No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Macdonald Townhouse Manchester

4AA Assessed Town House Hotel Ratings explained
101 PORTLAND STREET , MANCHESTER, M1 6DF
The Macdonald Townhouse is a grade II listed building in the heart of Manchester City Centre, perfectly located for the many business districts and to enjoy Manchester’s shopping as well as theatre and exhibitions in the city centre. Constructed in 1870, the grand façade of this former textile warehouse has remained largely unchanged although the building was converted into a hotel in 1982. The hotel underwent an extensive refurbishment programme in 2010, transforming it into a 4 star Boutique Hotel, whilst still retaining many of the features of the original building.

Due to the nature of the warehouse design the contemporary designed, air conditioned bedrooms are spacious and filled with light from the large windows that surround each floor level. Free wifi is available in all public areas, meetings rooms and guest rooms.

Discounted Car Parking rates are available at Q-Park Piazza, St James Street which is just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast can be purchased for £19.50 per person.
Picture of Macdonald Townhouse Manchester, MANCHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 147 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
Room great but needed some drawers to put stuff in. TV great bIg bed. Air con a bit on and off but altogether a really comfortable hotel. Good breakfast

Reviewed by
J Deeley

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Nice hotel, comfy bed, great central location
Fantastic shower. Bad lighting, too dark, wife struggled to
Do makeup as very dim
Staff friendly, would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Stephen I

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great new year.
Lovely comfortable bed, well finshed bathroom.

Reviewed by
john n

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer service.
Called reception on day 1 shortly after check in about a problem with the bath, I was told by that lady on reception somebody would come up to check it out. 2 days passed and by the time we checked out, still nobody had been to have a look.
Also, on the first night, a lady just walked right in our room without knocking to make sure somebody was in.
Luckily, my partner had just put on her bath robe after showing. Very rude.

Reviewed by
Ryan W

From Manchester , UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald townhouse review by D.Winfield
Had a nice stay here the staff were very nice and helpful, the location is good and would stay again. The beds are a bit bouncy for me but that's personal preference. the breakfast has a good choice but the coffee is not to my taste but was to others. The only problem that I was not pleased with was there is no opening windows and all be it I went in December the room was too hot for me when it came to sleeping. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will probably go again

Reviewed by
D Winfield

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

character with comfort
amazingly comfortable bed with egyptian cotton sheets to slide into.A little noisy as we were allocated a room at the front of the hotel but didn't keep us awake and a small price to pay for the convenient location. Would go again for sure.

Reviewed by
n quick

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald TownHouse Manchester
Central Manchester hotel which is within 5 minute walk of stations, shops, restaurants, etc. Second time staying at hotel and would stay again. Hotel does not have own car park but has deal with Q park opposite.

Reviewed by
Francesca W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
Very convenient location for centre of manchester. Rooms were nice, clean and ours was quiet. Comfortable bed. Reception staff very helpful.
Parking at the nearby qpark was difficult to find ( blame the sat nav!) but very close by. Dont pre bok parking online,,,you can get a 30% discount from reception on checkout.

Reviewed by
Joanne m

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas shopping trip
Staff we came into contact with were all very polite, helpful and efficient. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. Hotel not far from rail station - ideal for us as we'd travelled by train. Hotel also close to city centre so we were pleasantly surprised that it was reasonably quiet throughout the night and we enjoyed a good night's sleep.

Reviewed by
R Clayton

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Ideal city centre location and very clean room, thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend.

Reviewed by
James W

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next