No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Aginhills Farmhouse

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Swingbridge, Bathpool, , Taunton, TA2 8BY
A warm welcome, a comfy bed and a hearty breakfast awaits you at Aginhills Farmhouse. Nestling in the Somerset landscape, and surrounded by fields, the unique location of Aginhills Farmhouse, alongside the Taunton to Bridgwater Canal, makes a perfect resting place for leisure travellers or tired business people who can escape the office and, within minutes, be in the seclusion of a homely, rural retreat. This traditional farmhouse has been recently, and sympathetically, renovated to provide 21st century facilities whilst still retaining many interesting original features. All rooms are equipped with modern en-suites, tea and coffee making facilities, TV/Radio with Freeview and DVD player, Wifi, and are double-glazed and insulated to a high standard. There is ample parking for guests but, for those arriving by train or bus, both the Bus and Railway Stations are only a short taxi ride away. The dining room is alight and airy room boasting oak ledge and brace doors,beams and lintels and a glowing oak floor. When the weather dictates a cosy woodburner in the inglenook fireplace will be lit to cheer you on a chilly winters morning. Guests may choose a hearty, freshly cooked, traditional English or a lighter Continental style breakfast which will be served between 7.30 and 9.30 a.m. - half an hour later at weekends to allow you to lie in and enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the countryside. Surprisingly only minutes from Taunton Town Centre, Aginhills Farmhouse nestles in the landscape and surrounding fields, offering its guests the seclusion of a rural retreat. Access is by a short drive on the private road alongside the Taunton to Bridgwater Canal and a leafy lane where much interesting wildlife flourishes. The canal is a much enjoyed leisure facility for locals who enjoy the opportunity to walk, cycle or jog along its towpath. Often there are fishermen hunkered down over their rods and others who just enjoy watching the resident family of swans.
Picture of Aginhills Farmhouse, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great family accommodation
A lovely room, exceptionally clean. Good beds and nice furnishings. Good parking and pretty location- although not easy to find, recommend finding it in daylight! Welcoming owner, hospitable and helpful. Lots of choice for breakfast.

Reviewed by
lauren p

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend to anyone!
The first thing I noticed when I turned up was how well presented everything was, the room was immaculate and it was possibly the best sleep I've had so far. The breakfast was great with so much to choose from. I would recommend anyone who is down for 1 night or 10 to stay here, definately the best I've stayed in!

Reviewed by
scott sutherland

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Owner Angela made us very welcome, couldn't have been more helpful on our two days stay.

Reviewed by
GEOFF C

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for canal walking, and feeding the ducks.
My wife and I were made very welcome for our weekend break. Very comfortable, good breakfast, and friendly hosts. Nice location next to the canal. The house is immaculate, and nothing was too much trouble. We shall definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Graham C

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Aginhills Farmhouse
What can you say about Aginhills except that every thing was FAB,the room was very spacious and
comfortable, there was even a little lounge area which made it home from home. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners.

Reviewed by
A Rankin

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 Night Business Stay
First and fore most i would have no reservations in recommending this accommodation. The owners are friendly and non intrusive, I was shown to my room and the facilities where explained and the option for breakfast at a time to suit me was offered.
Had a very good nights sleep, as it is a little of the beaten track there are no outside noises to disturb you which i found to be a welcome change.

Reviewed by
Brian C

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant experience
Owners of Aginhills were very helpful and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble, and we were made to feel most welcome. Would gladly recommend to anyone who wants somewhere quiet without being isolated. Easy access To / from M5 and Taunton town centre

Reviewed by
I Williams

From Ammanford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eco cred farmhouse
Very friendly host, delightful renovated farmhouse with Eco credentials. Enjoyed our overnight stay and chatting at breakfast!

Reviewed by
Jane M

From Braddan, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
This farmhouse B&B is a great example of how all B&B's should be...why do people bother with the likes of the depressing & soul-less Premier Inn & Travel Lodge's?
Hidden away in a very quiet & peaceful setting yet located very closely to Taunton town centre, the B&B has lovely gardens & I was greeted by the very friendly & welcoming couple who run Aginshill.
The Farmhouse has been lovinlgy restored by the couple to a high standard, combining modern needs whilst retaining a traditional feel. The room I stayed in was very clean, comfortable and spacious.
The en-suite was large with a great new powershower.
Great selection & quality for breakfast. Home-made fruit salad, range of different and tasty jams & spreads from a local farmers market and the English Breakfast (which used egg's from the chickens they keep), was just cooked very well.
Angee & Bernard have done a great job restoring & turning Aginshill into a lovely B&B and are very warm & welcoming hosts.

Reviewed by
Ben Smith

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly, excellent room, although place is a bit difficult to find

Reviewed by
axel s

From odense, Denmark
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next