You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Cathedral Gate Hotel

3

Cathedral Gate Hotel, 36 Burgate, Canterbury, CT1 2HA

Price From 140.26 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (34)

94% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Lamont

  • February 2015

Cathedral Gate Hotel

Terrific, everything was of the highest standard.

The ambiance was wonderful, a real pleasure to be there. A real pilgrims' place. Excellent service from extremely helpful staff.

  • s conroy

  • February 2015

cathedral gate

Cooked breakfast was an extra cost so was parking as no car park, too much noise from constant banging of external doors beneath my room, and constant chiming of bells from cathedral would not recommend or stay here again.no bar for evening drink or evening meal unless they failed to explain there was facilities available.

  • robert graham

  • February 2015

A Happy Pilgrim

I was so pleased to stay here again , especially as it is so mich better than it was when I last stayed (under different management).

The pleasant owners really care about both us guests, the place and its wonderful history. If you value peace, then 'Chimes' will be a little haven for you. And breakfast, overlooking the lane where all pilgrims enter the cathedral, and have done, and will do...well, quite a thought.

  • Murray G

  • February 2015

Basic but comfortable

Very good value for money right in the heart of Canterbury.

  • Susie G

  • February 2015

Canterbury Comfy Tales

This is a really quirky hotel, all twisty and windy staircases in an ancient building.

Bang slap next to the Cathedral gate, so much so that the rooms have their own slope where the building was squished when the gate was built. And no, the bells don't wake you up. Really clean rooms, very comfy beds, clean communal bathrooms, good to have tea/coffee/hot choc selection. The only thing we couldn't work out was getting the temp of the room right: too hot and we opened the window to the end of night/early hours revellers; too cold and the temp went up too much - but that's a minor annoyance compared to a really pleasant stay. Staff were really friendly, breakfast fresh and delicious though might be nice to have buffet style continental rather than place an order - it was delish, but I do like control over my fruit salad as a rule. That said, all lovely and highly recommended.

  • Kai B

  • January 2015

Wonderful time

the staff are helpful and great to chat with.

i felt very welcome and the room was clean, well set out with plenty of tea and coffee. even delivered my breakfast to my bed. dropped one star from quality of room because the shower would not stay warm which is a pain when your in it, then cold, then scolding so ouch. the hotel is in a great location and well priced for its location to town and such.

  • M Brophy

  • December 2014

Cathedral Gate Hotel

Friendly staff and comfortable and clean room.

  • Shada Mellor

  • December 2014

Cathedral Gate Hotel

Amazing.

  • Kerri K

  • November 2014

Canterbury tales

Visiting my son at University for the first time so booked without having seen the hotel.

Right in the centre of the City. Manager was so kind, allowing me to leave luggage all day and offered free tea and coffee because I was so early. Room and shower lovely although it was on the street side so a little noisy (Saturday night) with happy revellers. I would ask to be on the Cathedral side another time. English breakfast was £7.50 extra so I had the Continental of which there was more than enough. There were also lots of lounges to sit and read if you needed. Really recommend.

  • Natalie F

  • October 2014

Fabulous service, great location, let down a little by breakfast experience

Hotel in a great location in the centre of town.

The room we were in was very comfortable and well equipped. Staff very friendly, helpful and determined to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Couple of niggles - the decor in the corridors & reception really needs updating, and as first impressions go, the reception feels more like a hostel than a historic hotel. Breakfast was very hectic and the way the continental breakfast was served felt a little unusual. No menu, no buffet, and all the items individually served.