No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Main Street, , , Kirkby Lonsdale, LA6 2AE
Welcome to the Royal Hotel, Kirkby Lonsdale, a lovingly restored Georgian town house hotel providing luxury accommodation and exceptional hospitality amidst the unspoilt English countryside of the Lake District, the Yorkshire Dales and the Forest of Bowland. Not only are we ideally placed for you to explore the fabulous countryside on our doorstep but we are the perfect place to explore the equally fabulous food and drink that these great counties have to offer. The Royal Hotel stands at the very heart of the Lake District town of Kirkby Lonsdale which is really brought to life by the individual shops, boutiques, cafes and pubs housed within. The atmosphere and ambience created is quite unique. The bar is exceptionally well stocked with real ales, thoughtfully selected wines and a career’s worth of whiskies, brandies and other more exotic spirits and liqueurs. Teas and coffees are served all day, there are newspapers and magazines for your perusal and the great big windows overlooking the square make it the perfect spot for a bit of people watching. It is widely accepted that great food requires great ingredients so we consider ourselves very fortunate to have such an abundance of passionate producers and suppliers on our doorstep. There are fourteen individually designed and decorated bedrooms at the Royal Hotel. Being an old building and arranged over three floors the rooms are far from standard shapes and sizes. In fact, no two rooms are exactly alike. We have therefore described and priced them all individually in our tariff too. All the rooms are en-suite with the very latest in bathroom indulgences and all the rooms feature flat screen TVs, telephones, iPod radios and coffee facilities.
Picture of The Royal Hotel, Kirkby Lonsdale at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hi, just excellant

Reviewed by
a sutton

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely welcome
Really loved staff attitude- nothing appeared too much trouble and always with a smile. Great room, comfy bed (if a little noisy) and my partner loved the plunge pool! Excellent breakfast, woul dlove to stay again

Reviewed by
Sue Fox-Willis

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our lakeland getaway
We had a great stay at the Royal, very friendly people and service was excellent. We ate in the restaurant and found the food to be excellent. There was a nice relaxed atmosphere in the bar and we flt well looked after. Would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
andrew m

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyable, relaxing evening. All staff were friendly and wanted to make your stay
a memorable experience. Beautifully decorated room with a comfortable bed and everything
you need. Comfortable nights sleep a true break for a recharge.

Reviewed by
j osguthorpe

From Newton le Willows, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good but can do better
Room was lovely but attention needs to be paid to detail - TV remote missing, telephone and bedside light not working, sweet wrapper in drawers.
Must mention breakfast - it was lovely. Well cooked, good quality ingredients and well presented. Compliments to the chef. All staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
D Holland

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top Drawer
A gem of a hotel in the unspoiled picturesque town of Kirkby Lonsdale.
The hotel is well decorated combining tradition with modern facilities, our room was fab.
The bar / lounge area is always buzzing with a relaxed atmosphere, a good selection of beers, wines and gin! What more could you want?
Recommended

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, good food, hotel room very good

Reviewed by
Denise D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick get away
Our stay at the royal was very relaxing. Accommodation set in a very nice town house situated in Kirkby Lonsdale market square. Easy parking and access to the hotel. We were met with a friendly welcome and checked in with no hassle. On entering the room we found a good size bed room and en suite with every thing you would need for a short stay. Bar area / restaurant were very nice with a good selection local beers. If you don't fancy eating at the royal there is a good selection of local restaurant's / cafe's in the town. Access to the surrounding area is easy by car if you want to explore the area and there are some great walks from the town. Great place to stay for a quiet relaxing break.

Reviewed by
Stephen G

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful stay, lovely room shame no parking

Reviewed by
JULIETTE A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 13 was fab. Lovely cotton sheets to snuggle into. Friendly staff nothing was to much trouble. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
D Parsley

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next