Reviews - The Romany Inn

The Romany Inn Bridge Street, Bampton, OX18 2HA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (43)

91% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Ball

  • September 2015

No Frills but nice

Rooms basic & bit tatty but pleasant enough & slept well.

Hosts are great, Mike is a legend.

  • A Horne

  • September 2015


Very helpful friendly people, very comfortable.

I would recommend this place.

  • h nothers

  • June 2015

Warm and welcoming

Very friendly man and great accommodation.

Great value for money and nice atmosphere.

  • Josh Taylor

  • April 2015

Cheap and cheerful.

I have to admit there are some negative points about this accommodation, but please bare in mind that they are the cheapest hotel I could find in almost a 10mile area.

Quite a loud hotel as the rooms exist above a pub. Also the appliances are quite old, e.g. kettle, loo. You are given cups and coffee in the room, but these aren't cleaned after use. There walls in the bathroom were dirty. There were three beds in my room, fortunately one of them had a comfy mattress because the other two I wouldn't have been able to get a wink of sleep in. On the other hand, amazingly friendly staff and really made to feel at home. Breakfast was wonderful and made to order. The hotel is also located in a lovely and friendly town.

  • Graham F

  • March 2015

Great people and nice quiet place

The guys are great and very friendly, My room was fine and the bed comfortable.

Very quiet and no problems with anything. The breakfast is also excellent!!

  • Trisha P

  • March 2015

The most welcoming pub I've ever stayed in.


I was greeted by my first name as I tentatively approached the bar, shown my room, and given details as to how to get in and out, and how to contact Mike and Glynis if necessary in the night. I'd asked for the ground-floor, and had a room in an extension across the tiny back yard, which made it lovely and quiet. The beer was excellent, and the 'pub grub' well up to standard. The breakfast was huge, and absolutely delicious, featuring fresh tomatoes and mushrooms alongside the egg, bacon, sausage and beans. This was my first stay, but I trust it will not be my last.

  • D Dickens

  • February 2015

Great location

We were greeted by Mike the owner.

He made us feel very welcome and showed us to our room and answered any questions we had The bar area was very nice and had a relaxing atmosphere.The room was well presented and spacious. Great location in a quiet village in easy reach of all the tourist attractions in the area. Breakfast was freshly cooked and made a good start to the day. We certainly will be returning again when we visit the area next time.

  • michael bungard

  • February 2015

Nice Friendly Welcome which makes all the difference after a long journey

Nice Friendly Welcome which makes all the difference after a long journey, good food and good company.

Breakfast was outstanding. If ever I have to visit this area again I will be stopping there.

  • Simon B

  • January 2015

A nice character pub- very warm welcome from the Owner Mike- Our room was outdated & in need of a spruce up- Served the purpose & had a comfortable nights sleep.

The warm welcome & conscientious manner made up for any negatives-

And the breakfast was good.

  • Richard C

  • January 2015

Decent stay

A very friendly atmosphere with decent clean and comfortable accommodation.

It was ideal for my two night business stay. Breakfast was great (classic English) and served in pleasant surroundings. The local village is the one used in Downton Abbey so worth a wander round.