Reviews - Cathedral Gate Hotel


Cathedral Gate Hotel, 36 Burgate, Canterbury, CT1 2HA

Price From 167.27 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (48)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Kai B

  • January 2015

Wonderful time

the staff are helpful and great to chat with.

i felt very welcome and the room was clean, well set out with plenty of tea and coffee. even delivered my breakfast to my bed. dropped one star from quality of room because the shower would not stay warm which is a pain when your in it, then cold, then scolding so ouch. the hotel is in a great location and well priced for its location to town and such.

  • M Brophy

  • December 2014

Cathedral Gate Hotel

Friendly staff and comfortable and clean room.

  • Shada Mellor

  • December 2014

Cathedral Gate Hotel


  • Kerri K

  • November 2014

Canterbury tales

Visiting my son at University for the first time so booked without having seen the hotel.

Right in the centre of the City. Manager was so kind, allowing me to leave luggage all day and offered free tea and coffee because I was so early. Room and shower lovely although it was on the street side so a little noisy (Saturday night) with happy revellers. I would ask to be on the Cathedral side another time. English breakfast was £7.50 extra so I had the Continental of which there was more than enough. There were also lots of lounges to sit and read if you needed. Really recommend.

  • Natalie F

  • October 2014

Fabulous service, great location, let down a little by breakfast experience

Hotel in a great location in the centre of town.

The room we were in was very comfortable and well equipped. Staff very friendly, helpful and determined to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Couple of niggles - the decor in the corridors & reception really needs updating, and as first impressions go, the reception feels more like a hostel than a historic hotel. Breakfast was very hectic and the way the continental breakfast was served felt a little unusual. No menu, no buffet, and all the items individually served.

  • Nicola M

  • October 2014

Quaint in a good way

This is the second time I have stayed here.

My needs are very simple - a comfortable bed and some breakfast and located centrally to the city of Canterbury. It satisfies all these points but with the addition of a great view, a historic building (though lots if narrow staircases as a result - fine for me but watch if you have mobility restrictions) and excellent customer service.

  • J Cunningham

  • October 2014

Great stay.

Although I was working away at the time, this hotel is perfect if you are looking to explore Canterbury.

The staff were very accommodating, professional, and the hard work they put in did not go unnoticed. Waking up to be greeted by a fantastic view of Canterbury Cathedral made the stay that bit more special. Although I didnt have a cooked breakfast, if the continental breakfast is anything to go by, you will not be disappointed.


  • August 2014

Wow! What a great little/big place!

A very interesting hotel, with stairs, rooms, corridors all over the place.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great to be able to pay cheap parking rates via the hotel, as obviously no car parks with any of these city centre hotels. Apparently our family room was due to be refurbished soon, but was perfectly pleasant. Kids loved the bunk beds. A little lounge at the bottom of our small set of stairs, meant we could sit and chat/read/drink whilst they were in bed, but still be aware of anybody around. (There was only one other room using those stairs) Some families may prefer a bath for their kids, but not a problem for us. Very convenient location. Would prefer not to have to pay £7.50 for English breakfast when in England, but was aware of this beforehand. Definitely recommend.

  • Pat M

  • August 2014

Happy pilgrim

This is the second time I've stayed and I found great improvements had been made to the rooms and facilities.

The service was excellent and I rate this Hotel very highly for the welcome and care of guests. My room had a superb view of the Cathedral which was stunning at night. The staff worked well as a team, and were friendly without being intrusive. Unbelievably good value.

  • Stuart Stacey

  • August 2014

Quaint, charming and in keeping with the City

Loved the authenticity of the building.

A few too many stair for my liking , but with one comes the other. Probably a listed building so a lift is put of the question.

Location is absolutely superb and the parking deal is not to be missed. Even though it's shared bathrooms, I would not think twice about another stay. Even a good chat with the evening 'porter' ( the overs son), after a meal in town. Prefect views , nice people who run it . All round very good stay.