No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wynford

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
NOOK LANE , AMBLESIDE, LA22 9BH
Sharon and Paul Morton welcome you to Wynford Guest House in Ambleside, Lakeland's best loved village, where you will find a warm friendly welcome, first class accommodation and excellent food.

Furnished and decorated to a superior standard, Wynford combines elegance and comfort with a relaxed atmosphere where you can be sure of an enjoyable stay.

Situated in a quiet traffic free lane on the edge of Ambleside and leading directly on to the fellside, Wynford offers peaceful surroundings, great views and a tranquil garden for you to enjoy. Walkers and cyclists welcome and there are walks from the door. Clothes drying facilities are available. There is ample private parking.
Picture of Wynford, AMBLESIDE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely guest house, would definitely recommend. Sharon and Paul are very welcoming and friendly. the guest house is a short walk form the town centre down a very narrow road. Lots of extras offered, that give this guest house a very personal touch!

Reviewed by
Miriam L

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

extremely comfortable with wonderful views
Access by a quiet narrow lane which leads to an excellent B & B with good parking. It is about a 15 minutes pleasant stroll into the centre of Ambleside although the walk back up the hill might be a problem for some.

Reviewed by
diana d

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lakes anniversary
We booked very easily through Late Rooms without problem, Sharon and Paul even emailed us to confirm our booking and our veggie breakfast. Our experience at the Wynford was consistent with many others before, Sharon welcomed us at the door and showed us our lovely room. It was our wedding anniversary, we sat out on the patio enjoying a drink and the scenery before walking into Ambleside for the meal and film deal at Zefferellis. The car was conveniently parked at the Wynford throughout and even during the day we left.The walk back was punctuated by a stop at the local pub before tackling the short hill. The excellent breakfast was had looking out over the hills surrounding Ambleside and watching the birds on the feeder. All in all, excellent.
A lovely guest house, very reasonable rates, very accommodating and friendly, perfectly cooked breakfast. It is on a hill 10 mins walk from town, but you wouldn't get the views if it wasn't. We would have no hesitation booking again. Thanks

Reviewed by
D Bury

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ambleside get away
Thank you for a pleasant stay, we found the hotel to be friendly and accommodating. It is located at the end of a narrow lane in a quiet location within easy walking distance to the town center and a good base for a variety of local walks. I would recommend this Hotel for nice get away weekend.

Reviewed by
John Isherwood

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Half term in Ambleside
We were visiting family members who were spending half-term caravanning at Skelwith Bridge & chose Wynford Guest House on the basis of excellent reviews posted on Late Rooms.
We were not disappointed - on arrival we were warmly greeted by Paul & Sharon. Our room was delightful - beautifully decorated & furnished. The views from the bedroom & dining room to the hills was amazing. Breakfast was excellent & set us up for busy days with our two grandchildren - it was a real treat to return to the comfort of Wynford each evening!
Paul & Sharon were both very attentive to our comfort & to ensuring a pleasant & relaxing stay.
We would thoroughly recommend Wynford to others who are fortunate enough to be spending time in this beautiful area. Like us you too might pick up a few tips on how to protect your bird table from likely scavengers!
Excellent! We will be back!

Reviewed by
Jim Sanderson

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
Very friendly & helpful couple, they made us feel most welcome.
Cannot fault anything with our stay.
Would certainly come back to this b&b again
Thanks

Reviewed by
p bloomfield

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay here again. Recommend

Reviewed by
S Fisher

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean, quiet, comfortable accommodation with excellent customer service

Reviewed by
Robert W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late Autumn stay
Fabulous hosts, greeted us on arrival and attended to our needs at breakfast. Clean and warm accommodation.

Reviewed by
Wasyl M

From London, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay at Wynford
We had a very comfortable stay (just one night) at Wynford. Everything was excellent, from the welcome coffee on the patio when we arrived, to the loan of a guidebook for our local walk the next day. The breakfast was delicious, and the many kindnesses shown by the owners made our visit very enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Philip R

From Southport, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.