Brooks Guesthouse Bristol

4

St Nicholas Court St Nicholas Street, Bristol , bs1 1ub

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (114)

96% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Tamara S

  • August 2014

Pleasant Evening In A Compact But Comfortable Room

We stayed in the guesthouse for one night on a Saturday night.

Whilst our room was on the small side, it was comfortable and we both slept well. The bathroom was very clean and it was a nice shower. The breakfast was very good, and worth paying the extra money for. My only gripe was that the free wifi would not work in our room. Otherwise the location is good, and there is a very nice Indian Restaurant just down the road from the guesthouse.

  • Jamie Ashcroft

  • August 2014

We stayed in a Rooftop Rocket, it was fab! Super friendly staff and scrumptious breakfasts!

  • m daniel

  • July 2014

Beautiful guesthouse, shame about the noisy bar!

We stayed at Brooks guesthouse for an anniversary break, we loved the central location and the quirkiness of the rooms.

Our room wasn't quite ready when we arrived so we left our case and came back later on in the evening. The room was boiling hot due to the rare hot weather we have been experiencing, no air con so we relied on opening windows for ventilation. The position of our room was right above 'The slug and lettuce' bar and the noise was incredible.

We decided on a 'if we can't beat them join them' attitude and went back out for drinks and food but when we returned it was exactly the same but in addition the pigeons had come to roost on our windowsills cooing loudly.

We asked for a fan and luckily were given one, we were able to close the windows, and use this to begin to cool down the room. Unfortunately there wasn't a surface of suitable height for the fan so we ended up balancing it on top of our case/ clothes. One of the worst night sleeps we've had, which it shouldn't have been as the bed was really comfortable.

In short you can't fault the guesthouse for beautiful rooms that are designed so differently to your run of the mill chain of hotel. Although for a romantic break if you are unfortunate enough to stay in the rooms nearest/overlooking the bars you will be greatly disappointed as we were listening to the hen/stags chanting drinking games loudly.

  • John C

  • June 2014

Central, beautifully appointed guesthouse with rooftop rockets and outstanding breakfast

Stayed for two nights whilst attending a conference in Bristol.

Location is perfect - very central but entrance tucked behind main streets with a courtyard buffer. Friendly and efficient staff gave a warm welcome. I plumped for one of the rooftop rockets (caravans) as they looked cool and fun. Not sure two people really could've stayed in the one I had as everything was very tight, but it was clean, functional and stylish whilst be ecologically sound. The comfort of the bed thankfully outweighed any lack of sleep from the birds on the roof and the Glastonbury week inevitable downpour rattling on the rocket's roof. I'd probably plump for a room in the main building in future and cannot recommend the breakfast (and breakfast room) enough. Absolutely scrummy and light and airy with seating that accommodated couples or large groups.

  • Pete H

  • June 2014

Hidden Gem - Oasis in the City Centre

My wife & I chose this hotel based purely on its location as it was central to where we were going to be out that evening.

We are so glad we did, it's a hidden gem!!. The rooms are well appointed & comfortable, despite being in a very central location in a busy city with nightlife it was also surprisingly quiet at night allowing for a good nights sleep - a real oasis in the city. Food was great with our breakfast being cooked especially for us by the chef. All the staff were very friendly & attentive to our needs. We'll definitely look to stay here again in future, especially if we can book into one of the 3 American style "airstream" caravans on the roof!

  • Peter A

  • June 2014

Excellent hotel and good value

A lovely, contemporary hotel with a certain Shaker thing going on with the room decor.

Rooms are arranged around a pleasant courtyard and the hotel is set back from the road near a covered market. So although you're in a busy part of Bristol with several pubs and clubs, it's nice and quiet. I paid a similar price to the big chains but got a much nicer stay - I wish it had been for longer.

  • A Jones

  • June 2014

Three cousins in Bristol.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Brooks Guesthouse, Bristol in April.

Our 3 bedded room was spotless and very comfortable and the tasty breakfast delicious. Ingrid on reception was polite, helpful, informative and an asset to the company. The location is perfect for exploring Bristol by foot and the local St Nicholas market worth a visit for lunch.We would definitely stay again. Thank you!

  • Martin C

  • June 2014

Really nice rooms, good central location, but could not sleep because of noise from the street,

Very little sleep, Very noisy from late night drinkers in the street, people talking late into the night in the courtyard, then a group of eight people in the courtyard chatting at 5.30am, followed by council bin men and street cleaning from 6 onwards

  • Alison Penders

  • June 2014

Brooks Guest House, Bristol

I had a lovely stay, short as it was.

Lovely bright room, clean, well decorated, comfy bed and super bathroom.

  • Stuart B

  • June 2014

Haven in the Old City

Room a little on the small side, but can't fault the comfort and cleanliness and superb location