Macdonald Townhouse Manchester

4

101 PORTLAND STREET, MANCHESTER, M1 6DF

Price From 284.63 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (152)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Baljit Watson

  • May 2015

Macdonald Townhouse Manchester

The parking for hotel is poor.

When we arrived we went round in circles, we gave up going into hotel for directions to car park. That aside hotel was very nice, from reception staff to staff in the morning who attended to us.

I was there for the Manchester 10km and wants to stay somewhere nicer than the usual run of the mill places. Would definitely stay again, a couple of suggestions 2 bottles if water, more than 3 coffees and milk. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Peter F

  • April 2015

Great accommodation and staff but poor food

We were delighted with reception on check-in and the room was excellent, comfortable bed, very clean and the decor/bathroom was first class.

We opted for the Signature cooked breakfast in the morning and to say it was poor is an understatement, it promised to be cooked to order as opposed to a buffet which was encouraging but when it came it was overcooked, the egg was hard, the bacon so crisp it snapped in two, the tomato and black pudding were equally overcooked. However, reception refunded the charge without hesitation.

  • Chris Deakin

  • April 2015

Great location

super location, great room and staff couldn't do enough for you

  • Sean M

  • April 2015

Macdonald Townhouse Manchester

Everything was just fine & great location.

  • Jane A

  • April 2015

Good hotel

Very nice staff, friendly and helpful.

Clean and bright hotel. Great pillows. and bed linen. Spare towels on hand.

  • L Normington

  • March 2015

Very nice Hotel

All the staff were very nice

  • Kate S

  • March 2015

Very poor lighting in the room we had.

Didn't make it easy to get ready and do makeup ect. Room also very cold, should have some little heat for arrival. Parking was a nightmare to find.

  • R Veasey

  • March 2015

Stay at MacDonald Townhouse

My stay, for a training course in the City, was excellent.

Most outstanding was the customer service that I received from every employee from the Q parking attendants through to Orin Thompson on reception, the staff in the restaurant and reception later in the week. The two young ladies who looked after me and helped me with my bags on Friday 27th March deserve a particular mention. The housekeeper was excellent and the young lady who cleaned my room was very good neatly putting everything in place where I had left it. There were minor hiccups ie waiting so long for my meal on Tuesday as there was only one chef and no icecream on Thursday night but these were minor and paled into insignificance because the staff were so lovely and clearly well managed with customer service top of the agenda. Highly recommend the hotel and would definitely use it as the location was ideal for me. It was close to the Arndale and Station and within walking distance of my training location. Only downside is that parking is across the road but a very well managed and clean carpark plus you get 30% discount from the hotel. Yang Sing restaurant across the road was highly recommended too and Shere Khan on the Wilmslow Road also deserves a mention.

  • s clough

  • March 2015

Great breakfast, comfortable beds and friendly helpful staff.

  • Irene M

  • March 2015

Mixed bag

The standard of customer service varied dramatically according to the individuals on duty.

We were allowed to charge drinks and breakfast to our room but were denied this when attempting to charge a pre-theatre meal. We were informed that we had not swiped our credit card at check-in but the receptionist had not asked for this. I assumed, as our reservation had been secured by credit card that this was possibly enough. This then necessitated a dash back to our room for our credit card, meaning that we then had to rush to the theatre. On returning that evening, we went to the bar for cocktails. Although my daughter had been waiting patiently to be served, she was overlooked by the barman who chose instead to serve a gentleman who had just entered the bar. On attempting to order a second cocktail around midnight, we were told that cocktails were now unavailable as the staff required to mix them had gone home. This was not accompanied by an apology, just a statement of fact. Although the food served was all of excellent quality, the portion size of the cooked breakfast was meagre in comparison to similar hotels in both Manchester and elsewhere. The waiting staff and receptionist at checkout however could not be faulted.