No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sydney House Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Coton Crescent, Coton Hill, , Shrewsbury, SY1 2LJ
Sydney House Hotel is less than a 10 minute walk from the town centre and is close to all railway, bus and road links. Why choose Sydney House Hotel? Car parking is available for all residents, all rooms are ensuite, and a full breakfast is included. We are just a few minutes walk to both railway and bus stations. Individual needs are catered for in our service. Children and small dogs are welcome. At Sydney House Hotel we aim to offer a personal service to match your needs, whether it be for an early breakfast, extra pillows, special dietary needs, or help in planning your stay in Shrewsbury. All residents have access to our residents bar stocked with a full range of beers, wines, spirits and soft drinks.
Picture of Sydney House Hotel, Shrewsbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little old fashioned but in a nice way. the room was small but had all the amenities required. The road noise was a bit of an issue. The breakfast was excellent and the staff friendly.

Reviewed by
David Hedley

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for one night only, but the room was small but adequate and we would return if we needed to stay in Shrewsbury again

Reviewed by
Michael Thompson

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good old-fashioned hotel for a stop over.
The hotel is tastefully decorated with very friendly staff. Warm and cosy on a very cold night and ideally situated for Shrewsbury town centre. The breakfast certainly was very good in quality and quantity.Ideal for a stop-over.

Reviewed by
Steve Fisher

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed eventually
it took a full hour before anyone came to reception
the 'bathroom' was freezing cold
breakfast was not in fact available at the time I needed
nor was food to take away in place of eating in offered
no compensation for the hour's wait

ManagementResponse

At Sydney House we have a reception with a clearly marked bell push to summon assistance. We always attend the reception within one minute, usually sooner. We also have a standard time for breakfast of 8-00 to 9-00 am with a policy of providing earlier / later breakfast when asked or alternatives for exceptionally early breakfast and finally it is impossible for any bathroom in any room to be freezing cold given the layout of the rooms. In over ten years at Sydney House this is the first time I have known a customer to fail to see our bell push ( which was later tested and found to be working ), complain about the lack of an early breakfast without asking for it and to claim that any part of our building is freezing cold. Normally when we occasionally get things wrong I put my hands up correct faults for future customers and offer recompense. On this occasion I feel this is not warranted.

Reviewed by
anne w

From England
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
The Hotel was first class in every way. The breakfast was sumptuous. Fit for a King.
The only minus points were that I couldn't find a phone on the premises, although it is true I didn't ask, so it may have been out of view,
Also one of the drawers in the chest (3rd draw down on right) did not have front properly glued and it came off.

Reviewed by
G Pound

From Presteigne, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely room and hotel, would stay again.

Reviewed by
A Tysoe

From Rhayader, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and clean hitel not far from town.
I stayed here because I knew the area well-it's within easy walking distance of the bus and train stations, and the beautiful town centre. Check in was easy and very friendly, breakfast was very impressive and fast, and they even agreed to look after my bag for the following day so that I didn't have to lug it around town all day. Very nice indeed.

Reviewed by
Shelley W

From Wrecsam, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoy your stay at Shrewsbury
I highly recomment Sydney House Hotel for your stay in Shrewsbury.

Reviewed by
Frances Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good standard of accommodation for overnight and city breaks

Reviewed by
J Scott

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and friendly
A great base for Shrewsbury with parking. Very reasonable, friendly and excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mark Thompson

From Cannock, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next