No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cathedral Gate Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Cathedral Gate Hotel, 36 Burgate, Canterbury, CT1 2HA
15th c. Pilgrims hostel right next to the Canterbury Cathedral Gateway. Low beams, canted floors, rooftop walkway and stunning views. With modern comforts and friendly attentive staff to welcome you.
Picture of Cathedral Gate Hotel, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
Spent a relaxing weekend In Canterbury the hotel was a pleasant surprise compared to most. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms had recently been renovated, nice and warm, with a comfortable bed and a power shower. The location is great for seeing the sights and eating out.

Reviewed by
M Copeland

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend
Very old quirky building in great position with great views of the Cathedral. Friendly and helpful staff.
Good value

Reviewed by
Graham Asker

From Broxbourne, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Hidden treasure directly by the cathedral grounds
I was a little apprehensive about this , as the hotel is not graded, (still not sure why) So it makes it difficult to judge what you are getting, and it has been a while since i have been to a hotel where i have had to share a bathroom,(call me spoilt maybe) but I will definitely be returning. My bedroom had an amazing view of the cathedral literally metres away. Having spoken to the owners in the morning, to compliment them on the standard i discovered that they have completely upgraded to an extremely high standard , one half of the hotel, which i had the pleasure of staying in , and the bathroom, which was one step literally from my bedroom was excellent, clean and contemporary. some of the hotel is still fairly old fashioned, and it has corridors and stairs everywhere, in fact i had to go outside to get to the area where my room was. So obviously i am reviewing the upgraded part of the hotel and not the other as yet untouched areas. If you like traditional old quant little rooms, which have been very well upgraded, you will be very happy staying here, and the location is second to none as you are right on the pedestrianised cobbled streets of beautiful Canterbury.

Reviewed by
Julia H

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Stayed with my 18 year old daughter. The hotel feels vey tired and cold. To get to our room we had to climb lots of stairs and go outside along a very slippery metal walkway. I fell up one of the steps due to the poorly fitted rubber on the metal steps. The room was clean but basic with the tiniest tv! The en suite was very small and freezing due to a broken radiator. When we mentioned these issues we were told that was the only twin room available. The breakfast included was only continental which I didn't know at booking! The breakfast room was freezing and nothing had been laid out. The breakfast was of poor quality.

Reviewed by
S Jenkins

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic views of the Cathedral
If architecture is your thing then this hotel is the closest one can get to the Cathedral without touching the walls. The receptionist was very enthusiastic about the Cathedral and in warmer weather one can sit on the rear balcony enjoying the views. The room was adequate and we were situated at the front of the hotel overlooking Buttermarket. I went off to sleep without any disturbance from the public house across the road. Great until I was awoken by the cleaning vehicles coming around at 06:20 in the morning circumnavigating the war memorial with beepers going, etc. The hotel had a fantastic balcony window in the dining room to sit and eat ones' breakfast overlooking the latter memorial. Overall the stay was pleasant and I couldn't fault the morning staff as we had three people wait on us for breakfast.

Reviewed by
Fiona C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolute Joy
It was a lovely little hoel overlooking the Cathedral with a very helpful staff and in a historical building.
Very friendly and accomadating.

Reviewed by
Dave S

From Maidstone, England
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Friendly, efficient staff. Comfortable bed, clean. Uneven floors, but to be expected of a property of its age. Central location, great views of the cathedral.

Reviewed by
Ann K

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of some TLC!
Whilst I appreciate this is a great location, the hotel is in need of some general maitenance. A paint of window frames and walls would make it more palatable. I am a listed building contractor, so undetstand you can't make significant alterations, but this place needs some investment!
Shared toilets and showers not what I was looking for.

Reviewed by
Mike Jamfrey

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint litte hotel
The whole experience was very enjoyable, we would certainly return again. The hotel had lots of old world character and was of quite a good standard, in an excellent location.

Reviewed by
stephen b

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Situated right next to the Cathedral, it is a great location. You can drive up to the hotel to drop off your luggage, but there is no parking (although they will give you a voucher for all day parking for £6 at one of the local car parks). We stayed in a double on suite which was small but clean and had everything we needed. The rooms are very spread out and would not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems, as there are lots of stairs and no lifts. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was standard but brought to our room at no extra cost.

Reviewed by
Zoë W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next