Sydney House Hotel

3

Coton Crescent, Coton Hill,, Shrewsbury, SY1 2LJ

Price From 128.28 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (42)

90% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • William H

  • December 2013

Very comfortable room and excellent breakfast

I cannot fault my stay - my second time (first was also very good).

The single room was spacious enough and very comfortable and warm as I like it as I tend to feel the cold (you can adjust the setting on the radiator - on all night but you can turn it right down if you want) and the bathroom (shower and toilet) were well kept and clean. I found the my pillow a bit hard for my liking, but was reminded that there was a spare one (with extra blanket) in the wardrobe. The full English breakfast is excellent and generous in portions. Only a 10 minute walk into town, so ideal if you are visiting Shrewsbury town. I was here on business (took a break from spending 2.5 hours on the road everyday B'ham-Shrewsbury-B'ham for last few months).

  • roger f

  • November 2013

no title

  • June G

  • November 2013

Lovely friendly staff, nothing any problem, most enjoyable stay.

  • Tom S

  • October 2013

one night stop

Nice and clean b and b in a nice area.

We stayed here for one night whilst we attended a wedding and were happy with the cleanliness of the room, the comfy beds and the hot chocolate and biscuit sachets. Finding a room that sleeps three adults for less than £70 was also very good.

Only thing would change is the time of breakfast on a sunday morning which was 8-9 which felt a little early (and we actually missed it because the member of our party who arrived first forgot the time and we didn't see it on the board-our fault though), but others may be happy with this time and its just us lazy folk. The staff were happy to give us some cereal and toast though despite this which was very kind. Would stay again if in this area!

  • M Bettis

  • October 2013

Fantastic B & B at a great price! Look no further!

First impressions were good when we arrived, were greeted and helped with secure bike storage during our stay.

The en-suite twin room was comfortable and well appointed. Great bed. Clean and functional bathroom with a good shower. Delicious breakfast the following morning. Ideal location (opposite a real ale pub!) 10 min walk from town. Perfect B & B. I don't want to pay outlandish prices for a wannabe Dubai Hilton B & B. Just good, clean, friendly and honest value which describes Sydney House. Recommended!

  • Suresh S

  • October 2013

Good budget accommodation

  • Bryan M

  • October 2013

Great overnight stay for the brilliant LGBT Rainbow Film Festival weekend

Second time we've stayed - this time in room 6.

We arrived at 11, but the room wasn't ready, so left our case and when we got back (at around 11pm), our case was in the room waiting for us. The room's up two flights of stairs, so you've got to be fairly fit to get there. Apart from a rather vicious shelf under the TV, the room is fine, although I had to take an antihistamine as they'd been rather generous with spraying air freshener. Room 6 overlooks the back, so we didn't have any noise issues. Breakfast was lovely - served from 8-9 suited us fine as the first film in the morning was 9.45. No problem with leaving our car there all day on the Sunday - it's just a 15 minute saunter into town, so was very convenient. We'd certainly recommend a short stay in Shrewsbury, it's a lovely town with plenty to see and do.

  • Suresh S

  • October 2013

Good for the price

  • Graham W

  • September 2013

Convenient Overnighter

Sydney House is highly convenient for Shrewsbury town centre and has good parking.

My single room was small but comfortable. As I was departing on a Saturday morning, the earliest breakfast was 7.30am. This can apparently be earlier on weekdays. While I enjoyed the juice, cereals and coffeet a sumptuous and tasty full english was prepared and in front of me by 7.46am. All in all an excellent place to stop.

  • Carolyn D

  • September 2013

Little Gem in Shrewsbury!

Due to travel problems I arrived late but still recieved a warm and friendly welcome.

Some may find the single room small, but I found it cozy and extremely well equipped. There was plenty of tea, coffee etc so you could have more than one cup. Loads of fluffy towels and instructions on how to use the tv, very useful for the non technical like myself. Massive choice of cereals etc at breakfast and the Full English was to die for. Staff were very friendly and helpful with info about the town. Would definitely stay there again when in the area.