No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Thatched Cottage

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
63-65 CHARLTON ROAD , SHEPTON MALLET, BA4 5QF
“A warm and friendly welcome within this historic 340 year old listed Grade II Thatched Cottage Hotel, Bar and Restaurant”

A Charming, historic 340 year old thatched cottage inn, with bar, restaurant, large accommodation rooms and function facilities.

From the moment you walk in to the Thatched Cottage you are welcomed with a friendly smile, where you will be greeted within the elegant open plan bar with oak beams, open fireplace, oak panelling and relaxing sofa’s and chairs. A place to sit, socialise and relax with a pint of real ale, a glass of wine from our extensive wine menu or even just enjoy a hot coffee. The decor mixes traditional with contemporary through cream walls and leaded glass mullion windows. We know you will enjoy the character of this fine building as the clink of glasses and sound of laughter resonate through the soft background music. We also have free WIFI connection in the bar, conference and accommodation.

Following through to the two level restaurant, you will find two other open fireplaces and a Swiss wood burner, oak beams and candle lit seating for 52 people, our English themed menus offer superb food at a very high quality within a competitive price, is just perfect. Cooking style is modern British, all cooked with enthusiasm from fresh local Somerset produce where practical.

The Cottage has 8 en-suite rooms of excellent size The rooms and indeed the en-suites in this historical Inn are very spacious and have simple modern comforts, including tea/coffee-making facilities, trouser press, direct dial phone, Freeview T/V, free WIFI and high speed broadband connection.

Whilst each room has been tastefully re-designed with contemporary oak flooring and cream walls throughout, and each is individually dressed, the original traditional character of the Inn being maintained.

All the bathrooms have slate floors, baths and showers. The superior rooms have separate double showers. Key fobs are available if you need a late pass for business or pleasure.

Our Superior rooms have inviting towelling dressing gowns, all rooms have complimentary bath accessories. We offer an executive, superior and standard double rooms, twin rooms and a family room to suit all requirements. Please see our menu for the extensive breakfast on offer.

The function facility offers services ranging from weddings, celebrations to corporate functions, with a flexible seating plan and flat screen T.V for p.c. connection

“Quality is our passion in all our products and services”

Please note: we have live music in the bar area on the last Saturday of every month, this may incurr some noise disturbance in the rooms until midnight.
Picture of Thatched Cottage, SHEPTON MALLET at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Choice, A Great Location for Exploring Somerset
Although the furniture is a little sparse, the room was clean and comfortable. The bed was probably one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in.
Although there wasn't a huge choice of food, the quality was excellent and the portions, more than adequate.
We would stay there again and have already recommended it to some friends.

Reviewed by
Alan H

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
Magical stay with my teenage daughter. Food fantastic, room lovely and almost postcard like, staff could not do enough for us. Thank you

Reviewed by
Lorna Brown

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good hotel. Good clean room although position facing a main raod meant we heard traffic noise in the night, also the bright lights from the nearby junction were disruptive. Very comfortable bed with good linen. Good large bathroom and excellent toiletries although more light in this room would be helpful. Lovely light snack for evening meal, excellent breakfast , all well served. Good value.

Reviewed by
Peter L

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Stay
On arrival we were made welcome, then shown to our room, which was a large superior double,
comfortable king size bed,seating,ample wardrobe space, very large bathroom ,bath and double shower, nice fluffy bath sheets and toiletries. Later went down for an evening meal, very good choice on the menu, the meal was excellent, staff pleasant, we then had a night cap in the cosy bar
in front of a real fire.

Reviewed by
c o'leary

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent everything

Reviewed by
Ron F

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great from start to finish
What a great place, lovely friendly staff who couldn't do enough for us, evening meal was substantial and good value and the breakfast was also good, nice thick bacon and nice eggs. All served with a smile in a well presented dining area. Bar area also good, a crackling open fire definitely adds something. All in all, very well done

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the food was delicious. The staff were all very welcoming.
The hotel is next to a road but there is secondary glazing if you
sleep with the windows closed. Having said that we slept well with the window open.

Reviewed by
Linda G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant and cosy
Lovely place if you like a cottage feel with low ceilings in room. The room got very hot during the night and there was no control over heating. However there is a fan in room. Double glazed which helped reduce noise on busy road. Immaculate bathroom and huge cooked breakfast with wheat free bread an option.

Reviewed by
M Austin

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent and convenient accommodation
A very nice stay. Really comfortable accommodation, and a quiet room despite the location of the hotel being near the main road. The hosts was really excellent - nothing was too much trouble. Great food and good service too. We couldn't fault it and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very convenient if you attending the showground in Shepton Mallet so we will definitely be using it again.

Reviewed by
J Cassidy

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night Lite
A pleasant country inn, clean and all expected amenities. Probably a bit over-priced for where it is.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next