No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mercury Motel

3Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
540 MANCHESTER ROAD WESTHOUGHTON, BOLTON, BL5 3JP
Fed up with sitting in hotel bedrooms with nothing to do. Do you want to be more than just a number Then come to the Mercury. With home cooked food, friendly staff and something to entertain you every night of the week the Mercury is your ideal home from home.
Picture of The Mercury Motel, BOLTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little hotel!

Reviewed by
Mark A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money, helpful staff very comfy beds

Reviewed by
C Leason

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attention to detail cleaning cracked sink and bath shower curtain mouldy

Reviewed by
Karen G

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay at the Mercury
Very positive experience

Reviewed by
JOHN HORWOOD

From Belper, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful staff.
I enjoyed my one night stay at the Mercury motel. The receptionist was very welcoming, polite and helpful. The room was small but adequate. There were plenty of tea & coffee sachets. Decafe would have been nice. The shower was powerful and very nice. However, there was some mould on the end of the shower curtain, and the bathroom although adequate, was in need of decorating. Apart from the shower curtains, the place was clean.
The bar looked lively and if I didn`t have a race early the next day, I would have gone in. After 11:30, the place was quiet, and I had a very good night`s sleep. Over all, it was very economical, and I will possibly stay there again next year before my race. However, in its present condition, I wouldn`t like to stay longer than one night.
I can`t fault the staff. It just needs modernisation, which I believe is in progress. Shame I didn`t get a refurbish room. Hopefully, it will be all done this time next year.

Reviewed by
M McCarthy

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definintely be returning on next visit
Room was clean and tidy, all staff were friendly and professional but the highlight was the entertainment had a lovely evening enjoying good music and a great crowd, will definitely be returning and recommending .

Reviewed by
nicola kingsmill

From Pinner, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very welcome find

Reviewed by
george berry

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pheonix nights

Reviewed by
Cheryl T

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Mercury Motel needs to pull up it's socks.
Upon arrival the service couldn't of been better, very pleasant and friendly. Escorted to my room which was nice....it's there that it got worse.
The room can only be described as grotty, stains on the towels (makeup), stains on he shower curtain (makeup again) peeling paint on the ceiling/walls. Pipework on display throughout the bedroom around the edges of the floor. Generally the room and bathroom were grubby. I didn't want to be in there for longer than necessary so I traveled into Bolton for food and a film both nights.
When I had a shower in the morning, the water temp was either scalding (burning my feet) or freezing, I was unable to get the temperature stable enough for a relaxing shower (and when I'm up at 6am I need a good shower!)
I get that budget accommodation is budget for a reason, however budget shouldn't mean grotty.
I felt there was no point in complaining to the staff as the whole place looked the same.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt the room was not up to standard. You stayed in a room that is yet to be refurbished and the furniture etc is a bit dated and tired but our cleanliness standards have been praised by Visit England who awarded us three stars. We always recommend that guest bring any concerns they may have to us immediately which gives us the chance to take any action if needed. Trying to resolve any problems once a guest has checked out is more difficult but we will look into the matters you have raised.

Reviewed by
G Etchells

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always welcome, right from my first stay.
I have stayed here now more than once, which says it all. I don't even bother to look for other hotels in the area. Its not the Ritz, but its clean, friendly and excellent value for your money, especially at the weekends which is when when I stay, as there is always some good entertainment on in the bar. The food is good, though I don't always manage to get here early enough for it. My loss. Also its so easy to get to from the M61.

Reviewed by
Tim M

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next