No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Olde Kings Arms

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
41 High Street, , , Hemel Hempstead, HP1 3AF
The Olde Kings Arms was first known as an ale house in the early 1600s. It is situated in a part of Hemel Hempstead known as the Old Town which, although occupying a comparatively small area, offers a complete package of historical quaint shops, beautiful old building and some fabulous restaurants and pubs. The Olde Kings Arms is a family friendly pub located in Hemel Hemsptead, recently refurbished with fantastic letting bedrooms, We serve a wide selection of cask beers, premium lagers and wines. We are open from 11am, serving food from noon and throughout the day. Drop in for a drink or for fantastic food from our brand new menu, offering friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere.
Picture of The Olde Kings Arms, Hemel Hempstead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 70 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
64% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel
Stayed here for one night, chose it because of location and very reasonable price, but wasn't expecting it to be as nice as it was, the room was nicely decorated with a nice bathroom and great big shower also the room was very quiet considering it's part of a pub, there was a beer delivery in the morning which we did hear from our room but we were getting up anyway and I guess that doesn't happen to often. We were also offered breakfast for an additional £5 and if was very nice to.

Reviewed by
T Jay

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

adequate
WiFi not working

Reviewed by
D Burness

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't go back!
When we arrived at the bar it was not what we expected, the staff were polite but we didn't feel overly welcomed. We stayed in our room as we wanted to get some good sleep as we were going out somewhere the next day, which was the whole reason we decided to get a room. We couldn't even watch telly in our room due to loud music that started around 8:30 and did not stop until gone midnight, when we said to the staff we couldn't sleep because of it they only replied "It'll only be going on for 15 more minutes". When the music did stop we got to sleep at gone 1 because we had headaches from the music. We got up the next day and were lead to the 'Breakfast room' which was in fact still the pub which still had dirty tables covered in alcohol from the night before. When asked for our breakfast choices we were made to feel that even toast was too much for them to do. We left and reluctantly paid the £40 for the night which we should have refused to pay as we thought the night was only worth half of that, considering the standard asking price of the room was £85 we think it is extortionate. The day that we needed to be well rested for, we ended up being extremely tired all day still carrying a migraine from the night before's ridiculous music. I would not stay here again and has also effected how I view the LastMinute.com, I don't think I will be using the website to find accommodation again.

ManagementResponse

I'm sorry your experience at The Olde Kings Arms wasn't up to standard. We have had management issues at the site which have now been rectified with a completely new team, including a new hotel manager. We refurbished the pub throughout including bringing the rooms back to the high standards our customers previously enjoyed. A fresh new menu has been introduced where we serve a full cooked breakfast, lunch and dinner. Unfortunately parking is limited, we have 4 spaces on site but a public car park is easily accessible where any costs incurred will be refunded against any food and drink purchased at the bar. I'm sorry again regarding your experience here and I do hope you will try us again soon where Elliott and his team will look after you. The Directors - Oak Taverns Ltd

Reviewed by
Sophie C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

..
..

Reviewed by
Thomas R

From ., Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

why did I book this hotel
The hotel was so bad no customer service at all. The room was really unclean no tv remote , the floor was dirty , we had spiders in our room killed about three took pictures aswell. Our bed wasent even a double bed it was 2 single beds placed together. We had breakfast included in our rate it was that bad we refused breakfast and went to the local weatherspoons. The towles we had wasent even body towles. I would never recoment this place to anyone !!! So disappointed this was even on laterooms.

Reviewed by
d maguire

From luton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
Room was neat and tidy, a few cobwebs, but a nice room at front of building.
There was no hot water the night we was there, but it was fixed by the morning, and they took £10 off the bill.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and hot.
I would stay again.

Reviewed by
alex d

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would not recomend
Firstly there was no parking as stated when booked except on street which was very limited but if you go just round the corner there is a Pay and display at reasonable prices and the Wifi never worked in the two days we where there.
As for the room it was quite big for the price we paid but it was not clean. It looked like someone had spread beer over the wall and nobody had cleaned it, The was no lights by the bed and the room looked dated.
The public areas of the hotel was not secured as the door frame had still not been repaired as has been mentioned in one of the earlier review and to top it off they do not turn the hallway lights on. After complaining twice they where on when we returned the first night but again the second night they where not on so we had to make our way back to the room in darkness.
Both nights the pub was shut by 10pm so there was no way of contacting anyone with problems.
Only one towel for a double room and when complained they said they would have to take it out of another room as they don't have any spares which they eventually brought to us and the half toiler roll was never refilled resulting in a trip to the corner shop in the middle of the night.
In all the best part of the stay was the breakfast so we would not recommend staying unless things improve

Reviewed by
David G

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No good if you want to leave before 8am!
Good rate for B+B, and a nice clean room. Limited parking. Was looked at suspiciously by the locals who stopped talking when I came in...
Room was fine, but breakfast not served until 8am which is no good for anyone with an early start. When I got up to leave at half past seven there was nobody to pay (I had not been asked to pay the night before, which I wouldn't have minded).
I therefore left a cheque on the table in my bedroom, only to receive a phone call later that day saying that they didn't take cheques and asking for my card details.
I was driving so rang them back the next day with card details - they did promise to knock £5 off the bill for no breakfast; if you want a cooked breakfast rather than continental you have to pay extra - I'm actually in favour of this, as a middle-aged man struggling to stay fit in hotels combining big breakfasts and rubbish will-power.

Reviewed by
A Jeffrey

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be so much better
Where to start.
Room looks perfect when you arrive.
How wrong was I.
Half the lights don't work
The shower leaks and isn't very good.
There is a stupid emergency light in the room that glows green and made it ver difficult to sleep at night.
The breakfast was shocking. Under cooked and a horrible cup of tea. This was a shock as the meal I had the night before was excellent so maybe this was a one off.
This hotel could be fantastic with little bit of work. The people running it are really nice and helpful.
Shame really as it is potentially a lovely old hotel in a beautiful place.
Hopefully if I stay again the experience will be much better

Reviewed by
John D

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value, Nice Spacious, well equipped room
I got this room at a knock down rate of £40, and for that it was excellent value, with a the room being of very high standard. Spacious, Tv with DVD player. Nice pub, though the residential area immediately behind the pub looks slightly run down. It was quiet during my midweek stay, Breakfast was only from 8am, which as business traveller is a little late for me, and was of good quality if a little basic.

Reviewed by
Peter F

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next