No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Maritime Club

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
75-80 QUEEN STREET, PORTSMOUTH, PO1 3HS
Just a few hundred metres from Gunwharf Quays and Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, the hotel offers free Wi-Fi, comfortable en suite rooms.

The Royal Maritime Club has a superb location, just a short walk from Portsmouth Harbour Railway Station, the Spinnaker Tower and the shops, bars and restaurants of the Gunwharf Quays waterfront development. You can also explore Portsmouth’s rich naval history, with the Mary Rose, HMS Victory and HMS Warrior just a few minutes’ walk away.

All of the well-appointed en suite rooms have TVs and tea/coffee making facilities. Double and twin rooms have baths and showers.

All guests can use the hotel’s leisure facilities (some facilities are chargeable and time restrictions apply).

The hotel also offers a lunchtime cafe and a newly refurbished bar and restaurant.

Some limited free parking is available, alternative parking is available by either the car park opposite or by purchasing a temporary permit from Reception to enable parking in the surrounding residential areas.

Information: Guests are advised that from time to time functions take place in the club. On these occasions it is possible music can be heard until midnight
Picture of The Royal Maritime Club, PORTSMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location, tired accommodation
Room was very quiet being at the back of the hotel. However, the bathroom was very old with enamel peeling off the bath and lime water marks all round the taps. The bathroom also had an odd smell. The bedroom had seen better days and could do with being redecorated and refurnished. However, the bedding was clean.Staff at Reception were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Ann C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding of a friend
My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a wedding of our friend the place was beautiful and the room was wonderful if a bit hot but there was a fan in the room which helped. The singe to the room was not to clear but once we found our room it was ok. All staff where very helpful .

Reviewed by
Ruth Morris

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

get away
lovely place Portsmouth hope to go back again very soon

Reviewed by
margaret g

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

David B, Gloucester
What a delightful place to stay!
One of the most comfortable and friendly hotels I've stayed at recently.
The Staff were helpful and welcoming, the food was excellent, and the accommodation also.
I shall definitely try to stay at the Club again, for pleasure and/or business.

Reviewed by
DAVID B

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit old fashioned
As long as you don't expect a whizzy looking environment , RMC offers good down to earth accommodation. Decor looks a bit tired in some places, but spotless bathroom , good towels, comfortable bed, and excellent breakfast included in price

Reviewed by
Phillip Hodson

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, excellent staff and good wholesome food.

Reviewed by
Peter Bushby

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice comfy Bed, shower water flow poor. Wedding party did not control the children so noisy in loung
Nice comfy Bed. shower water flow poor. The wedding display in the Private Room looked lovely.

Reviewed by
C Hudson

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and an interesting building
If you need to be near to Gunwharf Quays and the Historic Dockyard, then there's no better place to stay. Both are just a few minutes walk away from the hotel, and free parking too (limited). We booked a superior room, which although not large, seemed brand new and was nicely decorated, spotlessly clean, and as a bonus had a view of Spinnaker Tower. Really quiet too so had a great night's sleep. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful. We only had breakfast at the hotel. Overall a very good stay. Will definitely use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Sharon M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value.

Reviewed by
Allan E

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Room
We checked in and the staff where lovely and friendly. I loved the style of the hotel, it was fab.
I was a little apprehensive when we where walking through the corridor to our room, dated and creaky doors, I will admit I was a little downhearted..
But.. Our bedroom was absolutely fantastic, recently decorated to a very high standard, it was perfect for us.
I didn't use the swimming pool as I was not here for that.
The breakfast in the morning was gorgeous and kept us full till teatime!.. The staff in the restaurant where just as attentive as the rest of the hotel.

Reviewed by
M Pullen

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next