Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > Lake District > Cumbria > Windermere Hotels > Rum Doodle Windermere (Formerly Braemount House B&B)
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rum Doodle Windermere (Formerly Braemount House B&B)

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
Braemount House, Sunny Bank Road , Windermere, LA23 2EN
Rum Doodle Windermere offers a little bit of luxury, a little bit of whimsy & a whole lot of fun! We’ve created a very different B&B experience in a quiet corner of Windermere; not ‘boutique’ but a quintessentially English, vintage-styled haven. A place where you can truly relax & let us take care of you. Your luxury accommodation, which rivals that of many hotels, comes in the form of a sumptuous breakfast, a warm welcome with fabulous home baking,individual design & in the people looking after you.

Our philosophy is simple; to help you create such wonderful memories that you’ll want return to our rather special B&B again & again.

We’ve taken our inspiration from the vintage feel of a 1950s book 'The Ascent of Rum Doodle'. Our 9 individually designed room are named after the book's hapless characters/adventurers, while our top floor suite is naturally, The Summit. But there's no roughing it here; rather you'll have fine Egyptian cotton bed linen, award winning breakfasts, home-made cake on arrival and free Wi-Fi throughout the house. The bumbling explorers were fuelled by copious amounts of ‘medicinal' champagne. At Rum Doodle bed and breakfast, champagne, Prosecco & wine is available without having to scale a peak. And for added treats, we have local hand made chocolates, flowers or silk rose petals scattered on your bed.
Picture of Rum Doodle Windermere (Formerly Braemount House B&B), Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb stay!
Quirky and cosy, friendly welcoming owners, superbly positioned for both Windemere Town and Bowness, will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
Mick C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and I had a wonderful two night stay at this accommodation.
Friendly hosts, lovely room with a comfy bed. The porridge at breakfast was delicious. Thanks for a wonderful weekend.

Reviewed by
Carmel Venus

From Crook, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room number 3
My main concern was the disappointment of the room size ,being just enough room to walk around the bed with a small on suite shower and toilet

Reviewed by
J Easthope

From Clearor Moor, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff at this lovely B and B. Room was very clean, bed large and comfy, ample tea and real coffee making in room along with some home made biscuits- lovely touch, with Coffee and cake on arrival!! Would definitely recommend this B and B, have done already to friends and work colleagues!! Xx

Reviewed by
Lisa Russell

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quirky, clean and generally excellent!
A B&B that stands out from the crowd. Room was average size but very clean and lots of nice touches as was the dining area which was welcoming and interesting. The staff were fantastic; just what you'd want....friendly, cheerful and accommodating. Some nice touches such as tea and cake on arrival add to the charm and overall I'd certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Ryan S

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay at Rum Doodles
Just returned from a short stay in Windermere, staying at Rum Doodles. Very friendly welcome. Offered tea/coffee and cakes on arrival. Very comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
J Sargent

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fabulous find
A really lovely B&B with interesting character and wonderfully run by Emma and Gregor.
The breakfast was particularly good.

Reviewed by
David S

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous bed and breakfast
This was just a lovely little family run B&B! They had thought of everything the rooms were cosey, with a real personal feel to them. Homemade cookies with your tea whilst looking at the great views outside your window! The owners are incredibly friendly and are extreamly helpful to ensure your stay is the best it can be!! I would stay here again, and again and again and tell my friends and family to stay here too!!

Reviewed by
h cranwell

From Ipswich, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quaint, but also quirky hotel in a good location. The place had an element of character about it.

Reviewed by
Karl Moon

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really lovely B&B
I really loved staying here- very friendly welcoming. Room was lovely, even had homemade cookies with the tea and coffee's. Breakfast is one of the best I've had on my travels and would definately stay here again.

Reviewed by
V Guthrie

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next