No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Trout Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Trout Hotel, Crown Street , Cockermouth, CA13 0EJ
The award winning Trout Hotel is based on the banks of the river Derwent in the gem town of Cockermouth and sits adjacent to the childhood home of poet laureate William Wordsworth. It is ideally located for the Western Lakes as well as Cumbria’s Energy Coast. Although this four star venue has developed since its opening in the 1930’s it combines contemporary luxury whilst retaining period charm. Rooms at the Trout feature satellite flat-screen TVs with Sky Sports and free Wi-Fi. Bathrooms include White Company toiletries, and some rooms have river and garden views. The elegant Derwent Restaurant serves fine English cuisine from an extensive à la carte menu. The modern Terrace Bar & Bistro has a varied menu and an heated outdoor seating area for Alfresco dining.

In recent years The Trout Hotel has been the recipient of many regional and national awards including Cumbria Tourism best large hotel of the year 2011, Cumbria Tourism best large hotel of the year finalist 2007/2013 and bronze winner and finalist at the visit England awards for excellence 2012. In 2013 the hotel’s managing director received a CNN group judge’s award for special achievement. Trip Advisor has awarded the hotel for excellence 2012 & 2013..

Important information To avoid disappointment, guests are advised that pre-booking tables in the Derwent restaurant is essential.

Picture of The Trout Hotel, Cockermouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing place
We were just looking for somewhere to enjoy my birthday and this was just what the doctor ordered, it was nice sat by the river in the sunshine.....the room was lovely and comfortable, clean and a nice size, it was a shame we were on the road side as the noise from the busy road was a little annoying as the traffic did not let up until 2am!! Still I did not want to labour this point as the hotel is lovely....I would stay again but ask for a river side room.

Reviewed by
W Mallard

From Seascale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent weekend
excellent hotel, friendly staff and very convenient for town centre

Reviewed by
P Howden

From England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, excellent service, kitchen needs to improve
We love The Trout. A lovely hotel with a friendly welocming atmosphere and excellent service. it's being let down at the moment by the kitchen, but hopefully this will soon get back to its former standard.

Reviewed by
james b

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for a business stay
Having stayed in a few places in Cockermouth on business this is by far my preference as a lone female visitor.
The hotel is large, has plenty of parking and is central to the town. The food leaves something to be desired, I had the steak and it was bland even with a sauce and the breakfast was like wise.
Sadly my room this time had a large amount of long black hairs on the floor when I got there hence the lower score for cleanliness but previously it has always been very good.
All in all I would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Kayleigh N

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little stay!
We couldn't have travelled to Cockermouth at a better time! We were surprised to find a lovely balcony view in which we could watch the fireworks from for bonfire night across the river. Very romantic! Beautiful location - right by Wordsworth's birthplace. Just wish we could have stayed longer to explore the lakes even more!

Reviewed by
J Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When we arrived we found staff happy in their work and always ready to help

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another ggod time at the Trout
Fourth visit to the Trout, first since the flood of 2009. Respect to the Trout, Cockermouth and the Cumbrian people for getting on with it. Room on front street noisy as we had to have windows open due to heat. Local staff were excelent, good to use local employees. Food very good and staff helpful as I am a Coeliac and was able to eat most things. Told menu to be extended to have more choice. Terrace area very nice too. Overall a very pleasant stay, will be back.

Reviewed by
G Johnson

From East Boldon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing and enjoyable!!
We spent our 'mini moon' after our wedding here. Hotel was clean and very comfortable!! The reception staff... very helpful. Only negative was one grumpy bar man ... but he was on the late shift! He could of spoken to us a little more politely as we were paying customers.
The breakfst was super..... full english and smoked salmon in scrambled eggs!!
We stayed here last year and we will stay here again for definate!! Recommended!! Junior garden suite was lovely.

Reviewed by
c baxter

From Leyland, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

"Great relaxing and stunning hotel "
Everything about this hotel is what you would expect from a good 4 star.Breakfast excellent,bar meals also and the restaurant food was superb. Everyone from management to housekeeping treated us with the utmost respect .Keep up the good work you deserve this review............

Reviewed by
michael d

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay with my dog!
The hotel was lovely, took my dog who loved his stay (it's £15 extra though which you only find out when you've booked) Lovely outside area to sit with a drink, either in a hedged beer garden area or overlooking the river, the weather was lovely so could really make the most of it. Breakfast was great, skipped lunch because I was still full, which really helps when you're out walking. Didn't eat there for dinner as looked quite basic pub grub for the price tag but found a great dog friendly pub 10 mins walk away. Room had somewhat overpowering radiator which is on all night, was a little too warm even with window open - told on leaving some rooms are like that so maybe ask to swap if you get one and don't like a hot room to sleep. Otherwise the room was nice, with delicious hot chocolate and a nice bath to relax aching legs in!

Reviewed by
Marina G

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next