No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Townhouse Manchester

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
101 PORTLAND STREET , MANCHESTER, M1 6DF
The Macdonald Townhouse is a grade II listed building in the heart of Manchester City Centre, perfectly located for the many business districts and to enjoy Manchester’s shopping as well as theatre and exhibitions in the city centre. Constructed in 1870, the grand façade of this former textile warehouse has remained largely unchanged although the building was converted into a hotel in 1982. The hotel underwent an extensive refurbishment programme in 2010, transforming it into a 4 star Boutique Hotel, whilst still retaining many of the features of the original building.

Due to the nature of the warehouse design the contemporary designed, air conditioned bedrooms are spacious and filled with light from the large windows that surround each floor level. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

Discounted Car Parking rates are available at Q-Park Piazza, St James Street which is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast can be purchased for £17.50 per person.
Picture of Macdonald Townhouse Manchester, MANCHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 160 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality
Good location, clean, good customer service. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Reviewed by
A Darbyshire

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All excellent! Thankyou :)

Reviewed by
Manon D

From Corwen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff really accommodating after our hotel was changed last minute which was very unorganised.

Reviewed by
N Shaw

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, great staff
The room we stayed in was excellent, the staff were very efficient and friendly. We had a great chat with the manager too who couldn't do enough to make sure that we'd had a great stay. I'd recommend the hotel to anyone for it's great location and excellent staff.

Reviewed by
Joanne P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
We stayed here for one night. Great hotel would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
L Davies

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel is close to town centre . Staff are very helpfull. Fantastic breakfast.

Reviewed by
Graham J

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Central Location, High Quality Experience with a Hint of Bass and Late Night Revelry!!
I was looking for a last minute deal for a Saturday night in Central Manchester and I'd been in the bar of the Town House previously.
When I say the rate, I booked immediately so that I could check out the quality..
The customer service and experience was great, the quality of the room exceptional, however, my only downside was that when I got back after my own late night, the sound of late night revellers and distant bass music could be heard outside the windows (even though I was on the 5th Floor).
It could be said that this is only to be expected for a top class destination and for the central location that the Town House provides, so I wasn't overly bothered and it may be my own acute hearing that got the better of me, despite the efforts of the hotel to soundproof the rooms.
It wouldn't put me off a return visit but i'd be more aware of when I was staying and a little more mindful of the location of the room I was staying so that I could be a little more prepared.
Great hotel, good service, high quality and excellent location, if for a little bit of bass!

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review

Reviewed by
Dominic G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Accomodation
Only real issue was the staff seeming determined to get rid of me at breakfast, despite me leaving breakfast more than 30min before breakfast ended. I hadn't even put the last mouthful in my mouth and they were trying to take my plate and set all the tables round me for lunch, which isn't great considering I paid extra for breakfast.
Generally breakfast could have been better.

Reviewed by
D Moffat

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely front of house staff
The staff I encountered on my stay were very accommodating and helpful.

Reviewed by
F Clark

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next