cooking the best of local produce creatively.
Picture of The Bulkeley Hotel, Beaumaris at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice characterful and busy place
Right on the sea front, The Bulkeley is a lovely old hotel with some lovely old straining points. Staff are delightful, happy and helpful.

Reviewed by
David H

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
Bedroom itself very nice with juliet balcony and very comfy bed! However mould on bathroom tile grout and no rubber seal on shower screen to water get under glass and soaks floor - room114. Would have been nice to have been pre warned that a wedding party was booked in for the day/evening. Breakfast plentiful.

Reviewed by
Lorraine H

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Room with a sea view which was great, decent size with a bathroom that had a bath and separate shower cubicle. Breakfast included which was a buffet style cooked breakfast so you could have as much as you like. Separate cafe with delicious cakes in the daytime plus a bar and restaurant. Free car parking, all in all, a great hotel that we would go back to.

Reviewed by
A Sanders

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Acceptable not superb
Hotel has a great location. Free parking is limited for a hotel of this size although adequate paid for available within a very short walk, although during the day in season this could be full. Checked in at 3:30pm to be informed rooms not ready (although informed when I booked that we could check in from 3pm). This was due to a large party having all checked out at once that morning, did this come as a surprise to them (I don't think so), it must have been a planned departure so why not increase staff to cope ? Room prioritised and ready 45 mins later. Waited in the lounge. 1st impressions were the hotel badly is slightly dated and could use some money spending to refurbish the public areas. Also a good cleaning regime particularly to the curtains/ pelmets in the lounge areas. The bedroom was comfortable and well presented. Good size with a large bathroom area including shower stall and bath. Shower water pressure very poor and temperature control difficult to regulate. The really bad point (for me) was that as it was an internal room the cawing of the seagulls literally all night prevented any sleep for myself although my wife (a deeper sleeper) was undisturbed. The evening meal was disappointing, al a carte choices were limited for starters and the mains were a little tired. Sweet trolley (very Mrs overall) was both visually un appealing and limited in choice.
Big positive was breakfast. Very good selection of both English and Continental choices, well cooked and full enough to keep you going all day. Bar service was slow toward the end of the evening. Overall staff were pleasant and helpful although the visible presence of a manager may assist their focus at times. Location, views and breakfast excelent, the other points just need a little polish. I would stay again but an outside/ sea view would be essential.

Reviewed by
David B

From Neston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel in desperate need of renovation
Booked hotel for wedding anniversary and wished we had gone somewhere else. The room was small, outdated and there were stains on the walls. The bathroom was dirty and the shower was a trickle of water. To top it off, they had ran out of some food at breakfast so guests, including us, had to wait. The only positive about the hotel is the sea view. Overall, we won't go back nor recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
H Tajuddin

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A well sited hotel and a very fine and comfortable room.
Most service excellent and thoughtful. Service at dinner strangely untrained and unlike that of the rest of our brief stay.

Reviewed by
nicolas p

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great views for which we paid extra,however we were also above the car park and the smoking area,as there was a function on that night it did get a bit noisy, but too warm to shut the window .If we go again we probably wouldn't pay for a sea view. The bed was too firm for us.

Reviewed by
cath h

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review
none

Reviewed by
christopher matthews

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Returning to Beautiful Beaumaris which has longstanding family connections for us
The Bulkley is in the best position in the town.So endearing to stay in a solidly built ,older building full of character/interesting architectural features, instead of a modern,new build hotel.
It felt very graceful to stay there .My mother used to love taking afternoon tea there in her latter years.It is a quality,civilized hotel.Unique to the town. Lovely location & ambience.

Reviewed by
Olive Green

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bulkeley Hotel
Lovely location. Rooms are 'tired' and in need of attention. Hotel reception very cluttered and untidy appearance. Appreciate it is a building full of character but does need some attention to detail. We don't usually review accommodation but feel the need to on this occasion.

Reviewed by
Holly C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next