Reviews - Cathedral Gate Hotel


Cathedral Gate Hotel, 36 Burgate, Canterbury, CT1 2HA

Price From 153.39 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (49)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Elizabeth B

  • November 2015

Great central location

Lovely stay.

Historic building with lots of character (sloping floors and crooked windows). Staff were friendly and very helpful. Good shower and comfortable bed.

  • Tessa W

  • November 2015

Lovely Hotel right in had heart of Canterbury

We had a lovely stay at the Cathedral Gate, efficient service and helpful staff, bags taken up to rooms etc.

The room was spotless as were the lounges where you could have free tea or coffee overlooking the Cathedral. Lovely comfy bed and nice shower, although this did go hot and cold which was annoying. Only down side was the noise of the streets outside but the hotel thoughtfully provide earplugs which got rid of the problem. All in all, a great hotel for a mini break in this fab city!

  • M Sienkiewicz

  • October 2015


Hotel situated in city centre next to Canterbury Cathedral.

They provide excellent service for great value.

  • andrew f

  • October 2015

Great gate hotel experience

Good central location.

Great character hotel.

  • Anne H

  • September 2015

Great stay

This was a great experience.

I was delighted with my room - small, yet cosy. I had chosen the option with shared facilities in corridor but this was no issue as the bathroom was immaculate. The hosts were helpful and welcoming, and the lady showed me round the hotel. Such a quaint building. I particularly liked the little sitting room that overlooks the cathedral. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was very attentive and efficient.

I did recommend the hotel to all the people on my course.

  • j cloute

  • July 2015

Wonderful stay in Canterbury

Friendly and helpful staff, wonderful location

  • malcolm s

  • June 2015

Excellent but breakfast deleloped into Fawlty Towers

We had a wonderful table overlooking the Butter Market and an excellent the continental breakfast.

The couple trying to place an order for a cooked breakfast ended up like a Fawlty Towers sketch. It took 2 waiters a total of 4 times to come and take their order with comments such as "I cant remember all that I will get a pen and paper", "Now I have forgotten the paper", "I will send another waiter to take the order". It did not detract from the excellent stay but still very amusing and not really very professional.

  • j ward

  • April 2015

Perfect historical setting

Great little hotel.

Quite unusual. Friendly welcoming staff. Do be careful if you are a light sleeper, though, the sounds of the street does carry into some rooms.

Otherwise, highly recommended.

  • Michael M

  • April 2015

Perfect accommodation for Canterbury centre

We are very pleased that we found this Hotel.

It is very old and somewhat crooked but full of character. What an amazing location right next to the Cathedral and great access to all shops and restaurants. The staff were very helpful and polite and the room was clean and tidy with a nice welcome pack and a comfortable bed. Our room, named Joy, had an amazing view of the Cathedral but there is also a seated area outside which overlooks it too. We would definitely use again.

  • M Sugiyama

  • April 2015

A gem in the heart of Canterbury!

Excellent hotel - friendly staff, well maintained historical building and our room had a superb cathedral view.

This got better in the evening when the cathedral was lit up - literally an exclusive display of the historical heritage. The room was clean and cozy with hot drinks facility which we made use of. Well satisfied - would stay again.