No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Townhouse Manchester

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
101 PORTLAND STREET , MANCHESTER, M1 6DF
The Macdonald Townhouse is a grade II listed building in the heart of Manchester City Centre, perfectly located for the many business districts and to enjoy Manchester’s shopping as well as theatre and exhibitions in the city centre. Constructed in 1870, the grand façade of this former textile warehouse has remained largely unchanged although the building was converted into a hotel in 1982. The hotel underwent an extensive refurbishment programme in 2010, transforming it into a 4 star Boutique Hotel, whilst still retaining many of the features of the original building.

Due to the nature of the warehouse design the contemporary designed, air conditioned bedrooms are spacious and filled with light from the large windows that surround each floor level. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

Discounted Car Parking rates are available at Q-Park Piazza, St James Street which is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast can be purchased for £17.50 per person.
Picture of Macdonald Townhouse Manchester, MANCHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 148 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was a decent size, clean with all the standard items you would expect. Hotel bar was stylish but a little expensive. Reception staff were excellent. Hotel position was very good for exploring the city centre.

Reviewed by
C Edwards

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
We would highly recommend this hotel, all the staff were so nice, nothing was too much trouble, they made our stay one of the best we have ever experienced in england.
The breakfast was first class, good quality food with first class service.
We can recommend this hotel, should we ever return to Manchester, this is the one for us.
Yours truly John and Mary Devonish

Reviewed by
m devonish

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High expectations......big disappointment
Arrived and were given a double room rather than executive twin which we had booked. Had to go back down to reception where reception staff requested that the same room be made a twin (in other words pull the beds apart!). This didn't happen and we were given a room a floor below this, a ready made twin room. Room without a view...or rather facing a building...Mmmm. Big stain on carpet just as you entered door. The information book in the room is out of date (as discovered through general conversation with staff...this was regards to pets...not that we had any with us - it just came up in conversation)...so don't know what other information was accurate or otherwise. There was only one bottle of water provided despite the fact there were two of us and we were paying £130 for the 'privilege'. The shower cubicle is very small. It appeared we had been given a room adjoining another however we were not told about this. After spending the evening out we returned to find that housekeeping had been in to turn down beds and close the curtains. Neither of us were particularly happy given we weren't asked if we wanted this and all our personal items were in the room. Also they hadn't replaced used cups. The following morning on attempting to use the hairdryer, it wouldn't work. Turned out there appeared to be an intermittent fault with the double socket. Although someone did bring up another hairdryer very quickly. We decided to go out and find breakfast elsewhere on account of all these things as breakfast was going to be £20 each as we felt we had given enough to the hotel and not received the required standard. We informed reception of all of the above and were offered complimentary breakfast, which we took. Again - so glad we weren't paying for it. It was not worth £20. Another reviewer on Trip Advisor wrote about flies...we saw this to...near the fruit. Offered toast, accepted...I got white bread....I honestly think they had walked past the toaster on the way out the kitchen and waved the bread at it. We were asked what we would like with our breakfast...that was fine...it was returned minus fried bread which we again asked where it was. It was brought to us on a toast rack and was hard like croutons. One small sausage, two pieces of bacon, half of one tomato, fried egg, one mushroom...luke warm plate. After this we were asked if we wanted more toast, I said yes 'white please'...attempt 2! Toast never appeared and had to ask again and for more butter. Toast came out....it was brown bread.. I didn't bother mentioning it. I had gave up. Another reviewer has written that in general the big things were ok but the attention to detail for the things that should have made it an executive room...that should have made it a £20 breakfast etc were just not there. Hugely disappointing. It was one night away for my mum's 65th birthday when we went to visit Coronation Street. Given I had two children, one very young, this is not something that will happen on a regular basis and we had hoped for much better. I have been in better Travel Lodge type hotels. That said we have received an e-mail from management offering us a discount on a further stay but as I've said we will not be back. On a plus I forgot the plug (although I had the cable) for my phone charger and I was lent one from reception.

Reviewed by
C Jamieson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Lovely hotel great service from all staff

Reviewed by
Pete D

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was spotlessly clean I really couldn't fault it apart from the shower desperately needed to be re sealed as it had become quite grotty and stained.
The noise from outside revellers kept me awake till after 4am.
The next night we checked into the palace hotel where I got a good nights sleep

Reviewed by
j graham

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for birthday celebrations!!
A great base from which to explore the city, and what a welcome! Bubbles on arrival, petals on my bed and a plate of chocolate birthday goodies - thank you!!

Reviewed by
Jo L

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary stay & fancy dress party
Excellent hotel located right in the centre of Manchester. We were celebrating our anniversary on the first day and the hotel had decorated the bed with red petals and left chocolates on the table for us. A nice touch. We did not have the opportunity to enjoy an evening meals but the buffet and cooked breakfasts were excellent. I believe local produce. Easy access with lifts from pavement level as well as there are flights of stairs to get into the hotel. It was a great location for all out wanderings.
24 hour bar.

Reviewed by
A Rowe

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great night in Manchester
Fantastic central location luxurious rooms.definetly coming back

Reviewed by
martyn b

From Brierley Hill, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice staff
The hotel is located in a very good location within Manchester, walking distance for many good restaurants, bars etc. The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. The rooms were very comfy and great view of the city from the top floor I was staying in. Would definitely we recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
H Patel

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Affordable, luxury hotel
Excellent hotel in a fantastic location. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially at check in. Our room was on the first floor and the only fault was that it was facing the main road. It was very loud throughout the night with traffic. The room was very clean and really modern. Definitely the most comfortable bed in any hotel we have stayed! We had breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed, it was beautiful. We would 100% return to this hotel.

Reviewed by
William Jones

From Amlwch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next