No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kings Arms

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
The Kings Arms, Broad Green, Coggeshall, , Colchester, CO6 1RU
The Kings Arms is a quaint and cosy pub run by a small team of family and close friends. We endeavor to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere in which our customers can comfortably enjoy their stay with us. In the summertime our large trade garden provides a safe environment for children. During the cold winter months our open fire is always an irresistible magnet.
Picture of Kings Arms, Colchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very homely, super breakfast with home grown tomatoes and home made bread. Very friendly and welcoming.. Clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Lynne Powell

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hmmmmmm....
I'm really undecided about this place. Website looked great, reviews were great, staff are lovely, however... We arrived Monday evening and the smell of chip fat in the air was pungent, I presume after a weekend of greasy fry ups. They'd also suffered a flood on Sunday so Tuesdays breakfast was accompanied by the stench of dead dog. We spent Tues trying to look for alternative accommodation but decided to stick it out. Our first evening meal was just ok and overpriced, we didn't have a second and were there for four nights. Breakfast was ok but avoid eggs, if you like them soft. Of any type. There are three double rooms and one bathroom... Our bedroom had a spare mattress and a futon. I can't imagine what it would be like sharing a bathroom if our room was full. There's no spare toilet, only downstairs in the locked bar, guarded by a ferocious tail wagging Doberman. Furniture is very mis matched and basic, they could do so much more with the rooms... An en suite in room 3 and a separate toilet would make a vast improvement. It's also spitting distance to a very busy main road. With the heat, the windows had to be open, as well as having the fan on but the traffic noise was terrific. It didn't disturb my sleep, the company I was with though, did find it disturbing. Massive plus point are the mugs in the room and the generous amounts of tea and coffee... I was disappointed for the price we paid. £60 a night for a very basic room and shared facilities is a lot of money. Had I paid £40-45 per night I think I would have been far more tolerant. Lovely staff though, extremely accommodating and friendly!

Reviewed by
R McAllister

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly place, room was pleasant but simple. Breakfast and check out was a bit early, especially for a Sunday, but it didn't matter as the east facing window without a curtain made sure that we were awake bright and early.

Reviewed by
lorna f

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally the experience was satisfactory and the landlady/landlord were nice. however i really do feel that the shower was not good enough, poor pressure and the water temperature flucturated too often from too cold to too hot .

Reviewed by
L Gilbert

From Saxmundham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and bathroom adequate but would prefer en suite. Beds could be of a better quality! Radiator not working so had to use an electric heater. Breakfast excellent!!! As the rooms were above the pub there were dogs on the premises downstairs...this would be useful to know for people who suffer from allergies!

Reviewed by
Lorraine M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A clean and comfortable stay
The Kings Arms offers a clean and comfortable stay with welcoming staff. The Kings Arms offers value for money and a comfortable place to stay overnight.

Reviewed by
V Jones

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop over
Only stayed one night. Greeting was friendly when arrived. Stayed in the twin room. No en suite but we were aware when we booked. This did not cause a problem. Room clean and comfortable. Plenty of tea / coffee / toiletries etc. Breakfast good, plenty of choice including fresh fruit. Only thing I can think may be a problem for some is that it is definetly a dog friendly pub.

Reviewed by
Susan C

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient over night accommodation
I booked a twin room at the Kings Arms for an overnight stay for my daughter and myself as we were in Colchester to find her a flat. The people were very friendly and welcoming, the room was clean and confortable. The only problem from our point of view was the noise from the road, which runs outside the building. If you are used to road noise this would not be a problem. If you aren't used to it then remember your ear plugs! We stayed in the Family Twin room which was a good sixed room with tea and coffee making facilities and a TV.

Reviewed by
Claire F

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
We were very well received at The Kings Arms. The room felt cosy and had a personal touch with a bookshelf full of books. Despite being on a busy road, the double-glazed windows kept the noise to a minumum. Breakfast was good and the service attentive but not intrusive.

Reviewed by
Joana Rosa

From Isleworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Arms Hotel
The owners were very friendly. Room was clean and comfortable, get what you pay for but traffic on the A120 very noisy. If you don't like dogs it's not the place to stay as two dobermans run free in the grounds and inside the hotel! Wasn't a problem for us as we like dogs and the owners were considerate to ask if we were ok with them running around. Breakfasts were good and you can have any combination cooked to order. Didn't eat there in the evening so cannot comment. Within easy reach to Colchester and the zoo.

Reviewed by
Julie S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next