No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Brooks Guesthouse Bristol

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
St Nicholas Court St Nicholas Street , Bristol , bs1 1ub
Latest and newest Boutique B&B in Bristol City Centre We are situated in the vibrant heart of Bristol’s old town next to St Nicholas Market – an exciting place to start exploring whether visiting for business or pleasure.

Our luxury compact rooms are all about enjoyment and comfort with a choice of double, twin and triple bedrooms – all serviced daily. Modern and thoughtful, every bathroom is freshly refurbished with designer fittings, heated towel rails and luxurious White Company toiletries. And for the utmost comfort all our rooms include: new ultra comfy beds, crisp white linen, wooden chest, comfy chair, hospitality goodies, flat screen TVs, digital clock radio, I-pod dock & free WIFI.

Our lounge and breakfast room is a contemporary salon of tables, sofas and comfy armchairs complete with lazy-day diversions – from books to magazines, board games to DVDs. Free Wi Fi and guest laptop is also available, and a well stocked honesty bar next to the lounge on the ground floor. Here you’ll find the perfect place to relax, meet friends, work on your laptop, or relax in our urban haven courtyard garden.
Picture of Brooks Guesthouse Bristol, Bristol  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 100 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem in the heart of Bristol
Where to start! Well probably with 'Agnes' the absolutely gorgeous and bubbly receptionist who really couldn't do enough for us when we arrived and left! She is an absolute diamond and couldn't have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
The room was clean and very stylish with a lovely bathroom. We were on the top floor and there was no traffic noise (hardly suprising as its off road) and very little noise from anything else. The room was warm, the beds comfortable and the shower hot once it got going.. which wasn't long.
Breakfast was fantastic with a choice of cereals, fruit purees, yoghurts, toast, fry ups, eggs benedict and eggs florentine. I had cereal and a full english and it was delicious. What is more the open plan 'kitchen' means you can watch the chef prepare your food. The lady who brought our food to our table was charm personified and made us aware that we could eat as much as we wanted and to call her over if we wanted anything else. I had coffee with my breakfast and it was lovely. My co-traveller had a cup of tea and said hers was really good too.
The night porter was really cheerful and greeted us with a lovely smile as we rolled in that night about 11.45pm. The pictures on its website don't do justice to the place. It felt like a home from home.
Location wise its in a pedestrian area but it took us about 3 mins to cross the road from the NCP and walk up some steps. Although this might be inconvenient for some, I liked it as it meant no traffic noise at night. Step out of their courtyard gate and you are in St Nicholas Market which we also loved with its quirky and very individual stalls and market kitchens. It is also a few minutes walk to the hippodrome and Clifton Green area so very handy for Hippodrome and O2 academy. Also about 10 - 15 mins walk from Temple Meads railway station.
I debated giving a review for this Guest House as I don't want it to become too popular! I've already reserved two rooms for June next year!

Reviewed by
B Martin

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliantly situated and breakfast superb!
For what is billed as a 'guesthouse' Brooks well exceeds expectations! No twitchy lace and anaemic bacon, Brooks offers a modern twist on the guesthouse experience. Brilliant location, very central but tucked away meaning any disruption from late night revellers is highly unlikely. The rooms are small but perfectly formed, contemporary comfort and great shower. Breakfast is a must and takes the hotel experience from good to great! An open kitchen greets guests as cook prepares all the food in front of you, lots to choose from and the eggs Benedict were delicious! I would definitely stay here again perfect base to explore Bristol, for work, fun, meeting up with friends it was just great, well done Brooks!

Reviewed by
A Budd

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best we've found in bristol to date
Compared with the large, anonymous, modern hotels in Brissle city centre this is a gem. Small, friendly, every room different and more of a "staying with friends" feel. Moving the breakfast cook from a backroom kitchen into the breakfast room adds an excellent touch. With any hotel there's the odd bit which could be better and the fact that the only minor whinge is that the breakfast waitress didn't understand the order, shows how good the rest is. I did hear someone complain that there wasn't an evening meal but the hotel is surrounded by good restaurants, pubs and cafes. Car parking in Bristol is a nightmare and the deal the hotel does with a couple of local multi-storys is a solution. Only comment here is that Queen Charlotte Street car park has tight spaces and road works around it at the moment make getting in a challenge (do you ignore the "road closed" sign at one end of the street, or the same sign at the other end). We stay in Bristol freuently and will return to Brooks.

Reviewed by
David W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Splendid guest house, central to all amenities.
We enjoyed a very pleasant stay in this lovely guest house. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious and a huge choice of food.

Reviewed by
Julie S

From Shepton Mallet, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
What a find, hard to know when you book online what you are going to get. Directly opposite the covered markets and close to the shops. Within walking distance of the station. Beautifully clean and homely. When you arrive you are greeted by a very friendly young lady who is very friendly and helpful. The rooms have modern decoration and comfortable beds with lovely linen, a little on the warm side but you can open the windows. The breakfast was great and had a very homely feel being able to watch it being prepared. Would definitely go back again.

Reviewed by
G Slinn

From Henley on Thames, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight business saty
Perfect accommodation for overnight stay (single person in double room). Very tasteful and comfortable rooms, great breakfast and good location. For a longer stay for a couple the room would be a little small and lacking in storage space but for our purposes great value and quality.

Reviewed by
Katharine A

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem
Tucked away in a courtyard opposite St Nicholas Market the room was a decent size with v good bed and spotless. No wardrobe space, just hooks and hangers, so might be a problem for a longer stay, but we were there one night, so not a problem to us. Spacious informal breakfast room lovely and food cooked to order. Halloween special of hotcakes with bacon was delicious. Ideal for central Bristol and a good alternative to the corporates. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Stewart Brock

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Guest House
A bit tricky finding it as it was a longer walk from station than I thought, but with a call to reception we found it ok. We were allowed to leave our bags in reception so that was great we could go off and do our shoping. Room was lovely warm and clean and staff very friendly and helpful. We would definately recomend this guest house and will be coming back again.

Reviewed by
rachael wear

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary Treat
Booked a night away as a first anniversary treat. Staff were all very welcoming and friendly throughout our arrival and through into breakfast. Decor was fresh, homely and smart, looking fairly new. Free laptop in the lounge area allowed us to quickly check our restaurant location before we left for our evening meal. Mattress and pillows were very comfortable. Only downside was really that the room seems quite warm, even though it was cool outside. The central location meant you couldn't really leave the windows open, although the location was secure, city centre noise travels at night (Unless you are used to it!). Aircon would have been very welcome. Breakfast was a revelation, with a chef and plenty of staff on duty to see to all your needs, with fresh breakfast cooked to order exactly how you like it, and a good selection for most tastes. A lovely atmosphere, great staff and location. Would definitely stay again, far better value than a large chain hotel. Car travellers will need to park nearby but can unload in a nearby street, dropping off their luggage at the guesthouse before relocating their car.

Reviewed by
Stuart D

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B
Unusual location (close to the market), but very central. Large room, very clean. Staff absolutely friendly. Car park relatively expensive, but very close. Delicious breakfast. If back in Bristol, it's very likely that I'll book this B&B again.

Reviewed by
Alessandro P

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next