No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Bayside Guest House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
70, Mackworth Road , Porthcawl, CF365BT
TBayside guest house is ideally situated, 45 meters from the beach in Porthcawl, Bridgend. Next to the Hi-tide complex and adjacent to the amusement park.

The house offers comfortable guest bedrooms which include single, double, triple and twin rooms.
All rooms have a sink, tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen digital TVs, microwave, fan, clean towels, soap & free high speed wifi. 100% cotton bedding with feather down
quilts and pillows.

Porthcawl is the ideal holiday destination, with stretches of fine beaches, great food options and only a few miles to the main towns and cities of South Wales.
Picture of Bayside Guest House, Porthcawl at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location. Great value for money. Great stay!
Run by a very helpful and friendly owner! Looking forward to going back again when possible. Thank you!

Reviewed by
M Boyes

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night in Porthcawl
The room was very basic we paid £46.0 this was supposed to be at a reduced rate in actual fact l would say the room was worth £30.0 at most, this did not include breakfast. There is no parking only pay and display and the noise from the fun fair can be heard clearly in the room. All the furnishings are of a very poor quality.

ManagementResponse

Gosh !!! You could and can see the furnishings in the room on the website... Egyptian cotton sheets, down quilts and pillows, Safe, free Wifi, microwave, radio alarm, fan, tea, coffee, biscuits fresh towels, shampoo, conditioners, hand cream. What were you expecting ?? To say the room was only worth £30 for 2 people is just silly !! If you wanted to stay at the Ritz you should have booked it! There is free parking across the rd 5 meters away and if that is full you can park in the Hi- Tide car park right next us. 90% of the time it is free and if you have to pay its £2 for the day or if you leave your car there for the week, there is a pay and display across the road at £5 per 24hrs... If you would have asked than we could have told you all this. We are situated next to the beach and adjacent to the funfair that is open during the summer months. Most people are very happy with this. The amusement park closed the date you stayed at about 7pm, why this was a problem to you i don't know. With the double glazing windows closed there is little if no noise. It states on our website and on LateRooms that we don't do breakfast, although there is quality tea, coffee and biscuits in the rooms and a cafe across the road and many within strolling distance. We offer a clean well priced place with good facility's as many of our customers have reviewed. It is hard to please everyone and it seems this is the case in this instance. I would suggest you read up on and look at the pictures of place you book in future. Also if you book the cheapest place don't expect gold fittings and a butler.

Reviewed by
C Berry

From Padstow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs refurbish
Room with Bay window. If you look through side window you can see the bay. Carpet needs cleaning or changing. Toilet flush is very loud and you can hear other toilets flushing in the night. Just a rail to hang your clothes on.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for your review ... I have looked at the carpet in the room you stayed in and agree with what you have said. There were some marks on the carpet that have now been cleaned off. I will be ordering a new carpet for that room in the next few days. You mention the toilet is a little noisy in that room, this is because that toilet has a macerator system installed and it will make a whirring noise when flushed, as it is supposed to.. I am confused on how you could hear other toilets flushing in the vicinity as there are none on that side of the building. As for the clothes rails with shelves. Myself and the majority of guests think they are adequate. I'm sorry they were not for you. We offer a clean guesthouse with good facilities and at £21.50 per person we think we are great value for money. Les

Reviewed by
Judith H

From England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never Again
Booked for a double room, got 2 single beds pushed together. Welcome was a joke. cupboard was a rail on wheels put in a place you had to climbover the bed or push it out of the way to get past. bathroom was small, toilet noisy after flushing, shower may as well not been there and the drain took ages to empty. the only good thing i can say is that the guest house is in a great location.

ManagementResponse

Firstly the welcome was not great as I was taken into hospital and had to have a major op. My son was honouring bookings. Most people seem to be happy with the bed. Having to climb over the bed is such an exaggeration. We believe, so do the majority of our guests that multi function clothes rails are adequate. The toilet system in that room is on a macerator system and has a reset on the side. If you had looked or asked it would have been sorted. To say the shower may as well not be there is baffling as it is new and 9kw .. I can only assume that you used the inner controls and not the outer power settings. We are a clean establishment offering good facility's at the fair price of £21 to £23 per person. I am sorry you did not find our place to your liking .. It's hard to please every one.

Reviewed by
S Osborne

From Tredegar, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Friendly owner, great value

Reviewed by
A Cummings

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great guest house
Stayed NYE 2013, excellent facilities, made very welcome, beach on the doorstep

Reviewed by
Kevin A

From Caerdydd, England
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for
Basic ,poor service [ no reciept under door when promised] , Dard machine not working , had to be persuaded to provide reciept in morning when aroused from bed at 8:30am

ManagementResponse

Firstly I would apologise that the bill was not under your door as promised.. I was called to do a printer repair at my studio and it did slip my mind..even I'm only human.. "Yes you do get what you pay for"! We don't profess to be the Ritz..At £21 per person our customers say "we are exceptional value". We are clean, we provide comfortable beds, clean Egyptian cotton sheets, duck down quilts & pillows, shampoo & conditioner, fresh cotton quilt covers, a safe, flatscreen TVs, radio alarm clock. quality tea, coffee & biscuits, fresh towels, even a fan. Yes the card machine was on the blink (that's life) but what difference did that make to you? Nothing as i already had your details so why you even mention that is beyond me.... As for the receipt. When has "persuading" meant ringing the bell and asking for a receipt. I apologised then and there for not putting it under your door and gave you a receipt. I explained that i had been working late and all i said was "can i email it to you" when you declined I gave you a receipt and friendly bid you a good journey. We must all remember to treat people the way we want to be treated ourselves even the ones among us that are not perfect.

Reviewed by
D Scott

From Rugby, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shower was horrible. Water was not draining. Never ever return!

ManagementResponse

If the shower was not draining, why not let us know and I would have shown you where the reset button was. The shower in that room is on a macerator system and just needed a press of a button to reset!! As for your low scores on cleanliness an room quality. I would strongly disagree as would all the other guests that stay here. I suggest if you want to stay at the RITZ you pay £200 per person per night and not the £22.50pp you paid to stay here!! Our Guest-house is clean the rooms are well equipped, comfortable and very very competitively priced, as reviewed by our guests.

Reviewed by
S Akum

From Dagenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, very clean & tidy. stunning view, basically on the beach!! would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Reviewed by
carly rees

From Pontypridd, Wales
Who stayed in May 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nightmare
Room satisfactory only, brief intro to guest house no details given we thought breakfast was included.
Landlord not on premises at night time or when we left in the morning, slept very little noise from other guests kept us awake until after 3-30am. No one to complain to, certainly would not stay there again! Booked through Laterooms many times first bad experience.

ManagementResponse

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay! For your information I do live on the premises and was at the rear of the house that night. I was the one who asked the guests you refer to, to quieten down. If you had rung the bell or rang my number, displayed on the door, I could have sorted the noise problem out a lot earlier. I ask all guests especially if they are a group to keep noise to a minimum at night, although sometimes some guests for whatever reason will be a little noisy. I can assure you that this is not the norm in the Guest house and when i asked the guests you are complaining about to tone it down they did it strait away. Also If you had read the add on Laterooms and on our website, you would have seen that at the moment we do not do breakfast and the price of £21 per person reflects this. Regards

Reviewed by
B Lewis

From Buckley, Wales
Who stayed in May 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next