No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St George Hotel

1Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
46 NORFOLK SQUARE , LONDON, W2 1RT
st. george hotel is situated in a beautiful garden square . in the hart of london town. just 2 miutes walk to paddington station and all bus routs.and 10 minutes walk to oxford street and hyde park.its a ideal place to stay for comfort and location. the st george hotel is a listed victorian building. near by you have the pubs / bars / restaurants / and its convenient to buckingham palace / royal albert hall / harrods
Picture of St George Hotel, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was very well situated, a few minutes walk from Paddington Station. excellent value for money and friendly staff.

Reviewed by
E Baker

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

strategical position
Near Paddington tube. 5 bus stop to Victoria Station. Hotel comfortable located in a square, very quite. Dilang Dog pub and restaurants all around the square. Breakfast is served in the room.

Reviewed by
domenica legato

From Italy
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St George Hotel
Cockroach ran past me in the bathroom from the bedroom. Showers had no cold water only boiling. Would have complained about the cockroach but there was no staff around to complain to.

Reviewed by
Steven R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pros and Cons
The room was tiny, very hot (which meant I had to have the window open and suffer the street noise), clean and cheap. Very good location for me. Despite the considerable efforts of the person serving, not least climbing 3 flights of stairs with trays, the "breakfast in the room" wasn't really worth it given the local cafes.

Reviewed by
Anthony M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

St George hotel, NORFOLK SQUARE
This was our second stay at the St George Hotel, It's clean, warm, en suite, tv, tea/coffee making facilities, after long days sight seeing that's all we needed, we stayed in a recently refurbished room, which had a double and three single beds, ideal for a family. The staff are friendly and polite. The hotel is literally fwo minutes from Paddington station, ideal for our arrival and departure from Cornwall, and ideal for the underground. Gave the food a 5, there is nothing wrong with it whatsoever, we're just not continental breakfast lovers.

Reviewed by
Christopher S

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Fine for the one night - we needed somewhere cheap to crash after seeing a show. Wasn't expecting the Hilton or anything so we weren't disappointed. The sheets were clean, and the water was hot. The bathroom was tiny and we had to climb several flights of narrow stairs to get to our room - not so great at 1am wearing high heels! 'Breakfast' was more a selection of packets and plastic - nothing fresh and no sign of a plate. They probably don't have anywhere to wash up. But I can't complain really, as I said, fine for one night.

Reviewed by
J Green

From Cambridge, England
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Night Stay
A budget level hotel. A reasonable rate for a double room on a bed and breakfast basis. The room was warm, too warm in fact with the ability not to turn off the heating. Breakfast was of continental style brought to your room. I would equate it to a continental Formula 1 hotel.
The sheets were clean and the bed comfortable the bathroom functional.
For the money you get what you pay for.

Reviewed by
Adrian F

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service wasn't very professional at first impressions for a hotel but deemed helpful enough in the end. Standard of food (included breakfast) was horrendous! Cartons of orange juice, cereal bars, yogurt, miniature plastic pots of jam etc and not forgetting the packet croissants. Our 'double room' was very tiny with not enough space to get ready and store luggage, we also discovered an exposed spring sticking out of the mattress. Our en suite bathroom was very cramped with a shower, toilet and sink which had very dull lighting. With very little natural light coming through our window due to our view of a neighbouring wall, waking up in the mornings was a challenge because our body clocks hadn't any idea what time it was, what light we had from the room lights wasn't much, in fact they weren't very bright at all. As much as I was disappointed with the accommodation, it was very convenient for commuting around London, approx 20mins walk away from Oxford and Regent's street and less than 5 minutes away from paddington station where we could connect ourselves to various underground lines and trains. Plenty of places to eat and drink within the area of the hotel, Lebanese, halal, McDonald's, KFC and various others. There are a couple of traditional pubs at the end of the street which seem very popular with travellers from all around the world and some locals. This hotel is more ideal for a short weekend break, I wouldn't recommend a family to stay here, nor anyone wanting to stay any longer than 2-3 nights. Not the worst hotel by any means, but not what I was expecting at all.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasons stay
Very disappointed with the room had 68 stairs to clime right at the top we weren't told this when we checked in the next day they moved us all we could hear was the tubes underneath us hardly any sleep . Also breakfast was in the room had to sit on the bed to eat it not except able . The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Nancy Barlow

From Corsham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sooo bad
Firstly,you can hear the noise from trains whenever they pass through. And the rooms are too tight that it's hard open your luggage completely. Also if you live in underground, you will never see the sunshine. Lastly, there is no canteen for breakfast which includes only biscuits and yogurt.

Reviewed by
Xie Y

From Guangzhou City, China
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next