No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Romany Inn

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
The Romany Inn Bridge Street, Bampton, OX18 2HA
The Romany Inn is situated in the centre of Bampton, a small town in the picturesque area known as the Cotswolds. Only 40 minutes drive from Oxford, Swindon or Stow on the Wold, with RAF Brize Norton Main Gate only 10 minutes away, The Romany is an ideal place to stay for both the Business or Casual Traveller, so whatever your reason for staying in this wonderful area of England Mike & Glynis invite you to a cheap and cheerful, friendly, local Pub with a homely atmosphere, serving traditional home cooked 'Pub Food' Monday, Tuesday and Thursday - Saturday and a Traditional Sunday Lunch (booking is advisable) from 12.00 - 14.30 on Sunday afternoons. Please note that our kitchen is closed on Sunday Evenings and all day Wednesday (Guests Breakfasts served as required).
We are a small family run business and our first priority is YOU! However our schedule can be very tight and we have to ask that you check out by 10.00 on the day of departure.
If there is anything we can do to help prior to your arrival then just ask, we will do everything we can to make your stay a happy one.

Have a safe journey and we look forwarding to welcoming you to The Romany Inn.
Picture of The Romany Inn, Bampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
We were greeted by Mike the owner. He made us feel very welcome and showed us to our room and answered any questions we had The bar area was very nice and had a relaxing atmosphere.The room was well presented and spacious. Great location in a quiet village in easy reach of all the tourist attractions in the area. Breakfast was freshly cooked and made a good start to the day. We certainly will be returning again when we visit the area next time.

Reviewed by
D Dickens

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Friendly Welcome which makes all the difference after a long journey
Nice Friendly Welcome which makes all the difference after a long journey, good food and good company. Breakfast was outstanding. If ever I have to visit this area again I will be stopping there.

Reviewed by
michael bungard

From Hebburn, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice character pub- very warm welcome from the Owner Mike-
Our room was outdated & in need of a spruce up-
Served the purpose & had a comfortable nights sleep.
The warm welcome & conscientious manner made up for any negatives-
And the breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
Simon B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent stay
A very friendly atmosphere with decent clean and comfortable accommodation. It was ideal for my two night business stay. Breakfast was great (classic English) and served in pleasant surroundings. The local village is the one used in Downton Abbey so worth a wander round.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower cold. some light bulbs out ie bed side plus two more. overall fair to poor

Reviewed by
George T

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and good value
The owner and his wife were very friendly and accommodating. We had a very late night, but next morning we had to be down for breakfast before 8:30 which was not good, as it was on a Sunday. The owners explained that they had a large lunch to prepare that day so would not be able to give us all our breakfasts a little later. Breakfast was average, rushed and we ran out of coffee. Otherwise it was all OK.

Reviewed by
R Williams

From Switzerland
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Romany Inn
A friendly welcome from Mike on arrival. My room was small but as I was alone it was perfectly fine. The room was clean & the bed was very comfortable - had a great nights sleep. I felt it was good value for the price & will certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Jackie W

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
Very friendly staff - great breakfast.

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Village Pub
From the friendly greeting by Mike the Landlord through to the comfortable bed to the tasty breakfast my stay was faultless and I would recommend this establishment to everyone.

Reviewed by
Brian S

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Made to Feel Welcome
A friendly welcome awaits you when you are a guest at the Romany Inn at Bampton. There is good pub food and excellent beer. A top quality full English breakfast is a real treat first thing in the morning. The good thing here is that Mike and Glynis have breakfast available if you need an early start in the morning.
I've been working in the area over recent weeks and due to go back very soon. I've already re-booked my accommodation at the Romany!

Reviewed by
Stuart R

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next