Brooks Guesthouse Bristol

4

St Nicholas Court St Nicholas Street, Bristol , bs1 1ub

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (115)

95% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Smith

  • January 2014

How do you make the rooms cooler!

Smart, clean, well staffed, with an excellent breakfast.

The only (minor) quible would be that the room was very hot on arrival, and even turning the heating fully off and opening the window did not fully resolve this. From our point of view It would probably be better to have the heating off, with the option to turn it up, if necessary.

  • Lorraine R

  • December 2013

Brooks Guesthouse Bristol

Wonderful little place to stay.

We booked 2 double rooms for ourselves and our daughter and son-in-law. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and service were equally wonderful. My only negative comment is that the rooms were a little too warm. Well worth a visit.

  • bridget b

  • December 2013

This was our return visit as the first was such a good experience. The breakfasts are first rate!

The location is very interesting being adjacent to the old market, now given over to fascinating shops.

The hotel is delightful with fresh simple decor in the Scandinavian style and most of the rooms overlook the large courtyard. The breakfasts are excellent and imaginative. To round it all off, the staff are attentive and know the meaning of giving good service.

  • Adele Goodrum

  • December 2013

Accommodation

This was one of the best guest houses I have stayed in.

it was spotlessly clean with lovely soft bedding, the food was excellent and the hospitality star quality. It couldn't have been in a better position, close to everything including shopping, theatre, nightlife and restaurants but with no noise whatsoever.

  • Emma Holian

  • December 2013

Brilliant b&b in an absolutely fantastic location

This is such a comfortable, relaxing bed and breakfast.

We were made to feel at home from first stepping in and we had a really lovely time. We will visit again, but next time I've got to have the eggs benedict, which looked amazing!. Thanks so much Tomaz.

  • B Martin

  • December 2013

A little gem in the heart of Bristol

Where to start.

Well probably with 'Agnes' the absolutely gorgeous and bubbly receptionist who really couldn't do enough for us when we arrived and left. She is an absolute diamond and couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean and very stylish with a lovely bathroom. We were on the top floor and there was no traffic noise (hardly suprising as its off road) and very little noise from anything else. The room was warm, the beds comfortable and the shower hot once it got going.. which wasn't long. Breakfast was fantastic with a choice of cereals, fruit purees, yoghurts, toast, fry ups, eggs benedict and eggs florentine. I had cereal and a full english and it was delicious. What is more the open plan 'kitchen' means you can watch the chef prepare your food. The lady who brought our food to our table was charm personified and made us aware that we could eat as much as we wanted and to call her over if we wanted anything else. I had coffee with my breakfast and it was lovely. My co-traveller had a cup of tea and said hers was really good too. The night porter was really cheerful and greeted us with a lovely smile as we rolled in that night about 11.45pm. The pictures on its website don't do justice to the place. It felt like a home from home. Location wise its in a pedestrian area but it took us about 3 mins to cross the road from the NCP and walk up some steps. Although this might be inconvenient for some, I liked it as it meant no traffic noise at night. Step out of their courtyard gate and you are in St Nicholas Market which we also loved with its quirky and very individual stalls and market kitchens. It is also a few minutes walk to the hippodrome and Clifton Green area so very handy for Hippodrome and O2 academy. Also about 10 - 15 mins walk from Temple Meads railway station. I debated giving a review for this Guest House as I don't want it to become too popular. I've already reserved two rooms for June next year!

  • Roger S

  • December 2013

Cool central location

Great central location (but no parking).

Warm and cheerful welcome. Room small but well equipped. A bit noisy at night due to partying people in the streets. Very good breakfast. Happy to return.

  • A Budd

  • November 2013

Brilliantly situated and breakfast superb!

For what is billed as a 'guesthouse' Brooks well exceeds expectations.

No twitchy lace and anaemic bacon, Brooks offers a modern twist on the guesthouse experience. Brilliant location, very central but tucked away meaning any disruption from late night revellers is highly unlikely. The rooms are small but perfectly formed, contemporary comfort and great shower. Breakfast is a must and takes the hotel experience from good to great. An open kitchen greets guests as cook prepares all the food in front of you, lots to choose from and the eggs Benedict were delicious. I would definitely stay here again perfect base to explore Bristol, for work, fun, meeting up with friends it was just great, well done Brooks.

  • David W

  • November 2013

Best we've found in bristol to date

Compared with the large, anonymous, modern hotels in Brissle city centre this is a gem.

Small, friendly, every room different and more of a "staying with friends" feel. Moving the breakfast cook from a backroom kitchen into the breakfast room adds an excellent touch. With any hotel there's the odd bit which could be better and the fact that the only minor whinge is that the breakfast waitress didn't understand the order, shows how good the rest is. I did hear someone complain that there wasn't an evening meal but the hotel is surrounded by good restaurants, pubs and cafes. Car parking in Bristol is a nightmare and the deal the hotel does with a couple of local multi-storys is a solution. Only comment here is that Queen Charlotte Street car park has tight spaces and road works around it at the moment make getting in a challenge (do you ignore the "road closed" sign at one end of the street, or the same sign at the other end). We stay in Bristol freuently and will return to Brooks.

  • Julie S

  • November 2013

Splendid guest house, central to all amenities.

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay in this lovely guest house.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious and a huge choice of food.