No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Townhouse Manchester

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
101 PORTLAND STREET , MANCHESTER, M1 6DF
The Macdonald Townhouse is a grade II listed building in the heart of Manchester City Centre, perfectly located for the many business districts and to enjoy Manchester’s shopping as well as theatre and exhibitions in the city centre. Constructed in 1870, the grand façade of this former textile warehouse has remained largely unchanged although the building was converted into a hotel in 1982. The hotel underwent an extensive refurbishment programme in 2010, transforming it into a 4 star Boutique Hotel, whilst still retaining many of the features of the original building.

Due to the nature of the warehouse design the contemporary designed, air conditioned bedrooms are spacious and filled with light from the large windows that surround each floor level. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

Discounted Car Parking rates are available at Q-Park Piazza, St James Street which is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast can be purchased for £17.50 per person.
Picture of Macdonald Townhouse Manchester, MANCHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 158 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice staff
The hotel is located in a very good location within Manchester, walking distance for many good restaurants, bars etc. The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. The rooms were very comfy and great view of the city from the top floor I was staying in. Would definitely we recommend it to others.

Reviewed by
H Patel

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Affordable, luxury hotel
Excellent hotel in a fantastic location. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially at check in. Our room was on the first floor and the only fault was that it was facing the main road. It was very loud throughout the night with traffic. The room was very clean and really modern. Definitely the most comfortable bed in any hotel we have stayed! We had breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed, it was beautiful. We would 100% return to this hotel.

Reviewed by
William Jones

From Amlwch, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff couldn't do enough for you - and they were so pleasant! Ideal location near both Picadilly and Oxford Road train stations.

Reviewed by
R Spencer

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice to return to Macdonald Townhouse Manchester again.
Very conveniently located hotel 10 minutes easy walk from Manchester Piccadilly station. Lovely staff, great breakfast and great rooms. What more do you want!

Reviewed by
Anthony Burlton

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great city break
warm welcome from very helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble from more milk for the hospitality tray to extra late check out and looking after our luggage - the breakfast was also excellent - fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, quality cereals - could not fault anything

Reviewed by
Eunice jamieson

From Milnthorpe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

MacDonalds Townhouse August 2014
Decent hotel but very expensive food and awful Wi-Fi via The Cloud which requires you to provide all your personal detail, allow sharing of this data with other companies and drops out after a while requiring you to log in again. Very annoying. Room was comfortable but noisy fronting the main road but not unexpected. The menu in the bar was trying to be upmarket and was ridiculously expensive so eat out! Very attentive service however. Breakfast was very good with freshly cooked order at the table rather than the usual DIY buffet style.

Reviewed by
Peter P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It did the job
Ideally situated for bars and restaurants so ideal for us. Not exactly a boutique as advertised. Decent sized comfortable bed, clean room and helpful staff. Disappointed with the small room and noise from traffic , even into the small hours.

Reviewed by
L Gray

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay, friendly staff and nice atmosphere.

Reviewed by
J Twizell

From Burnley, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
This hotel puts all of Manchester in easy reach

Reviewed by
Jason Brooks

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birhtday Break
we stayed for my partners birthday. We found the hotel staff excellent. They were smartly dressed and nothing was too much trouble. The room was clean. The hotel was in a great location.
If there was a down side there is no where to park outside the hotel to drop you you bits off.
We would reccomend the hotel and would stay again.
Tam & Steph

Reviewed by
T Nicol

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next