Reviews - Garden Lodge Hotel


42 Sollershott East, ,, Letchworth, SG6 3JW

Price From 123.26 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (16)

13% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • S Madden

  • February 2015

Disgusting drainage stench from rear garden

Rooms are above an Indian restaurant, the rear of property overlooked a very unkept yard/garden that had an awful sewage stench from, needless to say I didn't eat in the restaurant and wouldn't stay there nor recommend anyone else to stay there.

I wish I had paid the extra £25 and stayed in a proper hotel.

  • Glyn W

  • December 2014


My Staff and I stay away most Weeks up and down the country and always look for a sensible Room Rate and expect basic Accomadation.

We stayed in Room 8, there was no Blind or Curtain to the full length Window in the Bathroom, it was frosted but still seemed like everyone could see in. there was a double Toilet roll holder the first Roll finished on our first night and you couldn't get the spare Roll to Move over. No Soap supplied, No Plugs to Bath or Shower, Remote battery's were Flat ( they did change them but had to go down to Reception. Didn't read all description of Hotel when I Booked, only Indian Food in Restaurant which I don't eat so had to drive into Town both nights to Eat. All Paint on Windows Peeling of, Floorboards creaked with every step through the Thin cheap carpet. As I said at the beginning we stay away every week and this is the first review I have ever Left. AVOID!!!

  • Alex R

  • November 2014

Garden Lodge - not pretty

Adequate for the price.

Single glazed windows with severe rot In the frames not pretty. Needs a lot of tlc to make it a more pleasant environment to stay in. Consists of 9 rooms above an Indian restuarant.

  • Katherine B

  • July 2014

I would not recommend staying here

The rooms are basic and covered in damp, damage, stains etc.

They have been cleaned, but are very old and in disrepair. That said, we only needed a bed for the night, so it did the job.

  • J Joyce

  • July 2014

Normally I don't bother with review, but for Room 4 - Avoid at all costs.

Don't get room 4, it is directly above the kitchen of the restaurant, and has an large oven fine extraction unit coming through the cupboards in the room and across the outside windows, the windows are nailed shut and the room temperature was 35 degrees + all week.

The taps are plumbed incorrect so you burn yourself in the cold tap, and the shower doesn't work. The towels were not changed in a week. Other than that it was ok.

  • A Shankland

  • July 2014


I sayed in room 9 a single bedroom looking onto the front green - a lovely view.

My room was very dusty - skirting and plug sockets had a think layer of dust. The wall was damaged where the handle had been pushed into it - an easy job to fill and paint over. The main ceiling light had no share on it - just an energy saving bulb hanging. On the positives the sheets were clean and the bathroom facilities were clean enough - if they hadn't been I would have been tempted to refuse to stay and get my money back. I only saw the member of staff to check in as I did not have breakfast so I was unable to put this feedback direct to them.

  • Pawel D

  • July 2014

Good value for money

As in subject.

Good value for money, nothing less, nothing more.

  • L Fox

  • July 2014

Cheap, but In need of update

Staff accommodating and friendly and restaurant facilities, including food, excellent.

However, state of rooms/car park/rear garden leave a lot to be desired and off-putting on arrival - litter/old furniture etc /rotting window frames and then items tired/broken/in need of repair in room.

Bed clean and very comfortable though

Apparently used by Builders in the week as cheap accommodation and fine for this purpose..... but not for general public for weekend leisure. Total shame as could be fabulous if hotel side invested in - as it is, fine if you just want a roof over your head.

  • m southerton

  • June 2014

room was very dusty, bathroom covered in mildew,no plug in sink,shaver/mirror lift not working bathroom window painted shut

  • G Wells

  • June 2014

Garden Lodge revisited

I stayed here some years back but after this time I would not come back.

Check in service was poor with a Room allocation mix up. Decor was of a poor standard throughout. Ensuite was of a poor standard with windows rotting. This is the cheapest accommodation in Letchworth but it would be more healthier sleeping on the streets. Pay the extra and stay in a more upmarket hotel.