The Plaine Guesthouse

4

BELL HILL, NORTON ST. PHILLIP, BATH, BA2 7LT

Price From 150.86 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (22)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Victoria M

  • February 2015

Family mini break!

We stayed at The Plaine for just one night - myself, husband and two young boys - and it was perfect for our needs, plus we received a lovely friendly welcome.

We did Bath on the Monday on the bus, followed by a great meal in the pub literally across the road. Our room was cosy for 4 but as described and the bathroom was great and very clean. Breakfast was ordered the night before and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. That day we had a fab day out at Longleat - all the better for the 30% discount organised by Stephanie at the Plaine!. An added bonus. In the words of our 6 yr old in the guest book - "we had a good time here and I hope we come back again!".

  • Jamie Moore

  • December 2014

Staying made Bath time fun

A great location to stay, right on the bus route into Bath, so no driving in and having to deal with busy traffic and finding parking places.

Beautiful house and village with two great pubs with a stones throw distance. Giles is a real gent...

  • N Hersey

  • December 2014

Pre Christmas Shopping Trip

We were a little concerned on our arrival when we greated by the son of the owner, a child who looked to be about 12yrs.

He told us that his dad wasn't there and that he would show us to our room. We were not asked for our names or any identification and were simply shown to our room. When we did meet the owner, Giles, he apologised for not meeting us and told us he'd been Christmas shopping in Bath.

The room itself was on the whole, clean and warm. I'd read a couple of reviews prior to our arrival and can confirm that The Plaine is on a busy crossroads where pretty much comtinuous traffic flow starts at 5.30 a.m, the headlights of which shine into the Superior room on the 1st floor.

I know beds are a subjective thing, but we both found the bed hard and woke with back ache.

Breakfast at The Plaine is somewhat frugal, even a mushroom that was only the size of about 2.5" diameter had been cut in half for us to share.

Over all for £78 I was expecting better from what had been rated as 4*.

  • Beverley B

  • November 2014

Lovely guesthouse, homely

Very welcoming and beautiful building, room needs a little attention and the bathroom very small but would definitely go back.

  • james r

  • November 2014

very friendly service

Cosy cottage feel.

Very pleasant and informative owners. Very nice and well cooked breakfast. Would definitely recommend.

  • Ricky Walker

  • November 2014

A great B&B, highly recommended

I stayed at the B&B with my wife and teenage son, we came to Bath to visit our elder son who is in his first year of university.

Our stay was very pleasant and Giles is a great host. The B&B is approximately three miles away from the university and therefore in a great location. The two pubs opposite the B&B are both warm and friendly, it is easy to see why this is such a popular place to stay. We intend to stay again when we plan our next visit

  • e macmillan

  • November 2014

Lovely B and B

We had a nice time, very good value for money.

Close to longleat and opposite a very old pub that cooked good food the village was full of character. The b and b was very friendly and helpful and was very clean and we had a lovely breakfast. Would happily stay here again.

  • Ian Donnelly

  • October 2014

Nice, clean and welcoming.

Good breakfast, nice room, very pleasant. Close to main road so quite a lot of traffic noise. Only negative comment is booked a room for 2 adults and 2 children and was too small. Only 1 adult stayed - would not have been room for four people.

  • A Newell

  • September 2014

We made a mistake!

We have a 7 month old daughter and booked a luxury room, supposedly suitable for a couple and a young child/baby.

It wasn't suitable. We phoned ahead to ensure a travel cot would be available, but it was already in use, so we brought our own. We had to remove a chair to fit the cot in, and this left no room in an already small-ish room. The bed was ok (a twin joined together though), the wardrobe tiny, the tv a very small ex-pc style flatscreen monitor. The bathroom was ok, but a shower only, up two tiled steps, so no way we could bathe our baby, unless we held her in the shower. The breakfast choice was poor (only egg options either fried or poached!) the sausage was a Wall's or equivalent, no pastries (croissants, pain au chocs etc, although on the plus side the coffee was plentiful and good. We had booked for three nights, but realised after the first one that we had made a mistake in booking this guesthouse, but part of that is our fault for booking a guesthouse at all whilst our daughter is so young. Unfortunately Giles (the owner) wasn't there when we left, but we did tell his assistant that as we were leaving at such short notice that we would happily pay for the second night as well - our total bill (for the two nights) should have been £164 but we were only charged £140, which is very good customer service, and greatly appreciated. The location of The Plaine is about 7 or 8 miles outside of Bath and for the adventurous (and those without infant children) I would say stay here and enjoy the scenery and the nearby pubs, but for those with very young kids I would recommend self-catering somewhere else.

  • Sarah Minter

  • August 2014

Amazing Place

The Plaine Guesthouse was such a lovely place to stay, fantastic customer service with lots of laughs at breakfast xx