No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Romany Inn

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
The Romany Inn Bridge Street, Bampton, OX18 2HA
The Romany Inn is situated in the centre of Bampton, a small town in the picturesque area known as the Cotswolds. Only 40 minutes drive from Oxford, Swindon or Stow on the Wold, with RAF Brize Norton Main Gate only 10 minutes away, The Romany is an ideal place to stay for both the Business or Casual Traveller, so whatever your reason for staying in this wonderful area of England Mike & Glynis invite you to a cheap and cheerful, friendly, local Pub with a homely atmosphere, serving traditional home cooked 'Pub Food' Tuesday - Saturday and a Traditional Sunday Lunch (booked) is available from 12.00 - 14.30 on Sunday afternoons. Please note that our kitchen is closed from 14.30 on Sunday until 18.00 on Monday (Guests Breakfasts served as required).
We are a small family run business and our first priority is YOU! However our schedule can be very tight and we have to ask that you check out by 10.00 on the day of departure.
If there is anything we can do to help prior to your arrival then just ask, we will do everything we can to make your stay a happy one.

Have a safe journey and we look forwarding to welcoming you to The Romany Inn.
Picture of The Romany Inn, Bampton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romany inn
I booked a room at the romany inn after reading the reviews on late rooms. The accommodation is pretty basic but the beds were comfortable and we slept well. The propriertor Mike could not have been more helpful! He rang within minutes of my placing the booking to confirm and to answer my query about arriving late due to work commitments to say this would be fine. He wasn't at all put out by us getting stuck in roadworks and then getting lost and so arriving well after 10pm. We only stayed one night but the following morning he was extremely helpful with directions and helped us to avoid getting stuck in traffic.
All in all we were very happy and considered it good value for money at the price.

Reviewed by
Katharine A

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal stay
I was made very welcome and any help I needed was given to me immediatlely(not sure about the TV) parking was easy but I was worried before arriving in Bampton.I had a lovely breakfast cooked has I requested will go again also a very fair price

Reviewed by
BARBARA K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great first impressions with a very friendly greeting from the owners. Whilst the room could be described as "slightly tired", it was clean with everything we needed for an overnight stay. The food was very good & was well priced. Don't attempt the mixed grill unless you have a real appetite though - it is huge! Breakfast was also very good & mine hosts really could not have been more accomodating. Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Alan Senior

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick Review
A lovely place. They made me feel very welcome and friendly and helpful.
I would recommend it to anyone!!

Reviewed by
simon burton

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for what is essentially aaaaaaan old inn
Accommodation in terms of room was o.k for the cost. As others have stated Mike and Glynis could not have been more helpful and the breakfast meals we had were excellent. Granted there is room for updating some facilities but in the short time the landlord has been there considerable improvements in front of house. Would stay there again if in the area.

Reviewed by
brian s

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

VFM
Rooms getting a little "tired" and ready for a refit but you get what you pay for. Bed clean and comfy. Everyone very friendly and welcoming that includes the locals as well as the owners. Lovely breakfast. Really enjoyed our stay. And Bampton being Downton Village was a bonus!!

Reviewed by
Helen S

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

arrived late .helpful staff. nice pub.reasonable accomodation

Reviewed by
PHILIP H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy break
An enjoyable break in a friendly country pub.

Reviewed by
Michael Banting

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money!
The most welcoming and acomadating hosts I have had in a long time. Yes a sports pub but a lovely clean one with a home cooked menu that was superb and hosts that could not have been more welcoming. Our room looked over the garden tented with love and care!

Reviewed by
C Davies

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm welcome and excellent food
Very warm welcome welcome, shown to our room right away, clean but dont expect 4 star, showing signs of wear n tear and could do with updating. Having said that couldnt fault the food and hospiltality at all.

Reviewed by
Stephen a

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next