No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Maritime Club

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
75-80 QUEEN STREET, PORTSMOUTH, PO1 3HS
Just a few hundred metres from Gunwharf Quays and Portsmouth Historic Dockyard, the hotel offers free Wi-Fi, comfortable en suite rooms.

The Royal Maritime Club has a superb location, just a short walk from Portsmouth Harbour Railway Station, the Spinnaker Tower and the shops, bars and restaurants of the Gunwharf Quays waterfront development. You can also explore Portsmouth’s rich naval history, with the Mary Rose, HMS Victory and HMS Warrior just a few minutes’ walk away.

All of the well-appointed en suite rooms have TVs and tea/coffee making facilities. Double and twin rooms have baths and showers.

All guests can use the hotel’s leisure facilities (some facilities are chargeable and time restrictions apply).

The hotel also offers a lunchtime cafe and a newly refurbished bar and restaurant.

Some limited free parking is available, alternative parking is available by either the car park opposite or by purchasing a temporary permit from Reception to enable parking in the surrounding residential areas.

Information: Guests are advised that from time to time functions take place in the club. On these occasions it is possible music can be heard until midnight
Picture of The Royal Maritime Club, PORTSMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
Goof location for the docks but hotel rather grubby and at £90 per room I would have expected better. Staff quite friendly

Reviewed by
Sharon M

From Staines upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top of my list
Have stopped all over Portsmouth.but this is the one to stop at. Great location, every amenity, super breakfast, gets my vote.

Reviewed by
Peter Mills

From Stourport on Severn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid week break
Very close to Historic Dockyard and Gunwharf shopping centre which is good for sightseeing. Ate out ever night, evening menu not to our taste although breakfast was good, we ate early. Rooms very hot during first week August. Room decor not brilliant but all we were looking for was a bed to sleep in.Staff veryhelpful and friendly. Bar prices cheapest in Portsmouth. Only real complaint was being woken by seagulls at 5am because windows had to be kept open. Would return again for longer period. Hotel a registered charity and very old and elegant in entrance area. Very relieved dress code was clean jeans and T-shirt in restaurant and bar as impression of entrance area gives a higher expectation.

Reviewed by
Mark O

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful and accommodating staff. Nice size rooms with en-suite, shower only trickled (disappointing) but all in all a very pleasant stay.5 min walk to marina and outlet stores. Would recommend and stay again.

Reviewed by
stephen c

From Ascot, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Lovely bedrooms. Very clean. Food was amazing. Staff really friendly.

Reviewed by
M Royales

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We upgraded to a superior double room which appeared to have been recently refurbished . It had anice new bathroom and verything was clean and pleasant .

Reviewed by
Sandy C

From Bagillt, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bathroom
bathroom was very large which was not expected but great.

Reviewed by
Steve H

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent nights stay
A good hotel, clean with helpful and efficient staff. Great location for the historic dockyards. Will use again in the future.

Reviewed by
STEPHEN L

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely bright Room and view of The Spinakker Tower!
We really enjoyed our 3 night stay in Portsmouth at The Royal Maritime Club. Great room, lovely and bright. Fantastic all you can eat breakfast which really set us both up for the day. We recommend this to anyone who wants a good nights sleep in a peaceful location within a 5 minute walk of the Historic Dockyard, shopping centre (Gunwharf Quays) and lots of places to have dinner. :-)

Reviewed by
H George

From Leytonstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really Lovely stay :)
First visit here and very happy with everything really. Very c lose to train station and shops and bars which is what we wanted. all staff were very lovely and happy to help. rooms were really nice just a little hot :) There was a fan in every room but didn't really. We will be returning in September and can not wait.

Reviewed by
T Tuson

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next