Reviews - The Olde Kings Arms


41 High Street, ,, Hemel Hempstead, HP1 3AF

Price From 148.12 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (60)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Alan H

  • August 2015


very welcoming and helpful staff throughout our stay.immaculate room

  • Judy D

  • July 2015


Our ground floor room Was in need of a full refurbish.

The carpet was so filthy lots of stains etc, the walls had marks on, the beds had seen better days, springs sticking through. We literally got changed and went out and got up showered and left. Felt dirty just being there, which is a shame as the pub itself is lovely, clean and has a nice atmosphere. The room we were unfortunate to have really let the hotel down


  • July 2015

Aircon faulty could not switch off.

Poor lighting in bathroom. Bed very comfy.

  • s bennett

  • April 2015

wkend away

only a small thing the parking is bad but hotel we both loved the whole thing

  • Lynn P

  • March 2015

Great value for money

Perfect location for our stay.

We visited Harry Potter studios one day and London by train the next. Very good value, good food and very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Christian P

  • February 2015

A very enjoyable stay

The staff were incredibly friendly and went out there way to help, the room was nice and all the basics were provided.

We stayed from Valentines, it is in a good location, the bar was very friendly and if you did not eat at the restaurant there is plenty of choice in the surrounding area. I would stay again, and have booked up to do so


  • February 2015

A Little Gem !

Only stayed one night at the Olde Kings Arms but what a great place.

Staff friendly, efficient and helpful. We stayed in room 7 (superior en-suite), lovely room, big comfy bed, nice decor, modern bathroom, quiet (at rear of building). Had a few drinks in the cosy and welcoming bar and ate there in the evening. Great atmosphere, service good, great food, great value and the restaurant was through the back of the bar area in a lovely old part of the building with lots of exposed wood, large fireplace and even another small bar. Fantastic breakfast, very tasty, cooked just right and lots of it. There's also a little 'shop' at the back of the restaurant that sells little nic-nacs and funky homeware and decorations, didn't know it was there until we had a look around. Would be easy to overlook this place but it would be a shame if you did, it's a little gem. Would definitely stay there again. If you're looking for somewhere to stay to visit the Harry Potter studio (as we did), it's only a 15-20 minute drive from the pub too. One tip would be to access the pub from George Street, at the back of the pub as the High Street is one way and you'll have to go past the pub, all the way down the high street then return round the back anyway for parking. Definitely recommended!!!

  • p levenston

  • February 2015

Excellent place to get your head down!

We stayed at the hotel as we needed to be fairly close to our son's place in Berkhampstead, lovely bed and clean.

In the morning we had a fabulous breakfast and the staff where ever so friendly. It was so good we are staying this Friday night.

  • J Kohler

  • January 2015

The Olde Kings Arms

Very nice place, great location, staff really helpful shower not very good wasn't able to get temperature stable.

  • James R

  • January 2015

Our day in Hemel Hempstead old town

This is an old historic property which is showing its age a bit and the owners are working hard to keep up with the demands of keeping a property maintained.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast very good and plenty of it. It has the advantage too of private parking at the rear with would otherwise be a problem in the old town where traffic wardens patrol frequently.