No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Cathedral Gate Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
Cathedral Gate Hotel, 36 Burgate, Canterbury, CT1 2HA
15th c. Pilgrims hostel right next to the Canterbury Cathedral Gateway. Low beams, canted floors, rooftop walkway and stunning views. With modern comforts and friendly attentive staff to welcome you.
Picture of Cathedral Gate Hotel, Canterbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Friendly, efficient staff. Comfortable bed, clean. Uneven floors, but to be expected of a property of its age. Central location, great views of the cathedral.

Reviewed by
Ann K

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of some TLC!
Whilst I appreciate this is a great location, the hotel is in need of some general maitenance. A paint of window frames and walls would make it more palatable. I am a listed building contractor, so undetstand you can't make significant alterations, but this place needs some investment!
Shared toilets and showers not what I was looking for.

Reviewed by
Mike Jamfrey

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint litte hotel
The whole experience was very enjoyable, we would certainly return again. The hotel had lots of old world character and was of quite a good standard, in an excellent location.

Reviewed by
stephen b

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Situated right next to the Cathedral, it is a great location. You can drive up to the hotel to drop off your luggage, but there is no parking (although they will give you a voucher for all day parking for £6 at one of the local car parks). We stayed in a double on suite which was small but clean and had everything we needed. The rooms are very spread out and would not be suitable for anyone with mobility problems, as there are lots of stairs and no lifts. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast was standard but brought to our room at no extra cost.

Reviewed by
Zoë W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was fine - but very expensive for what it was - single room - shared bathroom

Reviewed by
A Page

From Brixton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cathedral Gate
Always made very welcome by friendly house. Homely feel. Beautiful building with quirk rooms.

Reviewed by
Katy T

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay good location

Reviewed by
Paul D

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very special place to stay
The location of the hotel and the brilliant staff make The Cathedral Hotel a unique and very special place to stay. The rooms are not modernised but characterful and pleasing to be in.
From my window I could gaze on Canterbury Cathedral which was superb floodlit.

Reviewed by
Anne Lanceley

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Catherdal gate Hotel canterbury
This medieval pilgrim hotel is built into the gate of canterbury cathedral. Its garden is in the cathedral close. It is rambling and beautiful. It is wooden and slopes in remarkable directions. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast has many choices. There is super fresh fruit and lots of other choice. We stayed 2 nights. We would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Rosemary Clemo

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent position, staff were very helpful and attentive. Could have done with a fan in the room as it was a warm summer night and we had to open the windows which meant we had a bit of street noise.

Reviewed by
Philip S

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next