No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Townhouse Manchester

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
101 PORTLAND STREET , MANCHESTER, M1 6DF
The Macdonald Townhouse is a grade II listed building in the heart of Manchester City Centre, perfectly located for the many business districts and to enjoy Manchester’s shopping as well as theatre and exhibitions in the city centre. Constructed in 1870, the grand façade of this former textile warehouse has remained largely unchanged although the building was converted into a hotel in 1982. The hotel underwent an extensive refurbishment programme in 2010, transforming it into a 4 star Boutique Hotel, whilst still retaining many of the features of the original building.

Due to the nature of the warehouse design the contemporary designed, air conditioned bedrooms are spacious and filled with light from the large windows that surround each floor level. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

Discounted Car Parking rates are available at Q-Park Piazza, St James Street which is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast can be purchased for £19.50 per person.
Picture of Macdonald Townhouse Manchester, MANCHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 150 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
Room by lift and air con did not work

Reviewed by
Anthony C

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was pretty - very pokey room, cold shower!
The hotel itself is very well presented. We got to our room, it was very clean, but extremely small with a window at the top of the ceiling so you couldn't see out of the window. Bathroom was ok, but the toilet didn't flush and the shower was hot and cold intermittently.
A bit disappointing considering the price.

Reviewed by
A Little

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Expensive plus Wi-fi Issues
As we booked last minute, I found we had to book the more expensive Deluxe rooms but not that impressed for the additional money. Breakfast was then on top. Were told when we checked in that a bowl of fruit would be taken to our rooms but that didn't materialise. Little coffee machine in my room didn't work (although they did bring me fresh coffee as room service which was good). My colleague had no wi-fi access on his laptop from his room and problem could not be resolved. This was important to us as we had to prepare for an important meeting the following morning.

Reviewed by
Martin L

From Reigate, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay
Stay was good. Our room passes denied us access twice which was a pain. The room was very warm at night and we couldn't open the window. We had to queue for breakfast as they didn't seem to be able to clear the tables quick enough.

Reviewed by
Pat Flanagan

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect!
Excellent room with amazing bathroom! Perfect breakfast!

Reviewed by
L Urmston

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was just ok bit creepy with the bibles but life goes on

Reviewed by
R BROWN

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
Very helpful staff, loved the option to check out late at 3pm.

Reviewed by
D Brown

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved it
me and my girlfriend loved our stay. everything was perfect. As our first weekend away as a couple we couldn't have asked for a better hotel.

Reviewed by
Scott McCabe

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Once found - what a find!
Stayed one night and booked very last minute. The hotel was not the easiest to spot (even with satnav) but as said we did book on the last minute, did not read directions and are not local to Manchester. The gentleman at the reception was welcoming and our room was spotless. We were able to eat at the hotel even though the restaurant closed in 5 minutes, the food was excellent, as were the cocktails. Had a lovely nights sleep in a comfortable bed, there was some slight noise from a night club below, but nothing too intrusive. There was plenty of choice for breakfast and it was of a good quality.

Reviewed by
V A

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super experience
A top quality establishment, offering everything to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Comfortable bed, ideal setting and excellent services offered. All in all a delight.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next