No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lansdowne Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 LANSDOWNE ROAD , London Croydon, CR9 2BN
The Lansdowne Hotel in Croydon boasts 42 comfortable guest bedrooms all non-smoking, with shower en-suite and hypnos beds. Each guest bedroom features a flat screen freeview television and iPod docking station for your enjoyment during your stay and complimentary, easy access WiFi is available throughout the hotel. Guest also receive a 25% discount on parking.

The Lansdowne Hotel is ideally located at the hub of Croydon's main business and shopping district. London Victoria and Gatwick airport are only 15 minutes away and a 20 minute Tram journey will take you to Wimbledon.

Guests of The Lansdowne Hotel can enjoy complimentary use of Solutions Health & Fitness Club including their extensive range of fitness equipment, swimming pool, Jacuzzi and steam room. There are also massage and beauty treatments available when booked in advance. Please note that Children between the ages of 6 months-16 years may use the pool on Saturday and Sunday’s between 09.30 – 11.00. An adult must accompany children under the age of 16 at all times within the pool. Please contact the hotel reception for further details.

The Lansdowne Bar is privately operated and opening hours are subject to availability
Picture of The Lansdowne Hotel, London Croydon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 65 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Landsdowne Hotel Croydon
Great location for Croydon or London.
Staff very pleasant .
Hotel very clean and comfortable

ManagementResponse

Dear Charlotte, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and sharing your experience with everyone on LateRooms.com. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lansdowne Hotel! Your comments are a delight to read and thank you once again for taking the time to share your experience. I think I speak on behalf of everyone when I say we very much look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Warm regards, Tomasz Michalak, Manager

Reviewed by
CHARLOTTE M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No AC / Traffic Noise / Small Room - What not to like?
The room I had did not have Air Conditioning, as a result I had to have the window open, it was quite warm. As a result of this hotel being on a busy road there was a lot of road noise. Don't worry the buses don't stop they run through the night 27/4 if you wan't to sleep this hotel is not for you.
Probably one of the smallest hotel rooms I've stayed in for some time, getting between the end of the bed and the wall is a challenge!

ManagementResponse

Dear Tim, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read that your room did not live up to your expectations. You didn't mention whether you informed anyone at the hotel about this during your stay; had you done so, our reception team would have offered you an alternative room of suitably impressive size. I am also sorry to hear that you found your room stuffy. Some days last this summer have been particularly hot and, whilst our rooms are not feted with air conditioning, we do everything possible to keep our rooms as cool as possible by providing fans, complimentary mineral water, closing the curtains and opening windows. Also, had you mentioned the stuffiness problem during your stay the receptionist team would have alleviate it by providing you with a desk fan. I would like to make up for the bad service that you received at our hotel. Could you be so kind to contact me directly and ask for our Assistant Manager or email me. Please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconveniences that you experienced with us. Please contact us back so we can find out what we can do to gain back your trust. Kind regards, Tomasz Michalak, Manager

Reviewed by
tim p

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower
Sadly the shower didn't work, only realised in the morning so no time to make a complaint to swap rooms. Had to resort to using the bath, not good.
Room was small but great proximity to station.
Breakfast was a voucher at local coffee shop, don't expect much, as all you get is cereal and a yoghurt.

ManagementResponse

Dear Andrew, Thank you for your recent stay at Lansdowne Hotel and taking the time to post a review of our property. I am sorry to hear that shower in your room did not work. We operate a very consistent maintenance check on all our bathroom facilities, so I was surprised to learn you encountered these issues. I will investigate this further and have it rectified immediately. At Lansdowne we aim to please all guests and I am sorry that we failed at this occasion. I hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. If your travels bring you to Croydon area again. I would like to offer you a 40% discount from our current available rate. Please do contact me directly prior to your next visit. I would be delighted to assist you with your booking and will do my utmost to ensure that we make your stay a memorable and pleasant one. Look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Tomasz Michalak, Team Leader for Lansdowne Hotel

Reviewed by
Andrew W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay.
Nice clean rooms. Gym facility is good bonus.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Law, Many thanks for submitting a review about our Hotel. Your comments and feedback is very valuable to us as is enables us to constantly improve our service and facilities. Thank you for consistently staying with us and delivering very positive feedback. I am glad you find our rooms clean and the complimentary health club facilities an additional bonus. We'd be grateful if you would review us on TripAdvisor. It's the world's largest travel site, helping over 60 million visitors every month plan the perfect trip. Our guests often tell us how helpful it is to read past guests' reviews before booking their own visits. And we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we can improve. Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon the next time you're in Croydon. Kind Regards, Tomasz Michalak

Reviewed by
S Law

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easy and affordable
Very nice, clean hotel rooms. Good TV. Wi-Fi can be slow during the evenings but very fast in the early mornings.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Law, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we greatly appreciate all feedback received. I am happy to ready that you found our rooms clean and nice with a suitable TV set. I shall continue to investigate the wifi issue as we have been assured by our IT company that we have the best facilities we can have. If many guests are online simultaneously it can slow it down. Our reception team can reset the signal immediately for you if it drops off, which usually rectifies the problem. Thank you once again for your kind review and we do hope that the next time you are in London, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you at Lansdowne Hotel. Kind regards, Tomasz Michalak, Manager

Reviewed by
S Law

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent service
Reception is always courteous and helpful.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Law, Thank you for your review of Lansdowne Hotel, we appreciate your time and your feedback. We hope your first rate experience will keep you coming back again and again. With kind regards, Tomasz Michalak, Manager

Reviewed by
S Law

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK
OK for one or two nights. Gym and Pool are very good and usually quiet. Hotel can be noisy from street, gym and other guests... the walls are pretty thin...

Reviewed by
D Munro

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lansdowne Hotel
Very clean, sheets and towels changed every day. Quiet and ideal location for visiting the city. Staff friendly. Great value. Would stay again.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Murray, Thank you very much for taking your time and providing us with this kind review. I am very glad that you found your room very clean and daily towel change to your liking. It also good to read that you found proximity of our hotel to East Croydon Station and and the ease of getting to London convenient. Our team is so happy to have made you feel welcome as everyone works so hard to make every guest feel special. It will be a pleasure for me to share your positive comments with each member of staff. We'd be grateful if you would review us on TripAdvisor. It's the world's largest travel site, helping over 60 million visitors every month plan the perfect trip. Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose The Lansdowne Hotel Croydon the next time you're in Croydon. Kind Regards, Tomasz Michalak

Reviewed by
E Murray

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close to Central London
Good and convenient as Close to Central London

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Kapur, Many thanks for submitting a review about our Hotel. Your comments and feedback is very valuable to us as it enables us to constantly improve our service and facilities. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Tomasz Michalak

Reviewed by
M Kapur

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A grim weekend
Room was very small for what would normally be charged (I got it reduced through LateRooms.com) and pretty basic and a bit worn. Sat on the bed I was faced with the wall, with the tv to the far side of the room, so felt very claustrophobic. Bathroom was almost as big as the main room with pretty basic furnishings.
A complete lack of sound proofing so my entire nights stay consisted of tv's playing, ladies 'enjoying' themselves and then a party across the hall and no soundproofing on the windows so main street traffic rumbled by throughout.
I was very disappointed and did not meet my expectations from how the hotel was portrayed online making my general experience and weekend really quite grim. On the plus side staff were pleasant and responded promptly and effectively when I called at 2am to complain about the party next door.

Reviewed by
Julie R

From Thatcham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next