No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cathedral Gate Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Cathedral Gate Hotel, 36 Burgate, Canterbury, CT1 2HA
15th c. Pilgrims hostel right next to the Canterbury Cathedral Gateway. Low beams, canted floors, rooftop walkway and stunning views. With modern comforts and friendly attentive staff to welcome you.
Picture of Cathedral Gate Hotel, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cathedral Gate Hotel
Terrific, everything was of the highest standard. The ambiance was wonderful, a real pleasure to be there. A real pilgrims' place. Excellent service from extremely helpful staff.

Reviewed by
S Lamont

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cathedral gate
Cooked breakfast was an extra cost so was parking as no car park, too much noise from constant banging of external doors beneath my room, and constant chiming of bells from cathedral would not recommend or stay here again.no bar for evening drink or evening meal unless they failed to explain there was facilities available.

Reviewed by
s conroy

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Happy Pilgrim
I was so pleased to stay here again , especially as it is so mich better than it was when I last stayed (under different management).
The pleasant owners really care about both us guests, the place and its wonderful history.
If you value peace, then 'Chimes' will be a little haven for you.
And breakfast, overlooking the lane where all pilgrims enter the cathedral, and have done, and will do...well, quite a thought.

Reviewed by
robert graham

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but comfortable
Very good value for money right in the heart of Canterbury.

Reviewed by
Murray G

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canterbury Comfy Tales
This is a really quirky hotel, all twisty and windy staircases in an ancient building. Bang slap next to the Cathedral gate, so much so that the rooms have their own slope where the building was squished when the gate was built. And no, the bells don't wake you up. Really clean rooms, very comfy beds, clean communal bathrooms, good to have tea/coffee/hot choc selection. The only thing we couldn't work out was getting the temp of the room right: too hot and we opened the window to the end of night/early hours revellers; too cold and the temp went up too much - but that's a minor annoyance compared to a really pleasant stay. Staff were really friendly, breakfast fresh and delicious though might be nice to have buffet style continental rather than place an order - it was delish, but I do like control over my fruit salad as a rule! That said, all lovely and highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Susie G

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful time
the staff are helpful and great to chat with. i felt very welcome and the room was clean, well set out with plenty of tea and coffee. even delivered my breakfast to my bed. dropped one star from quality of room because the shower would not stay warm which is a pain when your in it, then cold, then scolding so ouch. the hotel is in a great location and well priced for its location to town and such.

Reviewed by
Kai B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cathedral Gate Hotel
Friendly staff and comfortable and clean room.

Reviewed by
M Brophy

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cathedral Gate Hotel
Amazing.

Reviewed by
Shada Mellor

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Canterbury tales
Visiting my son at University for the first time so booked without having seen the hotel. Right in the centre of the City. Manager was so kind, allowing me to leave luggage all day and offered free tea and coffee because I was so early. Room and shower lovely although it was on the street side so a little noisy (Saturday night) with happy revellers. I would ask to be on the Cathedral side another time. English breakfast was £7.50 extra so I had the Continental of which there was more than enough. There were also lots of lounges to sit and read if you needed. Really recommend.

Reviewed by
Kerri K

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous service, great location, let down a little by breakfast experience
Hotel in a great location in the centre of town. The room we were in was very comfortable and well equipped. Staff very friendly, helpful and determined to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Couple of niggles - the decor in the corridors & reception really needs updating, and as first impressions go, the reception feels more like a hostel than a historic hotel. Breakfast was very hectic and the way the continental breakfast was served felt a little unusual. No menu, no buffet, and all the items individually served.

Reviewed by
Natalie F

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next