No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cathedral Gate Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Cathedral Gate Hotel, 36 Burgate, Canterbury, CT1 2HA
15th c. Pilgrims hostel right next to the Canterbury Cathedral Gateway. Low beams, canted floors, rooftop walkway and stunning views. With modern comforts and friendly attentive staff to welcome you.
Picture of Cathedral Gate Hotel, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommadation & food were very good

Reviewed by
Anton Greenidge

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A different place to stay
A great place to stay very quirky building which made it interesting unlike staying in a chain. Great view of the cathedral. Staff genuinely friendly and helpful. Very good value.

Reviewed by
Marie O

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Time travel with great staff and all mod cons in quirky medieval setting
Staff lovely, price of room great value for location and lovely historical character of place, right next to the cathedral. Decor in renovated rooms stylish and simple; very clean too. If all turn up to breakfast at once then you might have to wait, and my room was up steep ancient stairs and across a flat roof exposed to the elements. None of which spoiled my stay; just great imagining folk receiving hospitality in those rooms over the centuries. All the quirks of the building are linked to its great age; staying here is like time travel but with all the mod cons and really nice staff.

Reviewed by
Anna I

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central quirky value
Excellently positioned, virtually part of the walls to the awesome cathedral, and right at the heart of the charming town. Dating from mid C15th, with quirky angles and aged steepness. My single room was simple and a little dated (apparently one of the last unrevamped rooms and so soon to be improved) but entirely comfortable and directly overlooked the cathedral and grounds. Very helpful staff, excellent continental breakfast and very well priced. Only downside was shared shower and wc although some rooms may have them but not personally bothered and at the price is still decet value. Also a nice small bar, sitting room and lovely roof terrace. No parking but vouchers given/sold for convenient 5min walk car parks and loading/unloading on street outside seemed ok. In summary a decent, very central and memorably historical good value hotel I can well recommend at the price.

Reviewed by
Simon J

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service Fantastic and great location
We stayed two nights in a small double room at the front of the building which meant it was a little noisy - however we weren't in the room that much so it wasn't a big deal. The staff were absolutely delightful and we had a great G&T sitting on a tiny roof terrace overlooking the Cathedral.

Reviewed by
f holman

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming, great customer service.

Reviewed by
M Henshall

From Leamington Spa, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit overrated
Perfectly nice, interesting hotel, but expensive for a small, cramped (though nice) room with no ensuite bathroom and an extra charge for cooked breakfast. The most annoying thing was you couldn't wash your hands in the shared bathroom as there was never any soap (and it was taken away when we tried to leave some).

Reviewed by
Adrian C

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!
I just stayed for one night, but would have happily stayed longer. Poliet and helpful staff, unique buildings, wonderfully situated and extremely clean!

Reviewed by
Angela G

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirkily Amazing
Fantastic location. Very old building with sloping floors. One way to our room was by walking over the rooftops although there is an indoor route. Room large & clean. Continental breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
Martin Hawkins

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in a great location
Very quiet and comfortable. Nice view over the cathedral. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Jo L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next