Reviews - The Royal Maritime Club



Price From 168.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (89)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jeremy M

  • August 2015

Any port in a storm!

This is an interesting establishment, surporting to be a club rather than an hotel.

Apparently it's possible to join, though quite how is unclear. I'd read some rather negative reviews elsewhere, but wasn't put off because I wasn't looking for luxury - just somewhere convenient to crash during the Royal Yacht Squadron's Bicentenarry Regatta. That said, the room was big and the bed comfortable: the en suite bathroom actually contained a proper bath so what's not to like. Okay, the "fifties deco" decor was a bit tired but so what. Best of all, they let you dump your luggage for as long as you like both before check in and after check out- now that really is convenient if, like me, you arrive and depart on foot,

By booking through Late Rooms I seemed to get the "members' rate" but have no idea if this makes me a member!

  • m walker

  • August 2015

The Royal Maritime Club

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room was lovely and en suite was amazing. Had our evening meal there and im sad to say it was very disappointing again staff were great but food was poor time to hire a chef!

  • Daphne B

  • July 2015

Depressing Room

We needed a room last minute after our ferry from Poole was cancelled.

We used and there was not much choice left. We chose this hotel because it was well situated and had parking. The receptionist was extremely helpful and at first sight of the reception area we thought we had struck gold. Unfortunately reallity set in when we got to the room. This was one of the dullest, depressing rooms at have ever seen. No pictures, no colour, just old dark furniture. The bed dipped in the middle and we couldn't wait to leave.

  • Angela M

  • July 2015

Lovely hotel, pleasant Staff, room size and quality of breakfast, were not value for money.

Breakfast was not very inspiring, the rate we paid, was not reflected in the quality of the food, sausages, and bacon were the cheapest on the market, and mushrooms came out of a can.

  • Neil B

  • July 2015

The Royal Maritime Club

I've known this hotel as the home club, close to the sights, and breakfast was really good.

Would stay again.

  • Oliver B

  • July 2015

Stay in Portsmouth

  • Mary G

  • June 2015

Don't take your car

Despite website saying that there is on-site parking at this hotel, there are only a handful of spaces at this hotel, resulting in me spending 30 mins trying to find somewhere to park - not what you want after a 4 hour journey and I had to pay £10 for the privilege.

Reception's response to my dis-satisfaction was - it's a city, what do you expect. Hotel looks very run down once you get past reception and it certainly wasn't worth the £125 I paid for one night. Avoid.

  • J Price

  • June 2015

Excellent service.

Staff very kind and helpful.

  • J Smith-Gwilliams

  • June 2015

Good until the end!!!

Reception staff friendly and helpful, room recently refurbished and very nice, one of the breakfast staff very rude!!.

Shame really tainted the stay.

  • V Vasiliou

  • June 2015

Good Quality room at Royal Maritime Club

The Royal Maritime Club was chosen because of a wedding reception in the ballroom.

Pros: Room was spacious, clean and quiet, even though facing the main road. Bathroom clean, tidy and stocked with clean towels and shower gel. Cons: The TV is small and high (near the ceiling) and the shower temperature control is a bit fiddly.