No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cathedral Gate Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Cathedral Gate Hotel, 36 Burgate, Canterbury, CT1 2HA
15th c. Pilgrims hostel right next to the Canterbury Cathedral Gateway. Low beams, canted floors, rooftop walkway and stunning views. With modern comforts and friendly attentive staff to welcome you.
Picture of Cathedral Gate Hotel, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service Fantastic and great location
We stayed two nights in a small double room at the front of the building which meant it was a little noisy - however we weren't in the room that much so it wasn't a big deal. The staff were absolutely delightful and we had a great G&T sitting on a tiny roof terrace overlooking the Cathedral.

Reviewed by
f holman

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming, great customer service.

Reviewed by
M Henshall

From Leamington Spa, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit overrated
Perfectly nice, interesting hotel, but expensive for a small, cramped (though nice) room with no ensuite bathroom and an extra charge for cooked breakfast. The most annoying thing was you couldn't wash your hands in the shared bathroom as there was never any soap (and it was taken away when we tried to leave some).

Reviewed by
Adrian C

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!
I just stayed for one night, but would have happily stayed longer. Poliet and helpful staff, unique buildings, wonderfully situated and extremely clean!

Reviewed by
Angela G

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirkily Amazing
Fantastic location. Very old building with sloping floors. One way to our room was by walking over the rooftops although there is an indoor route. Room large & clean. Continental breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
Martin Hawkins

From Yelverton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
Spent a relaxing weekend In Canterbury the hotel was a pleasant surprise compared to most. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms had recently been renovated, nice and warm, with a comfortable bed and a power shower. The location is great for seeing the sights and eating out.

Reviewed by
M Copeland

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel in a great location
Very quiet and comfortable. Nice view over the cathedral. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Jo L

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend
Very old quirky building in great position with great views of the Cathedral. Friendly and helpful staff.
Good value

Reviewed by
Graham Asker

From Broxbourne, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Hidden treasure directly by the cathedral grounds
I was a little apprehensive about this , as the hotel is not graded, (still not sure why) So it makes it difficult to judge what you are getting, and it has been a while since i have been to a hotel where i have had to share a bathroom,(call me spoilt maybe) but I will definitely be returning. My bedroom had an amazing view of the cathedral literally metres away. Having spoken to the owners in the morning, to compliment them on the standard i discovered that they have completely upgraded to an extremely high standard , one half of the hotel, which i had the pleasure of staying in , and the bathroom, which was one step literally from my bedroom was excellent, clean and contemporary. some of the hotel is still fairly old fashioned, and it has corridors and stairs everywhere, in fact i had to go outside to get to the area where my room was. So obviously i am reviewing the upgraded part of the hotel and not the other as yet untouched areas. If you like traditional old quant little rooms, which have been very well upgraded, you will be very happy staying here, and the location is second to none as you are right on the pedestrianised cobbled streets of beautiful Canterbury.

Reviewed by
Julia H

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Stayed with my 18 year old daughter. The hotel feels vey tired and cold. To get to our room we had to climb lots of stairs and go outside along a very slippery metal walkway. I fell up one of the steps due to the poorly fitted rubber on the metal steps. The room was clean but basic with the tiniest tv! The en suite was very small and freezing due to a broken radiator. When we mentioned these issues we were told that was the only twin room available. The breakfast included was only continental which I didn't know at booking! The breakfast room was freezing and nothing had been laid out. The breakfast was of poor quality.

Reviewed by
S Jenkins

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next