No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cathedral Gate Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Cathedral Gate Hotel, 36 Burgate, Canterbury, CT1 2HA
15th c. Pilgrims hostel right next to the Canterbury Cathedral Gateway. Low beams, canted floors, rooftop walkway and stunning views. With modern comforts and friendly attentive staff to welcome you.
Picture of Cathedral Gate Hotel, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow! What a great little/big place!
A very interesting hotel, with stairs, rooms, corridors all over the place! Very friendly and helpful staff. Great to be able to pay cheap parking rates via the hotel, as obviously no car parks with any of these city centre hotels. Apparently our family room was due to be refurbished soon, but was perfectly pleasant. Kids loved the bunk beds! A little lounge at the bottom of our small set of stairs, meant we could sit and chat/read/drink whilst they were in bed, but still be aware of anybody around. (There was only one other room using those stairs) Some families may prefer a bath for their kids, but not a problem for us. Very convenient location. Would prefer not to have to pay £7.50 for English breakfast when in England, but was aware of this beforehand. Definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
PAULA S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy pilgrim
This is the second time I've stayed and I found great improvements had been made to the rooms and facilities. The service was excellent and I rate this Hotel very highly for the welcome and care of guests. My room had a superb view of the Cathedral which was stunning at night. The staff worked well as a team, and were friendly without being intrusive. Unbelievably good value.

Reviewed by
Pat M

From Stratford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint, charming and in keeping with the City
Loved the authenticity of the building. A few too many stair for my liking , but with one comes the other. Probably a listed building so a lift is put of the question?
Location is absolutely superb and the parking deal is not to be missed. Even though it's shared bathrooms, I would not think twice about another stay. Even a good chat with the evening 'porter' ( the overs son), after a meal in town! Prefect views , nice people who run it . All round very good stay.

Reviewed by
Stuart Stacey

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great City Break
Superb position, lots of character - and £80 for a twin room, bang in the centre of Canterbury right next to the Catherdral and Butter Market - superb value. Slightly frayed around the edges, especially the shared shower and bathroom - so if you are after marble and gold taps this isn't your place. Staff lovely, relaxed and helpful.

Reviewed by
J Capstick

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommadation & food were very good

Reviewed by
Anton Greenidge

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A different place to stay
A great place to stay very quirky building which made it interesting unlike staying in a chain. Great view of the cathedral. Staff genuinely friendly and helpful. Very good value.

Reviewed by
Marie O

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Time travel with great staff and all mod cons in quirky medieval setting
Staff lovely, price of room great value for location and lovely historical character of place, right next to the cathedral. Decor in renovated rooms stylish and simple; very clean too. If all turn up to breakfast at once then you might have to wait, and my room was up steep ancient stairs and across a flat roof exposed to the elements. None of which spoiled my stay; just great imagining folk receiving hospitality in those rooms over the centuries. All the quirks of the building are linked to its great age; staying here is like time travel but with all the mod cons and really nice staff.

Reviewed by
Anna I

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central quirky value
Excellently positioned, virtually part of the walls to the awesome cathedral, and right at the heart of the charming town. Dating from mid C15th, with quirky angles and aged steepness. My single room was simple and a little dated (apparently one of the last unrevamped rooms and so soon to be improved) but entirely comfortable and directly overlooked the cathedral and grounds. Very helpful staff, excellent continental breakfast and very well priced. Only downside was shared shower and wc although some rooms may have them but not personally bothered and at the price is still decet value. Also a nice small bar, sitting room and lovely roof terrace. No parking but vouchers given/sold for convenient 5min walk car parks and loading/unloading on street outside seemed ok. In summary a decent, very central and memorably historical good value hotel I can well recommend at the price.

Reviewed by
Simon J

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service Fantastic and great location
We stayed two nights in a small double room at the front of the building which meant it was a little noisy - however we weren't in the room that much so it wasn't a big deal. The staff were absolutely delightful and we had a great G&T sitting on a tiny roof terrace overlooking the Cathedral.

Reviewed by
f holman

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming, great customer service.

Reviewed by
M Henshall

From Leamington Spa, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next